We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre experience”
Review of Lighthouse Pub & Restaurant - CLOSED

Lighthouse Pub & Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Description: With excellent views of of the Mole and the main beach, we offer good food at a good price-something for everyone!
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Mediocre experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The setting is ideal but the restaurant itself is rather mediocre. The restaurant is grubby and could do with a bit of a revamp. The menus are tatty and some are missing pages, the wine glasses were dirty and new ones had to be requested and the waiting staff needed to be reminded about drink orders. But the portions were large and the food was tasty and reasonably priced which in the end was what we went there for, a good meal at a decent price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    76
    55
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rubiera, Italy
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too expensive for the level”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Our host told us to have dinner here, but it wasn't a good choice.
Portion were huge as often happens in Namibia, but of poor quality.
Besides, the most disappointing issue for us was that people smoke inside the restaurant, just a few meters from the tables.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank idughi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witbank, South Africa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very nice setting and good food.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I rated this as a 7/10 in my trip report, and gave the benefit of the doubt to the Lighthi=ouse by rounding it off upwards.

We had a perfect evening with a great sunset when we had dinner here on our first night. DW had 'fish and chips', which was a huge portion at a very reasonable, while I had kingklip which is my favorite fish. The food was well prepared and the service was excellent. If you reserve a seat, you will have an amazing view of the sun setting. Well worth the money spent.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank safrican4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food, lively crowd”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had local seafood, and enjoyed it very much!
Prices are reasonable, wait staff is accommodating. We were there during a busy holiday week, and had 16 people in our group. We sat at 2 tables. Waitresses came over right away to take drink orders, followed by dinner orders. Local seafood is a must here!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Wren4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windhoek, Namibia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic vibe”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

great view, nice vibe and excellent pizzas. you can try this place it is worth your while. good service and nice menu.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank deone n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Pub & Restaurant also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing