We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT B & B!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 50 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A GREAT B & B!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I can only reinforce all the positive comments already written on trip advisor about this great little B&B. Whilst we enjoyed some great accommodation in Namibia, this one probably topped the lot. Staff were extremely relaxed, friendly and helpful and we felt very much at home there. It is in a great location, within walking distance to the town. As for their breakfasts ..amazing! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Cornerstone Guesthouse to anyone ... you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanMH5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    64
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
251
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

have nothing bad to say about the appartment - it was beautiful. I recommend you stay 2-3 nights. It is very close to the jetty. You could not possibly be dissapointed. The apprtment is very good for families as it has 3 bedrooms

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrmackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This is really a very good BB, where the staff and owners are very efficient, friendly, and helpful.
They immediately assisted with reservation of boattours, gave us all information about the little town, where to eat etc., made reservation in the restaurant.
All in all really a place where we felt immediately at home.
We had a super big room with a kitchen and dining room, the living room with Tv was very spacious, bedroom very, very comfortable and the bathroom very nice.
The breakfast was very, very good, they remembered the next day how we wanted our coffee etc., a small touch that is very pleasant.
The location of the BB is excellent, for going into town (everything in walking distance), or ifcyou want to make some selfdrive tours, immediately around the corner of the road to Waalvis Baai.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meitie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I recently spent one night at Cornerstone Guesthouse and could not have been more pleased. The room was clean and comfortable. The service was excellent and ranged from making dinner reservations, to providing an early breakfast before we had to head out. We highly recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJH798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

And a nice change to the lodges. Our spacious corner room (6) was spotless and very well equipped. It had a fridge, kettle with tea, coffee etc, the only cafetiere we saw in Namibia, a TV (with Ashes cricket!), a heater, a small safe, a genuinely international power socket as well as a Namibian one, a spacious sitting area, an outside table and chairs, a great shower in the bathroom which also had 2 sinks, good wifi in the room and outside, laundry service. We were warmly greeted by Bettina. The staff are all very helpful, offering restaurant suggestions and making reservations. They were able to give us breakfast a little early as we were booked on a kayaking trip. The garden is very pretty and there's secure parking for about 4 cars. We were loaned a phone for emergencies but it was good to know that one can wander about Swakopmund safely even after dark. Presumably there are problems of thefts from cars if the prevalence of 'car guards' in town is anything to go by. We think, but can't be sure, that we were overcharged for petrol in the Total garage in town. We don't know how it was done but you might be advised to check that the pump is set to zero before they start filling your tank

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helenc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

What charming people run this quality B&B... Swakopmund is an interesting place to visit on every level, but returning to this delightful guesthouse was always a pleasure. The attention to detail is important to the owners and it shows, always friendly and willing to offer help and advice. We had a small apartment which was a surprise and had more than enough space for our needs - the laundry service was much appreciated as was the excellent breakfast, which was served in a dining room on a level with most expensive restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blacktiger1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have travelled quite extensively over the past few years and in my opinion, this guesthouse came out tops as far as facilities and service is concerned - well done Peter, you have the personality to make everybody feel so welcome and special and your decor is so refreshing. You also went out of your way to ensure that you had our dietary requirements for breakfast. We will certainly be back, and can recommend your guesthouse to everybody - keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marijke N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
344 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
385 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
348 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 50 in Swakopmund
315 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
#2 of 37 in Swakopmund
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guesthouse

Property: Cornerstone Guesthouse
Address: 40 Hendrik Witbooi st, Swakopmund 9999, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small, private and peaceful bed and breakfast an easy walk to the sea and the town centre of Swakopmund on Namibia's fascinating Skeleton Coast.Occupying a quiet corner of Swakopmund's old town near the marine museum and the old brewery, Cornerstone Guesthouse offers the charm and intimacy of a family-run B&B combined with the modern amenities of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornerstone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing