We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home in Swakopmund!”
Review of Meerkat Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Meerkat Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 52 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 14, 2011

The attention to customers put by the owner of the guesthouse is amazing. I was feeling sick, so she took care to oder and pick up some special take away food for me, and she managed to retrieve our second spare tyre that the car rental company failed to deliver us at Windhoek.
The guesthouse is really pretty, it's basically a house that feels like home: relaxing sitting rooms, very clean rooms, great breakfast.
It's conveniently located in the center of Swakop, you can just walk to the city's best restaurants.
Definitely a very good place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gianmaria V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgruettemeyer, Assistant Manager at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2011

Dear doombo from Pavia ,

thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope it was not your last visit. Monica (owner) always gives 100% when it comes to the well-being of her guests and we are pleased to hear that our Guesthouse felt like a home to you.
Wishing you all the best.

Kind regards
Central Guesthouse Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 105 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed at the Central Guesthouse Swakopmund for 2 Nights. The guesthouse was very clean and all staff pleasant and friendly. We will definately stay here again when we go to Swakopmund next time.

Room Tip: Clean, friendly, safe and central
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgruettemeyer, Assistant Manager at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear dbfy from Windhoek,

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We really appreciate it and look forward to having you stay at Central Guesthouse again.

Kind regards
Central Guesthouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

A wonderful, very large, spotless room with a large bathroom ( bath and shower), good towels and linens. Breakfast was excellent and the location spot on. On top of all this the owners/staff were hugely helpful and extremely friendly and thier premises beautifully presented. Absolutely recommend this place

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank muscadet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mgruettemeyer, Assistant Manager at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2011

Dear muscadet from Somerset,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful a review. December is always a very busy time for all Guesthouses in Swakopmund and it is important to us to always give our Guests 100% even amidts the December chaos.
We hope to see you again!

Kind regards
Central Guesthouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2010

Managers:
The guest house is run by the friendliest and most helpful hosts, both full of useful knowledge of Swakopmund

Room:
The room we were given was huge! Large enough for a family of five. There were just two of us staying and we had our own kitchen, balcony and access to the garden.

Food:
Breakfast was great with plenty of choice and delicious home made jam.

Location:
Location is slightly out of town, but this suited our needs for a quiet holiday in Swakopmund. If you have a car, there is a secured, gated car park and town is a spit away.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelenquirer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2009

We stayed here for two nights after a three day camping safari. This accomodation has been converted into a guest house from a former family home and is run by the original owners. The accomodation is immaculate throughout. The rooms are large, with large double beds and nice bed linen. Each room has an ensuite shower room, again presented to a high standard. There is a small seating area downstairs adjacent to the dining room which is used for breakfast, virtually anything you want to eat is prepared there and then. There is also secure off road parking at the side of the premises. The guest house is located in a very quiet residential area and is only a few minutes walk to the nearby restaurants and shops and easy access to the other attractions in the area. Overall very well presented and run accomodation, that for a couple of days did feel like being at home, recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandinmyshoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank IrisundMike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakop Valley K... G, Inhaber at Meerkat Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
437 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Hotel Pension A la Mer
#13 of 19 in Swakopmund
118 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#10 of 19 in Swakopmund
251 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
339 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meerkat Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meerkat Guesthouse

Address: 19 Luederitzstrasse | Corner of Luderitz & Leutwein Street, Swakopmund 900, Namibia (Formerly Central Guesthouse)
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range: $57 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meerkat Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury accommodation in the heart of Swakopmund, Namibia. This elegant building is situated in the heart of old Swakopmund within easy walking distance of all amenities, shops, restaurants, museums, craft markets, banks and beaches. 7 double rooms each with en-suite bathroom, exquisitely furnished with dark mahogany furniture, extra length beds, top quality white linen, flat screen TV and personal safe. Access to internet, minibar, tea, coffee and snacks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Meerkat Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing