We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault a thing...excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cornerstone Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 50 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Can't fault a thing...excellent”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We have just had the normal 2 night stay in Swakopmund and chose a guesthouse rather than a hotel, and what a great choice Cornerstone was. Robyn and Peter were as helpful as could be wished for, even to the extent of providing a cell phone if we needed to contact them at any time during our stay. The rooms, each with its own patio, were clean, light and airy and far better than most hotels. Amenities include tea, instant coffee and freshly ground coffee. Fresh flowers in the room and a shared garden which looks manicured it is so well maintained (pictures added as proof). Breakfast was a wide selection of juices, cereals, meats and cheeses and then eggs and bacon to follow.
Cornerstone is situated a couple of hundred metres from the main streets of Swakopmund and hence quiet for your stay but within easy walking distance of the many restaurants and cafes. There is secure parking for cars although the location appears to be very safe and we had no concerns walking back late at night from the local restaurants.
Overall an excellent rating from us and well worth the recommendation.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhubarb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    64
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
91
251
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

We spent 2 nights there on our recent 2 week trip to Namibia.The guesthouse is only a few blocks from shopping and restaurants and with a large parking area we were able to leave our car there for our whole stay
Robyn at the front desk was very helpful and friendly . She made suggestions about restaurants and assisted in making dinner reservations and giving us info on the various tours available.Peter,the owner,runs this establishment in a thoroughly professional way and we enjoyed chatting with him
Breakfast was substantial and delicious with many yummy kinds of bread
The rooms are large and set in a lovely garden with a large verandah.The units are very comfortable and fully equipped with a frig and tea and coffee making facilities.As an added bonus they had small french press coffee makers with fresh ground coffee.I really appreciated that

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We were delighted by our recent stay at the Cornerstone Guesthouse.

The front desk staff speedily provided us with extra bedding in the comfortable room assigned to us, in spite of our late arrival.
Peter went above and beyond normal hospitality when we had trouble with our rental car - and co-ordinated the installation of a new battery early on a Sunday morning! Breakfast was delicious, the guesthouse is spotless, and there are lovely, lavender filled gardens.
On our next visit to Swakopmund the Cornerstone will be our first choice!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Peter is the perfect host. He was helping us for all kind of questions, recomending activities and helped us to find the best route to our next lodge. Rooms are elegante and comfortable. Breakfast is rich and very good. Also here Peter was present. A wonderful guesthouse, close to beach and center.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WernerSuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

Recently stayed at the Cornerstone Guesthouse and have only positive things to say about it. We rented one of their apartments for one night. It had a view of the ocean and was quite luxurious. The 2nd night we spent in their guesthouse. Professional and comfortable service which was nice. Central location so you could walk to shops and restaurants.

The breakfast included eggs (any way you like them), juice, a cheese and lunchmeat tray and more.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Lovely welcome (off street parking), beautiful little garden attracting in the birds, beautiful rooms with a small patio area, table and chair. Truly wonderful breakfast. Coffee maker in the room with fresh coffee, cafetiere and rusks. We came here after the desert, so really felt as if we had made it to the oasis. I wasn't well during our stay, and Peter could not have been kinder or more thoughtful. I was so comfy, I soon recovered. We used this as a base for a boat trip from Walvis Bay to see the dolphins, which was a great trip. Dune boarding, kayak trips and drives into the desert all on offer locally. Also good choice of restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Great guesthouse with a lovely staff and a very helpful owner. Rooms are big with their own little living room and nicely decorated . Location is ideal, in the heart of swakop, just a few metres from the beach, bars and restaurants. It feels like being at home. Only negative aspec, our stay was too short !! Not to mention the delicious breakfast. Well done guys !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Localers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.6 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
329 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
339 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
Sea Breeze Guesthouse
#3 of 50 in Swakopmund
311 reviews
0.4 mi away
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
Swakopmund Luxury Suites
#2 of 35 in Swakopmund
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Guesthouse

Property: Cornerstone Guesthouse
Address: 40 Hendrik Witbooi st, Swakopmund 9999, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cornerstone Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornerstone Guesthouse is a small, private and peaceful bed and breakfast an easy walk to the sea and the town centre of Swakopmund on Namibia's fascinating Skeleton Coast.Occupying a quiet corner of Swakopmund's old town near the marine museum and the old brewery, Cornerstone Guesthouse offers the charm and intimacy of a family-run B&B combined with the modern amenities of a luxury hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cornerstone Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing