We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect - but some heating would have been nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Meike's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meike's Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 48 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Almost perfect - but some heating would have been nice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

A wonderful B&B in Swakopmund. We had 2 rooms for our family of 5 and both were comfortable, clean and tasteful. The only thing lacking was any form of heating which meant that the typical July cold (it is, after all, winter in Namibia) left the rooms unpleasantly cold. Perhaps this is part of their drive to be an 'eco'-hotel?
In all other respects the hotel is lovely - the staff were knowledgeable and very friendly, the food good, location fine and so on.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
155
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Meike's. We often joke that the quality of breakfast offered is always a sign of a good hotel, and by this measure Meike's rates up there with a high class establishment. This is by no means to take away from the owners' friendly welcome or the tastefully appointed and very comfortable (and large) rooms. A relaxed stay is guaranteed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atgani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just a quick note to advise that we have been travelling around Namibia and have just stayed at Meike's Guesthouse in May 2014.
I give it 100% full marks in terms of location near the town, cleanliness and super friendly owners and staff.
PS: The breakfast was super too.

Room Tip: Book early as this property has a high occupancy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SydneyDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Wow, if only there was such a welcoming and adorable place in every city I have traveled! The owners and staff are very friendly and accommodating, the rates are an extremely good deal, the breakfast is fresh and beautifully prepared, and the rooms are large, immaculate, and very tasteful. You can tell they put a lot of attention to the details, which I really appreciated. Also, great location to easily walk to the beach and restaurants. I will definitely return if there is an opportunity to visit this lovely town.

Room Tip: I advise booking through their website directly. Sometimes booking.com is not accurate availability...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LifeTraveller07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2014

I was very impressed with the quality of the finishes, fittings and the cleanliness of the rooms at Meike’s Guesthouse. The owners are friendly people, as is their little Jack Russel whose tail never stops wagging. They have a great deal of local knowledge and are eager to share that knowledge with their guests.

The court yard and walkways are tastefully decorated with local arts and crafts as well as semi-precious stones and other interesting artefacts and knick-knacks which gives the place a very friendly feel – it reminded me in some ways of our own home. The all-encompassing theme throughout was that of the humble guinea fowl, which is one of Gail’s favourite creatures.

Breakfast was very good and the off-street parking was secure with an overnight guard looking after our vehicles, important to us as we have loads of camping equipment on board. I would definitely recommend Meike’s Guest House to anyone looking to spend a few nights in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Meike's guesthouse is the Place to go if you want to stay one or a few nights in Swakopmund. The owner are very friendly and open minded and are really interested in their guests. They are wiling to give nice tips about the country and help you with whatever problem you have.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean, you feel like in a hotel.
When we were there in the middle of May we booked two rooms with breakfast included. The breakfast which is prepared in a lovely kitchen is more than a dream. You really get everything to eat what you could ask for and even more.
To sum up I can really recommend this lovely place to everyone who is looking for a place to stay in Swakopmund also because it is low priced and situated in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014

I stayed two nights in this guesthouse. The location is safe and secure. I was the atypical non-driving customer, but basically the whole town was within walking distance. There seemed to be plenty of secure parking though if you're driving. The owner and staff were very kind. The breakfast was plentiful and many options of a typical European variety. The rooms were comfy and clean. I was there during a hot spell, and my room didn't have a fan, so it was not the most comfortable sleeping. But apparently this was extremely rare and usually it is the other way around with heat needed, and there were electric blankets in the drawers to prepare for that. I would consider this a good value and go again if I was in Swakop. And this loyalty was shared, as I met one couple who has visited every year from Europe for 26 years in a row. It is a very nice place. One note is that checkout was 10 a.m., which might be typical for Namibia, but surprised me as no notice was given until 9:45 a.m., so be prepared for the local custom.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maverick171717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
#1 of 48 in Swakopmund
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 48 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meike's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meike's Guesthouse

Property: Meike's Guesthouse
Address: 23 Windhoeker Street | P.O.Box 2858, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meike's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meike's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing