We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Benguela Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 50 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 18, 2012

If you are going to Swakopmund and have no reason to stay in the centre then this must be your first choice for B&B. We were directed here when we visited Swakopmund in August and had no idea what to expect. What you find, behind the usual high wall and security gate, is an oasis. As others have said, the owners and staff are excellent--all you could want. The house is well laid out and relaxing---most spaces are open to guests. The rooms are spacious, clean and well equipped. The breakfast is excellent.And what must be the best restaurant in town--or in Namibia--is within walking distance.
I have given 3 stars for location. But I would give the same anywhere in Swakopmund!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

Stayed two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed it, everything was excellent but in particular the service was brilliant, they always went the extra mile to make sure you had the best possible stay. Most defiantly recommend it!!

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Oliver M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

we had a great time here and loved everything about our stay. the staff was very nice and helpful, even in non-holiday-related issues (we had to find another spare tire to continue our trip through the desert. the managers organized everything and even went to pick up the tire! thats what I call amazing service)
the house is very clean and new. we stayed in rooms 5 and 7, both were good and clean. breakfast included everything one might desire.
To sum up: we loved our time here, one of the best hotels on this trip!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick_impala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I spent 3 nights at the Royal Bengguela Guesthouse during mid July. It was an extremely enjoyable stay in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. The staff and Mac and Adrianne went out of their way to make me feel welcome, ensuring that all my needs were met. The Gueshouse itself, is beautiful and clean. the bacony is a perfect place to relax in the evening, watching the sun disapear into the sea.
I am pleased to recommend this Guesthouse to anyone visiting Swakopmund.
Roy Mandy, Accountants In Action, Johannesburg

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I stayed here 2 weeks ago for a week and we were treated like royalties, the name is a true version of what you receive when you stay there. Eddie was the best, he always welcomed us with a smile and served us like Queens! It was wonderful coming back to the guest house after a full day of work and be greeted with a smile and wonderful service. The rooms were emaculate clean and it was close to all restaurants. There was a full buffet breakfast every morning available with only the best selection of food. I can really recommend this guest house to any business person or someone that just need a break from life, it really felt like home and will go back there anyday! From Annalien Kotze - Imagemakers!

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful, but the seaview room was stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annalien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent the weekend here with our 3 children. The hosts, Adrianne & Mac, were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. They were very accommodating, in a relaxed way, with our children, which made things very easy for us. The guesthouse itself is spotlessy clean, with comfortable, warm (in winter!) rooms which are well equipped. There are two inviting living areas which is great if you feel like relaxing instead of mixing with the crowds in the town itself. We enjoyed ourselves very much and would most definitely stay here again, and highly recommend it to any individuals, families or business people who are looking for somewhere to stay without any hassles!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 74Anita12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

I felt at home @ Royal Benguela Guesthome.... It was like visiting old friends....
Christo...

Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
Thank Christo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
3.4 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
120 reviews
2.8 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Villa Boutique Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 50 in Swakopmund
335 reviews
3.2 mi away
Organic Square Guesthouse
Organic Square Guesthouse
#10 of 50 in Swakopmund
178 reviews
3 mi away
Alternative Space B & B
Alternative Space B & B
#14 of 50 in Swakopmund
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Benguela Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Benguela Guesthouse

Address: 6 Tsavorite Street | Vogelstrand, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range: $89 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Benguela Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Royal Benguela Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing