We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Meerkat Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meerkat Guesthouse
Ranked #20 of 49 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Ghana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed March 9, 2012

My wife and I are from the US, and we thought this place was great. Really fantastic, modern rooms, and a terrific breakfast. Internet was too slow to work, but otherwise everything was terrific. No A/C, but you don't need that in Swakop. Like most places in Swakop it seems, when you book a double bed you actually get two singles pushed together, which is nonsense, but this seems standard for the town. Great place!

Room Tip: the large family room near the parking lot has a great shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paolomaldini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgruettemeyer, Manager at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear paolomaldini from Ghana,

thank you very much for taking the time to review our guesthouse on Tripadvisor. We wish you all the best and hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Central Guest House Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    28
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
20
45
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
B.C.,Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The Central Guesthouse is a very nice and modern guesthouse in a convenient area of Swakopmund. After several days touring the Namibian deserts it was a real joy to return to the much cooler temperatures and lovely sea air of Swakopmund.  We were warmly greeted by Verna who, throughout our unfortunately short stay of only two nights, was incredibly kind and helpful with shopping and dining advice, together with helping us sort out a serious and unexpected transportation problem.  
The rooms and bathrooms were very comfortable, modern, and impeccably clean.  They also have free wifi access which is much appreciated.  
The breakfast offered was very good with a wide selection of items and, since we arrived rather exhausted, the offer of tea and refreshments was excellent. A mini bar was available in a small pantry area between our two rooms. The rooms themselves had good beds, storage, TV, and roomy safe. 
Verna's recommendation on dining in Swakopmund was exactly what we needed!
Definitely the place to stay if in Swakopmund which is one of my favourite parts of Namibia. 

Room Tip: There are rooms on the ground floor and upstairs to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotTooLate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgruettemeyer, Assistant Manager at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Dear NotTooLate from Canada

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review. Verna's (Manager) vast amount of knowledge and experience is a valuable asset to our small establishment and we are pleased to hear that all which was suggested was also enjoyed. Swakopmund has a lot to offer and hearing someone say that it's one of their favorite parts in Namibia puts a smile on any locals face. Thank you again and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Central Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed with our adult sons for 3 nights in September 2011. The first morning, we had an early activity in walvis bay and breakfast was provided half an hour earlier than normal, very welcome indeed. The building is austere from outside, but is very nice indeed inside and spotless. We were helped to choose restaurants for dinner, reservations made for us and confirmations made for pre booked activities. Good breakfasts. On the day we left, they suggested we filled rolls from the breakfast buffet for lunch, and gave us sealed bags for them without charge. Altogether excellent. I cannot think of a single fault and would recmmend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvis1250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgruettemeyer, Assistant Manager at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Alvis1250 from Hampshire,

we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for writing such a lovely review on Tripadvisor. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we could not let a family start their day with an empty belly.
Sincerely hoping to see you all again.

Kind regards
Central Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This exceeded our expectations on all counts. Very welcoming and helpful staff, convenient setting to walk to the restaurants and the sea front. Elegant room with good bathroom, quality linens and towels and an exceptionally comfortable bed. Everything spotlessly clean and polished. Very reasonably priced drinks were available in the mini bar just outside our room (plus free tea and coffee). Excellent breakfast. And while we would never normally watch TV, my husband (a strong Welsh rugby supporter) appreciated the DSTV which allowed him to see Wales beat Namibia in the Rugby World Cup!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LttGuildford_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgruettemeyer, Assistant Manager at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear LttGuildford_UK,

Wow, thank you for such a lovely review. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay with us & that you made use, as well as enjoyed the DSTV..
We wish you all the best, many more winnings for the Welsh rugby team and do hope to welcome you again at Central Guesthouse sometime in the future.

Kind regards
Central Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed at this guesthouse in November 2009 and would recommend it highly.It had fantastic beds - cotton linen and superb mattresses!Breakfast was very generous and delicious.It is a bit of a walk to the beachfront but Swakopmund is relatively small so that does not really matter.It is a very clean and well-run guesthouse and the owner makes a real effort to welcome her guests and assure their comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the bigger rooms because ours downstairs had a tiny bathroom as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggy1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgruettemeyer, Assistant Manager at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 11, 2011
Dear Maggy 1408 from Cape Town,

thank you for taking the time to write a review about Central Guesthouse. We truly appreciate the feedback. Since your stay in 2009 new owners have taken over the Guesthouse and slight changes have been made, however we are glad to inform you that the mattresses are still superb.
It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again sometime.

Kind regards
Central Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The attention to customers put by the owner of the guesthouse is amazing. I was feeling sick, so she took care to oder and pick up some special take away food for me, and she managed to retrieve our second spare tyre that the car rental company failed to deliver us at Windhoek.
The guesthouse is really pretty, it's basically a house that feels like home: relaxing sitting rooms, very clean rooms, great breakfast.
It's conveniently located in the center of Swakop, you can just walk to the city's best restaurants.
Definitely a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianmaria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgruettemeyer, Assistant Manager at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear doombo from Pavia ,

thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope it was not your last visit. Monica (owner) always gives 100% when it comes to the well-being of her guests and we are pleased to hear that our Guesthouse felt like a home to you.
Wishing you all the best.

Kind regards
Central Guesthouse Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
1 review
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at the Central Guesthouse Swakopmund for 2 Nights. The guesthouse was very clean and all staff pleasant and friendly. We will definately stay here again when we go to Swakopmund next time.

Room Tip: Clean, friendly, safe and central
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgruettemeyer, Assistant Manager at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Dear dbfy from Windhoek,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate it and look forward to having you stay at Central Guesthouse again.

Kind regards
Central Guesthouse team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.3 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
316 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
#2 of 49 in Swakopmund
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desert Villa Guesthouse
Desert Villa Guesthouse
#15 of 49 in Swakopmund
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meerkat Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meerkat Guesthouse

Property: Meerkat Guesthouse
Address: Luderitzstrasse 19 | Corner of Luderitz & Leutwein Street, Swakopmund 900, Namibia (Formerly Central Guesthouse)
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meerkat Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in the heart of Swakopmund, Namibia. This elegant building is situated in the heart of old Swakopmund within easy walking distance of all amenities, shops, restaurants, museums, craft markets, banks and beaches. 7 double rooms each with en-suite bathroom, exquisitely furnished with dark mahogany furniture, extra length beds, top quality white linen, flat screen TV and personal safe. Access to internet, minibar, tea, coffee and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Meerkat Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing