We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious breakfast; walkable, central location”
Review of Hotel Eberwein

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Eberwein
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Much of Swakopmund -- and this hotel is no exception -- feels so much like a quaint German seaside town that you can forget you're even in Africa. It's a very odd experience, but a memorable one, at least. The hotel itself has an old-fashioned, Old World charm to it that many would appreciate... although it also felt a bit like I was staying in my grandmother's house. Next time I will probably choose a place with a younger or more modern vibe to it. But I loved the extensive breakfast bar here with breads, cereals, five different kinds of marmalade/jam, gourmet cheeses and salamis, and fruit -- as well as the option to order hot eggs or oatmeal made to order. All in all, everything was clean, comfortable, and centrally located -- with excellent service -- so we had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elephantist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (117)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 117 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

This was my fifth visit to Hotel Eberwein and each time I promise myself that I will return. The rooms are spacious, extremely clean and the staff is very helpful. The property is located near the town centre, secure parking is provided and their breakfast is a treat. Don't just stay for one night.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the corner rooms for space, or one of the back rooms if you prefer not to hear the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is an old hotel like so many hotels in Swakopmund. This one however has been kept in excellent condition and is very clean and all new linen and lovely furniture. It is not dated like the others. The entrance reminds you of a traditional European hotel. Its beautiful and romantic.

The hotel is not near the beach, but is within walking distance of the old town, not too far from the beach. The rooms although the still have the old tube TV's are well equipped and very comfortable. The breakfast is nice and there is a meat salad that is very delicious. On the second morning we had an issue with the breakfast, but the management were so quick to react to the issue, that it did not distract from the enjoyment of the trip. I am not sure if they do offer accommodation only, but there are plenty places in town that serve lovely breakfasts and coffee and I would suggest wandering into town to get breakfast.

I had a look at some of the other rooms while I was there and it seems that each one has a different feature. Some of the others had bigger and better showers than ours which we would have preferred over the larger room and balcony in our room. There is no swimming pool in the hotel that I saw.

Overall this is a very good value hotel and well managed.

Room Tip: Don't bet on the more expensive room having what you want, ask Nicole if you prefer a bigger sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grennie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Went in 2011 on Honeymoon. Very helpful staff. Room was large with very high celings and typical old architecture. TV a bit dodgy but we didn't bother much with that anyway. Minibar always stocked, champagne, flowers and chocolates laid on. A very beautiful hotel and worth every cent, although reasonably priced considering we stayed in the Honeymoon Suite. Busyish main road but it's a small town, so not too bad at night. Would love to go back and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny Laufs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Very nice hotel near the centre of town and within easy walking distance of the beach. The rooms are large, well appointed, comfortable and very, very clean as is the whole hotel. Only minor grumble is the traffic noise in the road facing rooms but fortunately traffic gets very quiet late at night.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank TR42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

It was my second visit to Eberwein and I was just as pleased this time. I always get quick and friendly reply's on my emails so booking is easy and efficient.
It is an old but nicely renovated hotel in Jugend style situated a little bit off the coast and center but not too long for both being within walking distance.
Last time I stayed in one of the old rooms in the original building and this time in the newly added annex. There is not a big difference. Rooms are not big but well equipped and comfortable.
Breakfast is very good with efficient and very friendly kitchen staff.
Overall this is a decently prized, small, friendly and cosy hotel, nicely situated on the main road and with walking distance to shops, restaurants and the beech.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anders E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hotel Eberwein is a warm and friendly hotel with old-time charm and modern amenities. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was fabulous. The only draw back was the lack of WiFi. While it did exist, it did not in the room itself. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.5 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
406 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Swakopmund Hotel
Swakopmund Hotel
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#10 of 19 in Swakopmund
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pension A la Mer
Hotel Pension A la Mer
#13 of 19 in Swakopmund
111 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
Beach Lodge Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eberwein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eberwein

Address: Corner of Sam Nujoma Ave & Otavi Streets | Right in the Center of Town, Swakopmund, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Swakopmund
Price Range: $94 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Eberwein 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Villa Wille" now called Hotel Eberwein is a historic building, offers individually designed rooms where the Victorian style has been preserved. Enjoy distinguished luxury in the honey moon, Standard or Victorian Rooms. Situated right in the heart of Swakopmund walking distances to all shops, restaurants and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Eberwein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing