We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ITS NAMIBIA”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandcastle Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Fl
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“ITS NAMIBIA”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very quaint and perfectly secluded hotel type accomodations very near the center of town. Run by a German couple who are more than willing to help you and with great reccomendations for things to see and do and restaurant nera by. The place is small but apartments are spacious and place for parking if you are driving. The area has a small area in the back ideal for sitting and having a drink or just realxing. Highly reccomended and very reasonably priced. They can also do your laundry for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RAINPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    49
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
73
8
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were travelling with a camper through Namibia and decided to stay in a hotel/ apartment in Swakopmund. We stayed in the Lion apartment which was very spacious & clean with separate bathroom, kitchen, bedroom and living room. The owner tries to do the best he can to make you comfortable but not in a "push" way. If you want information, he's there for you, if you want to be left alone he and his family respect that as well. Experienced a nice stay in this apartment thanks to Rainer and his family. They have a laundry service and you can book excursions via the owners. We could park our camper inside the gates and the facility is well secured. There was an alarm at our own entrance and at night there was an alarm around the building. (Not that it wasn't safe, but allover Namibia in cities people apparently use this.)
The apartment lies in a quiet street just a short walk away from the beach and about 15 min walk into the city centre. Did the city tour excursion and went horseback riding. Both were a good experience! We would definitly recommend this place to people who are looking for a nice place to stay in Swakop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KavdH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Looking for some accomodations in Swakopmund my wife and I were disappointed by the prices. Namibia is very expensive. We finally discover the sandcastle appartments in swakopmund with self catering (no extra service). Very good experience !
The owners are friendly german people who provide very good rooms/appartments. We tried the zebra room which was a clean, full furnished and beautiful place for a stay. It is really like a small appartment (place to park the car, big bed, tv, kitchen and so on).
Well I definitely recommend this place !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManuFromPaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at this cozy apartment. Quiet and relaxing after a long drive from Etosha Our hosts were welcoming and eager for us to have a pleasant stay. Even helped with the right electric adapter for our USA electronics. Situated blocks from the ocean promenade with a 20 minute walk to the city center (10 minutes by car) a perfect place to stay in a beautiful location. Restaurant recommendations were spot on and we had a true feel for the German influence.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MT M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Lexington, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Sandcastle Apartments are impeccably clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our 3 night stay that is a short walk along the beach path to the center of town. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything you might need and the living area is cozy and relaxing. The owners are super nice and made sure we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. Free Wi-Fi and laundry service are available. The grounds are also clean and provide plenty of outdoor space to relax and enjoy the fresh air. I highly recommend staying at the Sandcastle Apartments.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Ok
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We fully enjoyed our two night stay at the Sandcastle Apartments. The apartment was large, and nicely decorated. It also included a fully equipped kitchen. The location is great, and very close to anything you might need. The owners were extremely helpful, and went above and beyond to make sure that we were comfortable. They also include free Wi-Fi, and paid laundry service. The grounds are very secure and safe. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Sandcastle is a very nice and comfortable place to stay. Great hospitality, very friendly and caring hosts. The apartments are spacious, cosy and clean. I hope we can come back someday! Also great for honeymooners :-) Thanks again!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katharina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
1.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
#5 of 35 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Still Accommodation
Be Still Accommodation
#8 of 35 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 48 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle Apartments

Property: Sandcastle Apartments
Address: 4 Woker Street, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandcastle Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle Apartments is located in a conveniently tranquil part of Swakopmund (Vineta), only a two-minutes walk away from the beach and minutes away from the city centre with its shopping facilities, restaurants and cafés, offering individually designed and furnished flats or a double room. We, Rainer & Silke, believe in keeping things warm, personal and intimate and offer affordable holiday and business stopover accommodation in Swakopmund to guests who cherish their privacy, freedom and mobility. Sandcastle Apartments offers 4 sunny, spacious, comfortable and authentically decorated apartments (Elephant, Lion, Zebra, Atlantic) and 1 double room (Weaver's Nest), set in a lush landscaped garden. Up to 14 people can be accommodated at a time. The apartments and the double room have their own entrance each and are secured individually. Experience the quietness at night accompanied by the sound of the Atlantic Ocean. Sandcastle Apartments provides a braai area for a BBQ, free parking inside the locked premises, WiFi access throughout the guesthouse for free, flatscreen TV in each apartment and room safe. On request we offer breakfast, laundry service and room service. Welcome to our Sandcastle Apartment! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jovago.com so you can book your Sandcastle Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing