We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every sense”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meike's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meike's Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 48 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect in every sense”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were on an overland tour and needed a break from the group. This place is right around the corner from Anapurna Backpackers where lots of the overland companies stay. Great rooms, great breakfast, great location, one of the friendliest people I've ever met that runs the place - what else could you want?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadiann0mad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    41
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
155
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zanzibar4
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2010

What a great guesthouse!

I got a bit of a easter feeling when I arrived there after a dental problem. The rooms are bright, yellow sheets ( that's why the easter feeling) and spotless,

Meike was not there but her husband was very friendly and helpful with any info requested!

The highlight though was there breakfast!! What a treat... nice cheeses, pate's!!!

WELL DONE! We wish them all the best but we are sure there love in this place will sell by it's self...

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanzibar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

This is the first time that I have ever posted any review of anything on the web. Yes, i know that you don't beleive me but because of Meike and her wonderful guesthouse I have to start.

First the guesthouse. Meike's guesthouse is set up like a traditional B&B. The rooms are all off a central patio surrounding by lush plantings. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortably furnished with everything you need to feel at home. Breakfast is served in a separate dining area where you can chat with other guests. I would say the breakfast is continental with lots of choices. We never left feeling hungry. The guesthouse is within walking distance (5 minutes) from the shops and restaurants. It is located on a side street in a quiet residential area and there is parking for your car off-street.

What made our stay there so wonderful was Meike and her husband-the hosts. We arrived in the evening and immediately Meike was booking reservations for us at a place for dinner. She knows all the great places to eat and is very knowledgeble of Swakomund and Namibia in general. She also booked our trip out to Sandwich Harbor for the next day with the tour company of our choice (her choice as well)! We were a little afraid that we wouldn't be able to do it on such short notice so that was a bonus.

Here's the thing.... my bags for our five week trip to Africa didn't arrive in Windhoek. Meike spent a good part of her time checking up on my bag's whereabouts and keeping me informed. She lent me a jacket and binocular's for our trip to Sandwich Harbor. She even offered, in case my bags didn't arrive, to let us stay in the unfinished loft since her rooms and everyone else in town was booked up. I have never, ever had someone at any hotel go out of their way like that for me. It made the world of difference in that we could enjoy our first nights in Africa without 1) having to worry and 2) us having to be on the phone dealing with the airport or baggage claim. Looking back on our entire vacation these couple of days at Sandwich Harbor and Swakomund were highlights! I highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather_Chris_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2010

Again, as always, friendly service, rooms furnished with everything needed for comfort and well feeling, very satidsfactory breakfast served in a new breakfast room.
All rooms open to a little terrace and and the well cared garden - a little oasis.
Location convenient to restaurants, down town and stores, safe and easy walking distance.
Our B&B when in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richtersveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Cornerstone Guesthouse
#1 of 48 in Swakopmund
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 48 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meike's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meike's Guesthouse

Property: Meike's Guesthouse
Address: 23 Windhoeker Street | P.O.Box 2858, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Meike's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meike's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing