We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm, professional service with comfortable rooms in nice garden setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 48 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Warm, professional service with comfortable rooms in nice garden setting”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Hardly possible to find a better place in Swakopmund. 5-star service, hospitality and comfort receivd all staff members - including the owner - in a family-type lication. Excellent breakfast in a brillantly arranged setting. Has its own, protected parking. Have chosen this location thanks to TripAdvisor as our Travel agency was going to book us in one of the best local hotels. We have definitely taken the right decision and can wholeheartedly recommend the Cornerstone Guesthouse.

Room Tip: Maybe room no. 1 (what we had and which next to kitchen/reception) has a smaller patio than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Werner B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    60
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
84
243
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Finland, Finland
Level Contributor
187 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Swakopmund is not a large town so any place to stay would be convenient for the casual visitor. The hosts at the Cornerstone Guesthouse were very welcoming and the service was fine, polite and efficient. The room we stayed in was clean and tidy and the bed very comfortable. Parking was a slight problem since their enclosed and secure car park was only suitable for 3 vehicles so with 5 rooms two guests could be leaving their vehicles on the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEITH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the cornerstone guesthouse for 2 nights between the dunes and the dessert.
Room was large, immaculately clean and well equipped. The staff were great, especially helping us get our credit cards unblocked!! Also they got up early to ensure we could have a proper breakfast before setting out on a kayaking trip. They also provided us with an emergency contact phone to staff for any problems.
Laundry was quick and efficient.
The rooms and location are great but it is the service which really makes this place stand out.
This is small luxury hotel quality without the pomp.
Thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmansal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Cornerstone Guesthouse is well located in Swakopmund. It's very calm and quiet place. The Rooms are spacious very clean and have everything you need (Safe, Fridge etc.). The Owners are very helpful and friendly - Thank you ! The Breakfast was one of the best we had in Namibia - just outstanding ! Parking is free and secure. Strong recommendation !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wurzelreiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
196 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Thank you Peter and Bettina for your help in making my stay enjoyable. Rooms are small but comfortable. No a/c but not needed. Free wifi which worked very well. Very good breakfasts. Good location. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Semelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Swkopmund is a pleasant town and not one in which to linger. But it's a good stopping place on the coast between north and south Namibia, and the Cornerstone Guesthouse is the place to stay. It is within easy reach of the centre of town, yet quiet and peaceful and with secure parking. It is very well managed, comfortably and attractively furnished and provides a very good breakfast. When we visited in November 2010 we were made very welcome and felt well looked after.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Highgate43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We arrived at the Cornerstone Guesthouse after a long drive from Sossusvlei and were met and welcomed by Pieter. He told us where the best 'watering holes' were and also made a few recommendations for dinner - The Tug - Delicious seafood overlooking the Atlantic ocean and 22 Degrees - yummy Italian food. Our only regret was not listening to Pieter on his recommendations for our day trip the following day. He recommended going out for the Living Desert tour, but having sat in a car for 6 hours, we decided to go on the boat trip to see the seals, dolphins and pelicans. Although still lovely, as he said, you can see that anywhere!! Nevermind, we still had a super time in Swakopmund and particularly at the Cornerstone Guesthouse. Lovely and clean, Bettina was great in booking our boat trip; delicious breakfasts. Thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 132Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
241 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#4 of 19 in Swakopmund
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
283 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meike's Guesthouse
Meike's Guesthouse
#2 of 48 in Swakopmund
270 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 48 in Swakopmund
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guesthouse

Property: Cornerstone Guesthouse
Address: 40 Hendrik Witbooi st, Swakopmund 9999, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small, private and peaceful bed and breakfast an easy walk to the sea and the town centre of Swakopmund on Namibia's fascinating Skeleton Coast.Occupying a quiet corner of Swakopmund's old town near the marine museum and the old brewery, Cornerstone Guesthouse offers the charm and intimacy of a family-run B&B combined with the modern amenities of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornerstone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing