We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome German Food”
Review of Erich's Restaurant

Erich's Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 77 Restaurants in Swakopmund
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Awesome German Food”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I've had the best Oryx Cordon Blue here. Traditional German food also available and it is top quality. Will definitely go again and can highly recommend. A bit pricey but worth every cent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ryno v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    64
    29
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Butter, butter and more butter”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Booked this restaurant on the recommendation of the place we are staying in Swakopmund.
Sadly we did not enjoy our experience here at all.
For Starters: Hubby ordered 6 fresh oysters (served on ice) and they were wonderful.
I ordered the trio of 6 oysters: 2 fresh, which were delightful - the other 4 cooked - 2 with garlic and way too much butter and 2 with spinach and way too much cheese.
For Mains: The female server gave the impression she really did not want to be there... and was either unable or unwilling to explain what the catch of the day was.
Despite that I decided to try it - and wish I had not - all I could taste was butter.
The fish flavour was totally lost. It was a HUGE amount of fish (3 pieces), of which I could only manage just 1 piece. The fish was accompanied with boiled potato, again with too much butter. But I preferred the potato to the fish!
My husband ordered sole. Again because of the oily cooking process it was too hard to taste the delicate fish...plus he was given a huge bowl on the side of a buttery sauce - which he did not even touch at all.
Very loud crowd .....a very noisy restaurant .....with lots of smokers (including staff members) puffing away right outside the entry way. Not pleasant at all for non smokers.
To me - not worth the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ChevronInParadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swakopmund, Namibia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delightful experience”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

In this restaurant, when the maitre d' comes round to ask, "Is everything to your liking?" she actually waits for and listens to your answer.
We will definitely return.
The food is beautifully prepared and presented.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CeciliaCummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, Wiltshire
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT IN ALL RESPECTS”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I do not usually write restaurant reviews, but this one was so good I felt it necessary to do so.

From the moment one walked in the service was excellent. Staff were plentiful, each its own task and they followed in logical succession. The timing was perfect - one was neither rushed not left waiting - eye contact was easily achieved and was responded to immediately. The menu was extensive, from vegetarian through fist to meat. The dessert menu was less so, bit still had a significant range.

On three occasions we were asked our opinion and on two one really felt that our views were important. The owner and senior manager were both eating there - always a good sign in my opinion - and Pieter (the owner) engaged in a very pleasant exchange. I had lobster soup, followed by an Oryx steak which was succulent, tender and very tasty finished off by a Coup Danmark. Jean had a breaded goats chees with peach ragout, followed by a fish curry. All was washed down by a bottle of white wine and a litre of sparkling water - all for the price of NS650 including tip (approx £36). The venue was European looking, tastefully decorated and clean.

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and warmly recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Dissappointing for New Year's Eve”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

We had good reviews of the restaurant so booked a day in advance. We were given a horrible table by the kitchen, service was slack but it be fair the restaurant was busy. Not the ideal place for New Year's Eve. Dissapointing!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amrita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erich's Restaurant also viewed

Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
Swakopmund, Erongo Region
 

Been to Erich's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing