We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Royal Benguela Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$284
$275
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Swakopmund Hotel(Swakopmund)
$192
$138
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Hotel Swakopmund(Swakopmund)
$170
$151
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Eberwein(Swakopmund)
$104
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hansa Hotel(Swakopmund)
$151
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
$164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$118
$114
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alte Brucke(Swakopmund)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveler rating
60
12
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
60
12
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homeb bcommon areashot breakfastlounge areaevery morninggreat breakfastfree wifienjoyed our stayguesthouseguestsnamibiatowncomforttaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 76 reviews
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We arrived at this property, my husband, son and l on New Years Eve after a long day of traveling.
I had booked this property the night before online, or so l thought. When we got there, there was no booking and the place was full, infact so was the whole of Swakopmund!
Immediately the owners gave us the room they were staying in and moved out for two nights.
The property is simply stunning, the owners delightful as was Eddie, their "right hand man".
Whilst the property is not in the centre of town, it is close by and not a problem if you have a car.
It is such a shame we live so far away in Australia as this would become one on my favourite places to visit. If you enjoy a "boutique style" of accommodation, where everyone is exceptionally
pleasant, you must stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 981Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmundroyal, Owner at Royal Benguela Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Thank you for this glowing review, hope to see you in Australia some time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are going to Swakopmund and have no reason to stay in the centre then this must be your first choice for B&B. We were directed here when we visited Swakopmund in August and had no idea what to expect. What you find, behind the usual high wall and security gate, is an oasis. As others have said, the owners and staff are excellent--all you could want. The house is well laid out and relaxing---most spaces are open to guests. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The breakfast is excellent.And what must be the best restaurant in town--or in Namibia--is within walking distance.
I have given 3 stars for location. But I would give the same anywhere in Swakopmund!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it, everything was excellent but in particular the service was brilliant, they always went the extra mile to make sure you had the best possible stay. Most defiantly recommend it!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

we had a great time here and loved everything about our stay. the staff was very nice and helpful, even in non-holiday-related issues (we had to find another spare tire to continue our trip through the desert. the managers organized everything and even went to pick up the tire! thats what I call amazing service)
the house is very clean and new. we stayed in rooms 5 and 7, both were good and clean. breakfast included everything one might desire.
To sum up: we loved our time here, one of the best hotels on this trip!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick_impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Royal Bengguela Guesthouse during mid July. It was an extremely enjoyable stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The staff and Mac and Adrianne went out of their way to make me feel welcome, ensuring that all my needs were met. The Gueshouse itself, is beautiful and clean. the bacony is a perfect place to relax in the evening, watching the sun disapear into the sea.
I am pleased to recommend this Guesthouse to anyone visiting Swakopmund.
Roy Mandy, Accountants In Action, Johannesburg

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews