We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Otjiwarongo, Namibia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A must!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We had a wonderful time over Xmas.
The staff, we can as always especially to highlight; very friendly and attentive.

Breakfast buffet has a wide variety and fresh, in all; they reaaallyyy have good food.
The owners personally make you feel welcomed and takes care of the Guests.
Brilliant stay as always, thanks you guys.

Keep it up

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elicha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    62
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
50
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
eMalahleni, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We booked here because TripAdvisor said it was the best hotel to stay in. Far from it. The place is very old. We asked the staff for help with suggestions with places to eat and they had NO idea. They were unhelpful and not knowledgeable. The breakfast was a disaster. A very limited spread and we had to scrape for leftovers in the pans. Staff once again very unhelpful. We wanted to cancel our next few nights, but they refused to refund us ( we paid upfront). Tv channels very fuzzy.So the place is very old and has bad service, but the location is central. I do not recommend this place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

I don't understand the good reviews they get on tripadvisor. The staff are mostly rude and unhelpful, the food is terrible and the place is really very old and run down. There are far better places to stay in swakopmund. The rooms are clean though. We will definitely not return or recommend this place to anybody.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank voyagersolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I frequently stay at Deutsches Haus for business because it complies with all the specifications as well as being a home away from home. The staff are like an extended family. So if you want to stay there please look after them as well as the rooms. No worries!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

A friend and I spent four nights in October in room 7, new section. The room was actually divided in an upstairs and a downstairs, same configuration, one bathroom each floor, desk, two beds, kettle for tea/coffee. It was very clean, free wifi and breakfast, and the staff was most friendly.
I highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: New section has family rooms which can sleep 4 in absolute comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank izumishikibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
125 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I returned to the Hotel Deutsches Haus after many years and was pleasantly surprised by the new wing of family accommodation - 2 levels (sleeps 4) with each level an on-suite shower/toilet. Several German channels are available on the TV in the room, followed by selected DSTV channels. This is perfect for a family looking for a relaxed, spacious and friendly atmosphere. Owner and veteran hotelier Andreas understands this business and how to look after his local and international guests. The menu - with an obvious German influence - is extensive and will cater for all tastes. I sampled the tomato soup (starter) followed by a goulash and spaetzle (mains) with a fresh side salad. It is good value for money and excellent! Breakfast - which is included in the room rate - was superb. The staff is very friendly, always helpful and the service fast. The bar is well stocked and will have your special drink on hand. I will return soon!

Room Tip: Ask for their large 2-level family rooms. I suggest you park inside the enclosed area - they have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was totally impressed (and surprised) by the quality of my experience at this delightful hotel during my attendance at a conference. My room was huge (two levels), clean and modern. Meals (including the included breakfast) were superb--fresh, tasty and served by personable wait staff. Staff in general were upbeat, friendly and helpful. The hotel is central to the business center of town as well as to the conference center and the beaches.

Room Tip: If a family room is available, request it even if you're a single or couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Haus

Property: Hotel Deutsches Haus
Address: 13 Luderitz Str., Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Deutsches Haus is a cozy three star family orientated and business hotel with free high speed wireless internet excess and an excellent cuisine with daily seasonal specials at the coastal town of Swakopmund. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing