We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room was spacious and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The dinner and lunch was very good. The breakfast from my point of view just average.
The location of the hotel is also just average, but Swakopmund is small enough and safe so you can just walk to all places you want to see.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank AufDerFlucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    67
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
61
52
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

The visit to Hotel Deutsches Haus in Swakopmund was very pleasant and I enjoyed it very much. The food was excellent. The service during breakfast could be improved by telling guests what is available.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Renate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

It is New Years Eve and our family wants a treat. We booked a table in the Rastaurant at Hotel Deutsches Haus for 7 ppl. As we arrive, we are greeted by the Owner & nearly his whole Staff (so it seemed) and we felt like the Royal Family arriving for a Banquet. We were seated and all went well. The Food was EXCELLENT and we never had to ask for service,,,they came regularly around and checked if we were still OK. Our Kids loved the Fish tank in the Foyer and spent most of their time in front of it. About the rest I can't say much..just the Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank PatriciaKayser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Tried to rebook us upon arrival at a cheap alternative and keep the difference on price themselves. Had booked month before. When arrived, was told another guest decided to stay, so they gave away our room. Was during New Years and had extremely limited alternative options.

Rude and unacceptable customer service. Stay clear.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank epak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munkelwitz, Owner at Hotel Deutsches Haus, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Due to our popularity of our hotel, sometimes small glitches may happen,
however we always endeavor to strive and give the best customer service we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked for three ppl & were given a two-floor "apartment" with two bathrooms. Perfect for a family with two grown children just before Christmas. The service & friendliness of the staff was second to none. And the hotel is a close & lovely walk from the beach, shopping, restaurants, and nightlife. Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'd say that this hotel was a solid 3 star accommodation but I'm still disappointed by the fact that they promised us air conditioning in every room and we didn't have a/c. We selected this hotel because of the a/c so it was frustrating that they didn't have it. The room was sufficiently clean but not squeaky clean as there were some stains in the bathroom, breakfast was ok and service was mediocre at best. I think it was mostly in terms of what we had to pay to stay there that i was disappointed in the service overall so I'm somewhere between poor to average all in all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jchavezfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathu, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had dinner on christmas eve and the waiters was extremely friendly. The food was out of this world and surely the best restaurant we have been to in a very long time. We enjoyed it alot and would certainly visit again. Thanks for great service and great great food.

Room Tip: Did not stay there, only had dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lezanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
347 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
350 reviews
1.1 mi away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#11 of 19 in Swakopmund
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Haus

Property: Hotel Deutsches Haus
Address: 13 Luderitz Str., Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Deutsches Haus is a cozy three star family orientated and business hotel with free high speed wireless internet excess and an excellent cuisine with daily seasonal specials at the coastal town of Swakopmund. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing