We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hosts and good facilities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swakopmund
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Desert Sky Backpackers
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great place to base yourself for a few days if you are going to explore the surrounding area or take trips out. Staff are very friendly and helpful, good facilities, well equipped kitchen. Close to town in quiet location. Nice and clean

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 86 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Dorm rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were clean and welcoming. Top notch backpackers. Walking distance to all amenities. Lovely reception from staff. What more can one expect from a backpackers? Once our key to the front gate didn't work when we came home late and had to wake up the owner, she didn't yell at us. In fact, she was pretty nice about it!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beebag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Backpacking around Africa for 5 months with my girlfriend and stayed here in November 2011.
Absolutely wonderful after just having roughed it in Namibia's north.

A lovely relaxing garden with lounge chairs & wooden picnic tables to relax/eat, braai (bbq) sets we could use, big clean kitchens (one for the people staying in the double rooms, one for the people camping & using the dorm), clean showers, friendly staff.
We first stayed in one of the double rooms : fantastic, clean, relaxing.
Later we stayed a few nights in the 3-bed dorm : clean and comfy.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank wimsterino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Not a lot to criticse in the place itself - good standard of rooms, bathrooms, kitchen etc. Only criticism would be the price - which I think puts it a little out of the range of some backpackers, despite that being the main group its pitching for.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Ed R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartr47, Manager at Desert Sky Backpackers, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

HI
Very sorry that you feel we are over priced. We have clean rooms with very good matttresses, down douvettes and towels in the rooms. Ablution facilities are clean with plenty of hot water. Kitchens are fully equiped and there are barbeque facilities and safe parking. We also have tea, coffe, milk and sugar available in the kitchen all day. There is a lovely garden with space to sit outside in the sun. When compared to other places we are really not over priced. But thank-you for your respons. Safe travelling and hopefully we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here after 4 nights in Etosha and it was great to have a place for a hot shower, clean bed, laundry service, and free coffee all day. There is secure parking and it's an easy walk to anywhere in central Swakop, including some good pubs and restaurants. Staff is helpful in finding things and will book activities for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank eric r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

In May and June 2013, I spent 4 weekends at Desert Sky Backpacker (3 nights each time) and... I really enjoyed that place!

Its staff was always very friendly and can assist you with your bookings (dolphins + seals tours, sandboarding, skydiving, scenic flights, etc.). Otherwise, they seam busy all day round keeping the place clean!

Facilities include a kitchen, a nice garden with several braï (barbecue) areas and wooden tables + benches, as well as various plants, flowers and singing birds.

In the kitchen beside the garden I was happy to find all the instruments and electrical devices I needed to prepare my various meals. Note that tea, coffee, sugar etc are provided free of charge and available all day round.
The kitchen is also THE “strategic place” to socialise and listen to the thrilling travel stories of other guests.

Wifi also works in garden + kitchen, and I enjoyed working out there or skyping my family.
Note that, once you paid the ONE-OFF +/- 3 euros Wifi contribution, you can use the same code on all your e-devices, with no countdown as I experienced in other backpackers.

Desert Sky Backpacker is also ideally located:
- At 250 m of the regular shuttles' (Intercape, etc.) drop-off point (or a few meters if you take one of the local minibuses at Rhino Park in Windhoek and ask them to drop you in Swakop centre!).
- At 300/400m from town’s centre, its supermarkets, small shops, tourist info office, etc.
- At 500 m of Atlantic's waves + 100 more meters to reach Swakop’s famous (renovated) jetty,
- At 600 m of Swakop’s river usually dry bed, from where I started amazing sunrise joggings in the dune belt toward Walvis Bay.

In short: excellent quality/price ratio; I recommend to all backpackers!!
(I haven't experienced neither visited the single or double rooms).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank F-FlyingChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay, but it seemed to be a bit pricey for what you get. The price was different than what was listed in the guidebook, although Desert Sky says that LP doesn't update the price for some reason and that they've had higher prices for awhile. There was no breakfast and no internet available, and the small kitchen was often crowded. However the staff was very friendly and helpful, we booked a boat tour and ATV tour through the reception, both were fantastic. Short walk to beach and downtown.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank merosg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.4 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Hotel Pension A la Mer
#13 of 19 in Swakopmund
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
374 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
418 reviews
1.1 mi away
Skeleton Beach backpackers
Skeleton Beach backpackers
#11 of 38 in Swakopmund
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sky Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sky Backpackers

Address: Lazarett Street | PO Box 2830, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Swakopmund
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing