We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gave away room on a pre-paid reservation” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Deutsches Haus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gave away room on a pre-paid reservation”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Tried to rebook us upon arrival at a cheap alternative and keep the difference on price themselves. Had booked month before. When arrived, was told another guest decided to stay, so they gave away our room. Was during New Years and had extremely limited alternative options.

Rude and unacceptable customer service. Stay clear.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank epak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munkelwitz, Owner at Hotel Deutsches Haus, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Due to our popularity of our hotel, sometimes small glitches may happen,
however we always endeavor to strive and give the best customer service we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    62
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
58
50
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We booked for three ppl & were given a two-floor "apartment" with two bathrooms. Perfect for a family with two grown children just before Christmas. The service & friendliness of the staff was second to none. And the hotel is a close & lovely walk from the beach, shopping, restaurants, and nightlife. Highly recommended!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'd say that this hotel was a solid 3 star accommodation but I'm still disappointed by the fact that they promised us air conditioning in every room and we didn't have a/c. We selected this hotel because of the a/c so it was frustrating that they didn't have it. The room was sufficiently clean but not squeaky clean as there were some stains in the bathroom, breakfast was ok and service was mediocre at best. I think it was mostly in terms of what we had to pay to stay there that i was disappointed in the service overall so I'm somewhere between poor to average all in all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jchavezfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathu, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had dinner on christmas eve and the waiters was extremely friendly. The food was out of this world and surely the best restaurant we have been to in a very long time. We enjoyed it alot and would certainly visit again. Thanks for great service and great great food.

Room Tip: Did not stay there, only had dinner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lezanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

This Great Hotel run by Cynthia and Andreas has some great things to offer
The food coming out of the Restaurant is tremendous, some of the best i have tasted anywhere.
The Owners are very professional and very helpful and friendly.
Very helpful and friendly Restaurant staff.
Reception always available.
Cozy little bar and charming restaurant .
Nice sit out area in quiet area, and only 5 minutes from the beach

Room Tip: try this excellent Hotel, You will Love it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ficksburg, Free State, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

A few weeks ago we traveled to Namibia and decided to stay over at the Hotel. In all the places I stayed before this place was a dream. Being a paraplegic in a wheelchair I had no difficulty moving around and evrything was so comfortable. The food was magnificent and the view picture perfect!! the staff was always helpful and not for a minute did I feel I was in a wheelchair.
I would definitely recommend the Hotel Duetsches to anybody where paraplegic or not!! Thank you to the Management and all the staff for you efforts to make us comforable!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We enjoyed our two night stay very much. All the staff was professional and payed attention to detail. The owners, Andreas and Cynthia was very friendly so was the Manager, Andrew. This all contributed to a relaxed atmosfere. The coffee is outstanding. At time of our dinner, the restaurant was filled to capacity as result of a tour group also having dinner. Despite this, our food arrived as if we were the only couple in the retaurant !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ljmaritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Haus

Property: Hotel Deutsches Haus
Address: 13 Luderitz Str., Swakopmund, Namibia
Phone Number:
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Deutsches Haus is a cozy three star family orientated and business hotel with free high speed wireless internet excess and an excellent cuisine with daily seasonal specials at the coastal town of Swakopmund. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing