We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business stay in Swakopmund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Business stay in Swakopmund”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Hotel Deutsches Haus is clean and well-maintained, with free wifi and breakfast. Great coffee. However, they don't have "Do Not Disturb" signs for the bedroom doors, and I was walked in on by the maid twice (she didn't knock either time). The rooms are also a little cold (no heaters). Dinner at the hotel restaurant was pricey, but food was decent. There are better and cheaper restaurants in town. Also, on my final morning there I was enjoying the sunshine outside and using the internet, and heard the owner (I think??) screaming at the lovely women who work in the kitchen. It's very bad practice to publicly yell at your employees. Probably wouldn't stay here again, as there are many other good options in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tealover79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    62
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
59
50
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windhoek, Windhoek, Namibia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

For a REAL home away from home, I recommend Hotel Deutsches Haus!!! Andreas and Cinty really go out of their way for their guest, or should we say friends:) Thank you for going the extra mile and making every single person feel special. This seldom happens in todays day and age. Top class on all counts!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
185 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Coming for business to Swakopmund, this is my first address. Specially on a Sunday, everything else closed. Nice Resturant, good German kitchen, very good service. Rooms coming a it in the ages....
The baris worth a visit, all in all good, I always come back!

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

Positive : food above average. Good service. Polite well manored staff. Very good lunch box.

Not so great : room has no fan or air conditioner. Rooms could be revamped/upgraded

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeEmge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munkelwitz, Owner at Hotel Deutsches Haus, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
dear mr. m. emge
thank you for your comment , most three star hotels here at the coast don`t have air condition .how ever ,please book a luxury room next time with us , those rooms have air condition .many thanks!
reg. andreas munkelwitz
owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namibia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

Save the Rhino Trust, Namibia regularly use the Hotel Deutsches Haus conference facilities and recently conducted interviews there. The staff are friendly, efficient and helpful and all arrangements carried out according to instruction. We highly recommend their conference and interview facilities as well as their restaurant.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SavetheRhinoTrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I again was in Swakopmund and stayed at my favourite Hotel. The welcome was great, the food was exactly what I like and the stay was great. The hotel now has, I think, 8 new family rooms. We stayed in two.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oshiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed in one of the new rooms at the back. It was very large and well appointed. The beds are very firm. The shower area was all tile, good water flow and drainage. Lots of room for luggage. Very clean. Wifi reached here but barely - one bar only. Nice dining room with excellent breakfast staff. Would stay here again but I would surely check the weather. I can't understand why a new hotel wing would be built with such attention to detail and yet there is no heat in the room or bathroom.

Room Tip: If the weather is cool, get a room in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Deutsches Haus, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
thank you very much for your constructive comment..
all rooms in the new block are with sufficient heaters now.
we sincerely hope seeing you soon again .
many thanks
andreas munkelwitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Haus

Property: Hotel Deutsches Haus
Address: 13 Luderitz Str., Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Deutsches Haus is a cozy three star family orientated and business hotel with free high speed wireless internet excess and an excellent cuisine with daily seasonal specials at the coastal town of Swakopmund. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing