We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Apple crumble”
Review of Cafe Anton

Cafe Anton
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Swakopmund
Price range: $2 - $12
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Somerset West, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Apple crumble”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Who, the apple crumble was great. A nice place to have afternoon tea.

You can sit inside or outside and enjoy your coffee or tea while the sunset.

lots of other sweat stuff available.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AntonAvWyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    128
    85
    17
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durbanville, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Namibian 2014 Trip”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

Cafe Anton is an integral part of Swakopmund. The setting is fantastic and the interior has that old world feel about it - a bit retro! We had some coffee, tea and cakes and it was ok. Not bad but also not "WOW". Gents toilets were out of order, but we were ushered to the hotel restrooms.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HeinOos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A little bit of Germany in Southern Africa”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

Visited Cafe Anton during a trip to Swakopmund on a tour from a cruise ship berthed at Walvis Bay. In need of refreshment our guide recommended the Cafe Anton so we decided to give it a go. 3 cappuccinos and 3 apple strudels later, we were ready to resume our sightseeing. The coffees and strudel were very good, the strudel was generously filled and the price was very reasonable. Would recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Coffee /average cakes”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We visited this café as it was recommended but were very disappointed .We ordered cappuccino which was old brewed bitter coffee with frothed milk on top .When I questioned this, the manger said I should have asked for coffee made fresh on the machine. He was rude and said he did not care if I reported it on trip advisor! the cakes are nothing like the ones you get in an authentic German cake shop. Go to Village Café rather.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank annem4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
745 reviews
471 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Excellent cakes”
Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We stopped at Cafe Anton for drinks and cakes and it was excellent. The lemon pie cake was particularly good. The portions are huge and the prices are reasonable. The service was excellent.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Anton also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Cafe Anton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing