We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jetty 1905

Jetty 1905
Ranked #6 of 71 Restaurants in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Seafood, Sushi, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on Swakopmund's historical iron Jetty which, after being closed for 10 years was renovated and reopened to the public by The Lighthouse Group on 6 August 2010. Breathtaking views looking back from the Atlantic ocean to land, or out to sea. A varied menu serving seafood dishes, sushi, steaks and more. Perfect for that romantic date or special occasion. A must for every visitor to Swakopmund
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
197 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The view is beautiful. The food is excellent and the service is great. We had a great evening. I will most definitely visit this place again. We were a group of four and everyone on the table agree - this is a great restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Christo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    324
    114
    33
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swakopmund
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reservation? !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Made reservations the previous evening, but when we got there, they couldn't find it. Anyways, we lucky got a table outside, but it made me wonder. Food was good though and love the view. It's still a special place.

Helpful?
Thank Nightshade96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zoetermeer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
845 reviews
318 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Wonderfull setting, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We enjoyed our dinner at this place. Setting is very nice on the jetty, food is above average, service is attentive and prices are reasonable.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank carolineenwillem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great idea - converted jetty so you are right out over the sea which is fun. We both went basic and had fish and chips which was fine. Family orientated. Service OK but nothing special, waitress didn't seem particularly competent or interesting. I feel this place probably has lots of potential.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank kategc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Springbok.....Yummy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

We found the food very good. I had an amazing Springbok Steak.... melt in your mouth stuff!! The service was reasonably good, even with many of the staff having to deal with a large party of Chinese where communication didn't seem that easy. The view was good.... a visible sunset while you eat can't be faulted. And a nice relaxing walk back along the jetty / pier after the meal to our car, which had been watched over (for a reasonable cost) finished things off nicely. I would consider going back to eat here for sure.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NGPAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jetty 1905 also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Jetty 1905? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing