We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from”
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Service is great , you don't need much more they offer food have a Cosy pub for a drink or two.
Walking distance to the town for any shopping you need to do.
Serve breakfast early for the early risers / business people.
I go to Namibia every month and this is my first choice of places to stay

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lmash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    62
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
50
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Nothing more to say then excellent!
Great service, fantastic food and perfect rooms.
I stayed almost 4 weeks there and I will stay there again this year during my trip to Namibia.
Everything in town is easy to reach by walk. The hotel lies in a quiet street.
To stay in contact with my friends I used the WiFi in the hotel which is quite cheap related to other stays. If i wanted to make a special trip, everything was done for me by the reception, they cared about erverythink you need.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tatzenchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We spend Christmas week in the Hotel. Now as we know this is the busiest time for a hotel.
Yes the hotel and the restaurant was busy, but they always had the time to stop, listen and address any concern or special requests.
The staff are just the best. Helpful, courteous. They make you feel part of the family!
The restaurant – Oh my word! The best food I have ever tasted! Definitely the best in Town!
The rooms were always kept spotless and clean, they even arranged for a special bath for my little one.

I would recommend this hotel to all, it is worth every penny!
Well done and thank you to team Deutsches Haus!

Manie Gouws and Family

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2011

We, the team of the nbc German Service had a splendid time at the Deutsche Haus and in Swakopmund. The Deutsche Haus is a very friendly Hotel with a very spirited and friendly staff. The food was excellent and we could always choose from a wide variety.
Thank you very much and we will come again - ANY TIME...
Jochen Berends, Lutz von Dewitz & Sybille Moldzio

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElvauDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munkelwitz, Owner at Hotel Deutsches Haus, responded to this review, February 26, 2011
many thanks NBC crew .. it has been a pleasure to have you here with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2010

We have eaten many times at Hotel Deutsches Haus, and have found their quality of food and service the best in town. Their staff are friendly and have a great attitude. And the seafood is divine, always fresh and pleasing on the palate. I recommend Hotel Deutsches Haus to all when you are looking for a good time, excellent food in a relaxed atmosphere.
Thank you Hotel Deutsches Haus for a wonderful experience, you are the best in the west!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank infona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2010

I really enjoyed the three weeks that I stayed at this hotel, you will not find more courteous and prompt staff in any "5 star hotel". The food was second to none and I would not hesitate recommending this hotel to anyone wanting a nice quiet place to call home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mab1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoechenschwand, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

The Deutsche Haus is a very recommendable accomodation in Swakopmund. The owner Andreas and Cynthia are very friendly and let you feel like home.
Their restaurant serves very good food and the breakfast has some German roots :-)
The bar is well equipped where you can talk to people from Swakopmund as well as to other guests.
I am going back in February 2011

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank JohannesG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
241 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
283 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Haus

Property: Hotel Deutsches Haus
Address: 13 Luderitz Str., Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Deutsches Haus is a cozy three star family orientated and business hotel with free high speed wireless internet excess and an excellent cuisine with daily seasonal specials at the coastal town of Swakopmund. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing