We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay when temps are moderate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
205 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Good stay when temps are moderate”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed in one of the new rooms at the back. It was very large and well appointed. The beds are very firm. The shower area was all tile, good water flow and drainage. Lots of room for luggage. Very clean. Wifi reached here but barely - one bar only. Nice dining room with excellent breakfast staff. Would stay here again but I would surely check the weather. I can't understand why a new hotel wing would be built with such attention to detail and yet there is no heat in the room or bathroom.

Room Tip: If the weather is cool, get a room in the older part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargaretEllen1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel Deutsches Haus, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
thank you very much for your constructive comment..
all rooms in the new block are with sufficient heaters now.
we sincerely hope seeing you soon again .
many thanks
andreas munkelwitz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    64
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
60
50
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelly Beach, South Africa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We spent a pleasant 4 nights at this lovely hotel. It was very well run with friendly efficient staff.
They have an excellent restaurant with very good German food. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. The hotel is well positioned near the centre of Swakopmund and has secure on site parking. We could happily recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Deutsches Haus for a weekend and had a package (Sundowner Escape) that included both breakfasts and one dinner. The price would have been good without the meals, but we couldn’t have done better anywhere in Swakopmund with the meals included!
The rooms were basic but clean. The bathroom had a nice shower with good water pressure. Basic satellite TV, free Wi-Fi and a good sized safe complete the list of amenities.
Given that Swakopmund is a town in the middle of nowhere, making the booking was surprisingly easy. I asked for a double bed, but didn’t get one. I forgot to ask whether this was because they didn’t have one or if it was an oversight. Maybe confirming your choice before you arrive will help.
The staff were friendly, but could have been more knowledgeable about activities in the area. That said, they did their best to be helpful and there are plenty of brochures available in the lobby so that you can do your own research.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay and easy hotel to recommend for a short stay in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BramenKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

My dad arranged for us to stay at Deutshes Haus for our honeymmon ( a tour of Nambia) and it is just fantastic! Andreas is a brilliant hands-on manager who will make a plan for anything you may need. The dinner is a must have, and there are the most adorable twins who serve- you must must must try this restaurant. Our room was spacious and clean, and the beds are wonderful. Definitely a must do in Swakop!

Room Tip: Talk to/ email the manager before arrival- they've added a new block that has GREAT rooms!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great to come back to a Hotel that feels like home.
The welcome from the owners, the lovely room with all its facilities like WiFi and and all modern necessities and the friendly staff really made our stay excellent. As normal, we stayed to eat and to party at the Deutsches Haus and met so many other regulars that frequent this lovely place. Keep it up and I am looking forward to our next visit..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kakamas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Are you looking for a tough steak, matraces like hammocs, ignorant staff and a filthy restaurant? Then do NOT go to Hotel Deutsches Haus! The food is just excellent! The friendly staff makes you feel special. The wide range of the wine selection keeps you in the restaurant - no need to search any further in the lovely Swakopmund. Our toddler enjoyed the special treatment he received.
We missed the swimming pool........
Thank you for the lovely stay in the hotel. we will be back soooooon

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swakomund
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

In todays, day of technology . It is only a pleasure to be greeted at the hotel entrance by the owners / managers. " one feels of royalty ".

The rooms are modern , spacious and immaculately keeped with all the latest techno.

The location is awsome, as one only needs to walk a km or 2 in a safe haven to get to the beachs and some great entertaiment and adventures Swakopmund has on offer.

The hotel has all the amenities one could ask for , being it inside or out on the beautifull terrace

Room Tip: On arrival you will get the best rooms available as the owners / managers are personelly on duty 24...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chucky1234Swakomund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
357 reviews
0.5 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
333 reviews
1.4 mi away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
105 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#10 of 19 in Swakopmund
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Deutsches Haus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Deutsches Haus

Property: Hotel Deutsches Haus
Address: 13 Luderitz Str., Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Deutsches Haus 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Deutsches Haus is a cozy three star family orientated and business hotel with free high speed wireless internet excess and an excellent cuisine with daily seasonal specials at the coastal town of Swakopmund. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hotel Deutsches Haus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing