We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning views, fantastic place & great hosts, what more could you want?”
Review of Libelula

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nacala
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Libelula
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“stunning views, fantastic place & great hosts, what more could you want?”
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Really relaxing place to stay, very good food, stayed in the dorm, very comfortable.....and it has fans to keep you cool plus mozzie nets. Diving on the doorstep, brand new kit too. No long boat trips just walk into the water. We were also lucky enough to be there the same time as the whales.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andynwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
12
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

We had an awesome stay at this amazing place. The place itself is great, the view is magnificent, the beach, the cozy swimming people. Scubadiving was great, with so many underwater life, colorful fish. But most important of all was the people, Ian and PJ are great! Thanks so much for all, and all the best!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amostrinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We are a couple with a ten year old daughter and stayed four nights in Libelula. The A-shaped family lodge was good value for money, even without hot water (there are shared hot showers). Our daughter enjoyed her own bed upstairs as much as playing with the dogs. Because of my lenght the mosquitonet was immediately adjusted by Ian on the second day. The food was great and there was enough choice for four days. Although the lodge is not on the beach (you have to go down 50 meters), we did not find that a problem. The small private beach is lovely and the swimming and snorkling is excellent. Ian and PJ manage to create a very relaxed atmosphere, but do not compromise on service.

Jan, Martie and Bo.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janenmartie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ameide, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 20, 2010

We've stayed for a total of 5 nights at Libelula and it's an oasis of peace and beauty,
The food, the beach and diving were fantastic!
It's a pity that getting there isn't easy when you live in Europe, otherwise I could spend every weekend over there ;-)
A special thank to the owners, PJ and Ian who have made our stay unforgettable!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ameide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malawi
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2010

Just got back from Mozambique, we spent 6 nights in this paradise spot. The sunsets were absolutely stunning, the private beach was spotless and provided excellent snorkeling in the bay. The choice of rooms will suit any budget. Ian and PJ (the owners) work tirelessly ensuring that you have the best possible experience during your stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Just a brief note to say that our experience in Libelula was great, I really appreciated the hospitality and kidness of its owners, the special and little details that certainly made a difference compared to other places, making our stay pleasant and relaxing. I really appreciated the cleanliness of the rooms and the resort in general in a place sorrounded by such a wild vegetation, and I loved all the meals so carefully cooked.
It is a lost piece of paradise in a lost place, the way you run the place is absolutely fantastic and admirable.
I loved the snorkling and the trip excursion.
Thanks for everything.
Olga - Madrid (Spain)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed with PJ for only three or was it four days but wished we could have stayed longer. She was running it on her own so warned us of a limited service but then completely outdid herself with excellent attentive, friendly service, fantastic food, and even a wild evening in Nacala thrown into the bargain.

I would truly recommend this place to everyone, a great atmosphere is created from the lovely, genuine hospitality of the owners PJ and Ian. The location is stunning with a 180 vista over the amazing marine park. And a private beach with shoreside snorkelling as well as a lovely fresh water pool makes this a very comfortable place to relax for more than a few days.

The diving promises to be just as professionally run once it is up and running and I can't say enough how much we enjoyed our time here. Thank you to PJ who not only made us feel incredibly welcome and catered for our every need she even picked us up a few days later when travelling from Isla de Mozambique as she spotted us on the back of a pick-up truck as she was driving past.

All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Redkelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nacala
0.0 mi away
Nacala Plaza Business Design Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#4 of 6 in Nacala
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nuarro Lodge
Nuarro Lodge
#1 of 1 in Memba
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Oceano
Hotel Oceano
#3 of 6 in Nacala
24 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Libelula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Libelula

Property: Libelula
Address: Talhao 60 | Bairro de Muzuane, Nacala, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Nampula Province > Nacala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Nacala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach on the Bay of Nacala, we offer sunset views every night and stunning bay vistas. We are the closest beach lodge to the new Nacala International Airport, and we offer free pick-ups and drop off to the Nacala Airport. We have new spacious, modern rooms with sea views, and smaller cottages also available. The restaurant serves delicious, fresh, home-made food with a variety for everyone, whether you enjoy a sumptuous steak or are a vegetarian. With the restaurant overlooking the bay you will never miss the sunset, or the whales cruising by between July and September, or relax by the pool side with a drink in hand as the sun goes down. Perfect for the business traveller or the tourist looking for a secluded spot, Libelula is the perfect place to spend time working, or relaxing. The beach offers a clean and safe area to swim, and with a marine reserve having been established for almost a decade, there are plenty of things to wow you under water too!We look forward to welcoming you at Libelula. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing