We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, centrally located.”
Review of Brigadoon B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brigadoon B&B
Ranked #12 of 52 Swakopmund B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a very good B&B and will be unlikely to disappoint. The rooms are basic but comfortable and have TV (we'd not seen one for a while!). The gardens are attractive and they serve breakfast on the patio in front of your room. It is an easy walk to everywhere in central Swakopmund. Can't say we found a rstaurant nearby that we'd recommend but there are many places and we were probably unlucky.

They did our laundry at a very reasonable price - much appreciated after a couple of weeks of travel.

As everywhere in Namibia the people were very nice - helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 217 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

This stay was one of many on our recent world journey..The rooms were extreemly comfortable , clean & tastefully decorated.It was a delight to be served a real English breakfast on our balcony overlooking a nice garden setting.Kathleen was most helpful without being intrusive & even offered to make our restaurant reservations for the evenings.The locaion is an easy walk to all major points of interest & whilst not on the beach is only a few minutes walk.Whilst Brigadoon is classed a B & B I have stayed in many 4 star hotels of lesser quality. Noel & Young R .Australia

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noelrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Brigadoon for only one night, and i wont say the stay was earthshatteringly memorable, in the sense that they don't have some picture postcard views from their rooms that you can keep looking at. However, as an upmarket B&B, it is quietly efficient. The room we stayed in was quite spacious and clean, so was the bathroom. Yes, there was no door to the bathroom, but then that was the case in most of the places we stayed in Namibia. We were just the two of us (me and my wife), and it was not really 'open', so we didn't have any problem with that. Breakfast was served next day on the deck outside the door. It was lovely, the food was good, and the Chef came out to meet us and ask if all was well. It was a nice homely touch which gave us a feeling of warmth.
As far as the location is concerned, though I did say it doesn't have rooms with terrific 'sea-views', yet, the place is conveniently located, and you can walk down to the beach in 5 mins, or go to the town-centre in 10. Kathleen was also very helpful when we wanted to clarify our doubts as to what places we could go to in the limited time that we had, and also with information about banks,etc (for forex). They also have wi-fi with decent speed, for those of you who are interested.
Overall, a very pleasant, hassle-free stay. However, if I have to stay for more than a night or two, probably this place will not make the cut, but that is only because I don't like to stay at a place where I can't see much from my window (especially when I am on a holiday!).

Room Tip: if you can, try and avoid the rooms next to the main entry gate. Its quite common for inconsiderate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ani_wantstotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The best boutique B&B in Swakopmund because it's the only one. The small rooms are OK for one night but if you stay longer try for something bigger. The shabby chic decor is past its sell by date in Europe and just makes a room look tired and unclean. Time to get back to something sensible we think. No door to the bathroom in our room is just a designer folly which will test your relationship. Breakfast is excellent but it's only available on the deck outside your room. Would you really want breakfast out doors at home when it's overcast and 10C? No I thought not and it spoils good food by having to eat wrapped in fleece and blanket. The rooms have heaters but they are not effective for the spring temperatures so don't expect to be warm. Kathleen and her team are great but they really need to get a lot of things sorted before this rises above average. Chilled? You will be if it's cold in Swakop!

Room Tip: Get the biggest you can if you are taller than 1m. Check the towels since many are falling apart.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Typhoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed in the smallest room at Brigadoon yet it was comfortable. Brigadoon is an upmarket B&B, modern, clean and a stroll away from the centre of town and beach. The service is excellent, non-intrusive and appropriate. The towels were a bit shabby but a new consignment arrived as we departed. Really nice to start the day with breakfast on your patio. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dasilvam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Kathleen and her team at the Brigadoon looked after us very well, we had forgotten to tell her about an early start for some excursions, and when they realised in the morning they put all hands to the pumps to get our breakfast (very good by the way) served on our deck/patio in the garden in time for our departure. Brilliant. The rooms are modern comfortable and to a high standard. The bathrooms in some of the rooms do not have doors, they are sort of open plan but not in your face, so as long as you are cool with that then you will very enjoyable stay as we did as a family group. August 2012. Would recommend: it is a good location and very pleasant.

Room Tip: Have a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rich_sv650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here in May 2012 for 3 nights. Our room was situated in the garden and so we were able to eat breakfast outside each morning, which was excellent by the way with very friendly and helpful staff. The room was spacious, modern and very clean and it had a fridge. The reception area was in the process of being refurbished, but that didn't present us with any discomfort. Brigadoon is a boutique B&B very close to the seafront where there are good places to have lunch, as well as being situated a few minutes walk from the banks, post office and shops. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on hopefully another trip to Swakopmund in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Choose a room located in the garden area, rather than one of the rooms by the side entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tufter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
0.8 mi away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#6 of 19 in Swakopmund
297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
Strand Hotel Swakopmund
#2 of 19 in Swakopmund
432 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Delight Swakopmund
The Delight Swakopmund
#1 of 19 in Swakopmund
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
Swakopmund Plaza Hotel
#7 of 19 in Swakopmund
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#12 of 19 in Swakopmund
75 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hansa Hotel
Hansa Hotel
#3 of 19 in Swakopmund
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brigadoon B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brigadoon B&B

Address: 16 Ludwig Koch Street | P O Box 1930, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Location: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Swakopmund
Price Range: $128 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brigadoon B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located to town and restuarants, 100m from Swakopmund's main beach. Modern suites with patios in tranquil garden setting. Bed and full English breakfast served on private patios. New conference facility to accommodate 20 delegates. Free wifi access and satellite TV. Secure off street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brigadoon B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing