We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Swakupmund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Ranked #1 of 48 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Swakupmund”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

We stayed for three nights at Atlantic Sicht and it was fabulous.

From the greeting on arrival by the staff at Cornerstone to departure nothing was too much trouble and them apartment superb. Overlooking the beach, walking distance to town and with every facility you could possibly need.

Beautifully furnished with clear lines an absolute joy to relax and recharge in readiness for more of Namibia.

Thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    60
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
85
243
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fenstanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

If traveling from the UK think of the Cornerstone more as a boutique hotel that does nor serve dinner and you will not be far wrong. Excellent staff that provide a great concierge service that would put most five star hotels to shame. Nothing is to much trouble! The detail in every aspect is thoughtful and almost perfect. Would have no hesitation in recommending here as a base in Swakopmund.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NigelFerrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

Cornerstone is in a perfect location and very comfortable! The room details were lovely, lavender embroidery on the pillows and other decorations. We had a very pleasant 2-night stay here. The staff couldn't have been more helpful, especially when I needed ice for a foot injury and couldn't find any. A staff member went out of her way, and brought me a bag of ice. Breakfast is delicious and abundant. If you stay here, we strongly recommend taking a short walk to dine at Oceans Basket. Though not on the water, the food is delicious, not expensive, and so worth it!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2011

Watch out if you are thinking of booking one of the sea-facing apartments. We experienced a hideous smell which the owner said was produced by the questionable use of 'treated' water on the grass in front of the apartment. He offered refund if we went elsewhere, but the town being heavily booked and us being weary after a long day's drive, we decided to stick it out, hoping things would improve. They did not. The apartment was clean and spacious and otherwise fine.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Biblioswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornerstone123, Owner at Cornerstone Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
Firstly, it is regrettable that the guests have had a bad experience .Swakopmund being a desert town and enviromentaly sensitive, has a water recycling process. This water is used on all the Municipal gardens all over the town, of which some are in front of An der Mole. From time to time the water can be smelt by a sensitive nose when the sprinklers are on. The solution to the problem is to close the sprinklers when there is an offensive smell which is easily done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

I was booked here by a travel service as part of an off season self-drive tour of Namibia with two friends, and arrived after 3 days in the southern part of the country. After days in the desert and a long drive across the country, this property was a welcome relief. The owner and staff were very accomodating, and the property itself was at perhaps the highest state of cleanliness I have seen in southern and central Africa. Once inside my room, nobody disturbed me and there was relatively little outside noise. The included breakfast was good. It is apparent that the owner takes a personal interest in the upkeep and running of this property, and it shows. I would stay here again without any hesitation if back in the area.

Room Tip: each room seemed to have a slightly different layout and design... if multiple rooms are open, you m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B4R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornerstone123, Owner at Cornerstone Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 2, 2012
We try and remain humble when given good reviews but your comparison on clenliness is huge. Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We very much enjoyed our one night stay in Cornerstone Guesthouse as a break of our journey between Damaraland and Namib desert. We particularly noted efficient and friendly service, complimentary Wi-Fi, good quality towels, TV, fridge, tea facilities with complimentary biscottis in a room that is tastefully decorated in a lavender theme, nice breakfast, lovely garden and secure parking.

Our activities in the area included a delicious fish lunch in the Fishy Corner (behind FNB bank) in Henties Bay, visit seal colony at Cape Cross (amazing site but prepare yourself for noise and stench) and another delicious fish dinner at the Tag (5 min walk from the Guesthouse, book a table in advance to enjoy the best views).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulchiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

We stayed for only one night at Cornerstone and wish we could have spent longer. It was far better value and quality than virtually all the accomodation we had experienced while travelling the tourist route in Namibia. Staff were very helpful with booking tours, arranging cleaning of our rental car, good suggestions for places to eat (Robyn did a great job). Room was spotless, and the garden beautiful - it was a lovely place to unwind after two weeks of mainly rough accomodation. Cornerstone is pleasantly quiet but within easy walking distance of town. A great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scamp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meike's Guesthouse
Meike's Guesthouse
#2 of 48 in Swakopmund
5.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 48 in Swakopmund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guesthouse

Property: Cornerstone Guesthouse
Address: 40 Hendrik Witbooi st, Swakopmund 9999, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small, private and peaceful bed and breakfast an easy walk to the sea and the town centre of Swakopmund on Namibia's fascinating Skeleton Coast.Occupying a quiet corner of Swakopmund's old town near the marine museum and the old brewery, Cornerstone Guesthouse offers the charm and intimacy of a family-run B&B combined with the modern amenities of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornerstone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing