We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 49 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodation”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Although we wanted to book a B+B room, we ended up staying at the Atlantic apartment; which was superb. The apartment has 3 bedrooms, so for the 2 of us it was incredibly spacious. It was clean and modern, and had great views over the ocean. There is a private garage for your car, and a small garden out front.
The main guesthouse was a 10 minute walk away, and this was where we checked in and had breakfast. Check-in was thorough and informative, breakfast was up to normal Namibian standards with a good cold buffet and cooked option.
The apartment is right on the seafront, but a good 15 minute walk to the town centre.
Probably the only slight down side is that both of our two nights were disturbed by noise at some point, the first night by music (possible from the beach bar, even though it's a good 500m down the coast), and the second by the neighboring apartment who seemed not to go to sleep at all.
Neither of these niggles stopped us having a great stay.

Swakopmund always felt safe at all times and is generally very tourist friendly; but do be prepared for a bit of hassle if you venture to the 'Hawkers Market'. The market had a really good range of carvings etc., but you have to haggle to avoid over paying, and with so many stalls selling similar stuff, most stall holders end up disappointed.

Room Tip: The Atlantic Apartment is great if you don't mind walking or driving to breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    64
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
251
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2014

When we unintentionally locked one of our party on the balcony with his head in a book and locked up and went for breakfast at the guesthouse they instantly saw the amusing side to the predicament and offered to quickly go and release him - and they did! My daughter will not hesitate to rebook for her next business trip and we heartily recommend the apartment and the breakfast! It was good to hear music playing too over breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 842kateh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Cork Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Had a very relaxing stay at this ideally located accommodation. Very easy to walk into town from here. The rooms are very pleasant. The biscuits in the room were sensational. The breakfast was a delight. Nothing was too much trouble for Peter and his staff adding to a very enjoyable stay.a

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcorktravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a beautiful little b&b run by the charming Peter and his staff (believe his wife was having a well earned holiday). Our room was very comfortable with large sitting room area and a good sized bathroom. As soon as we checked in Peter gave us a mobile phone for use in emergency - a lovely gesture. Bettina booked all our restaurants prior to our visit and even went the extra mile by changing our restaurant choices around so that we could get window table at one of our chosen venues. Needed a new lock for my suitcase and Peter highlighted all the possible shops where we could purchase replacement. Would definitely recommend and return to this well kept, well run and spotlessly clean establishment. Thank you Peter for your hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haggisbasher48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I loved the 'Lavender Theme' to this wonderful stopping off place for the weary traveller, the reception area is bright and clean, the owners are very helpful and it was no trouble for the receptionist to book us a table at the 'TUG Restaurant' for that evening.The room was fully equipped with all essentials for our comfort, a lovely safe garden area with remote keys for the gates. For our convenience and should we need to get in touch with the any of the staff 'out of hours' we were issued with a mobile phone. There were so many lovely little extra touches to make the guests feel really wanted and nothing seems too much trouble, I'd left some personal laundry hanging to dry in the shower, to find on my return they have been tumbled dried and neatly folded for me...what service !

Room Tip: All rooms were of an exceptional standard with a small seating area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly Wally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our family of four (with two kids) stayed here one night and were very pleased with every aspect. Our family room had plenty of space. There was a main bedroom plus a separate sitting area with a third bed; a fourth bed was placed in the wide hall between the sitting area and small kitchen. This would be a great home base for a family staying several days in the area. The location was perfect, only a few blocks from various restaurants and shops. The breakfast here had a wide variety of choices. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: The family room has plenty of space, with a separate living room and small kitchen. A third and four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathysjourneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

From the entrance you enter a wonderful friendly safe world of comfort and style. Immaculate rooms and facilities.
A perfect location and walking distance to all of the towns activities and eateries.
The breakfast was to everybody's taste.
Our host Peter was friendly and informative.

Room Tip: Accommodates family and couples comfortably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janer225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
328 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
373 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
339 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 49 in Swakopmund
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
#2 of 35 in Swakopmund
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guesthouse

Property: Cornerstone Guesthouse
Address: 40 Hendrik Witbooi st, Swakopmund 9999, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small, private and peaceful bed and breakfast an easy walk to the sea and the town centre of Swakopmund on Namibia's fascinating Skeleton Coast.Occupying a quiet corner of Swakopmund's old town near the marine museum and the old brewery, Cornerstone Guesthouse offers the charm and intimacy of a family-run B&B combined with the modern amenities of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornerstone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing