We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian in Swakopmund”
Review of 22 Degrees South - CLOSED

22 Degrees South
Price range: $7 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: This is NOT the pub at the beach, but an Italian restaurant INSIDE the actual lighthouse.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Italian in Swakopmund”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Bad service from a new young waitress! She couldnt open the wine and pushed the cork into the wine, after a while she came back with a new bottle and from then on we just battled to get hold of her! The caprese salad had feta cheese instead of buffalo or Mozzarella on lettuce leaves! Bit strange! A pity because we expected more!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank 312659Coco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    95
    36
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had a great lunch here, we shared the spinach ravioli and a pizza and both were delicious. Wish we'd come back for dinner that night too!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LKK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Superb oysters for a starter, and the maincourse with fish and shrimps where also very good. Nice and clean place and charmingly good service. We really enjoyd our dinner! And the best coffe for a long time. Italan restaurant, Italian coffe - perfect!

Helpful?
Thank Gerd7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best food in Swapokmund!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We were lucky to discover 22 South by accident and meet Silvio and his wife over the course of going back day after day. The food is great; prices are very reasonable, and view and ambience are unbeatable. The fresh oysters were especially good, but every meal we had was fantastic. Every member of the wait staff is friendly and well trained, which really enhanced our experience.

Silvio was even able to steer us to the guesthouse (Sandfields Guesthouse) which he recommends to his friends (after we were not happy with the hotel we picked on the first night;) we were so happy there that we even extended our stay.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We have been there and all meals were excellent!
Silvio, the owner, an italian speaks many languages, including PORTUGUESE!

Amazing atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MFabricioc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 22 Degrees South also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing