We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho Hum on this place”
Review of Grand Hotel Ifrane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Hotel Ifrane
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ifrane
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place is "passable" but unless it's a bit cheaper than other hotels, I would pass on it. There is only wifi in the lobby and sometimes it took 7-8 times before I could actually connect. A couple of the staff were very helpful but some were completely indifferent. The carpet in the hallway was very stained and just gave a bad impression. The pool was closed and the place just had a "worn" feel to it. The rooms were adequate and it is conveniently located but next time, I'd check out other hotels first.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kirchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 78 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Grand Hotel is walking distance from everything in Ifrane. The hotel is very clean and the hotel desk clerk was very helpful and polite. Someone was at the desk 24 hours. Excellent WI-FI. Nice lobby.

Room Tip: Nice clean rooms in a quiet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were offered 630 Dhs per night including "Ramadan Iftar", Since they had no proper banking tools to take a print of the credit card, We had to give money in advance! The pool looked filthy. The room wasn't bad but the bedsheets were stained. No minibar in the room and the bathroom is very tiny! The towels are old and worn
Service is poor. we were given a very bad Iftar which is the first meal you eat after you fast from dawn to sunset! I have spotted glasses of milk and orange juice on the table minimum 90 minutes before Iftar time, not covered! Not hygenic at all! And when we asked for water since we couldn't eat anything, they brought tap water (in a so called 4 star), otherwise we had to pay for the bottled water. In a restaurant with only 3 tables busy, they were running like headless chicken! we just gave up on the food! Anyway, It does not deserve the price they were featuring which is apparently 90 Mad/ person.

Now the worst part of the experience is when we said we are staying 2 nights and wanted the money back for the 3rd. I can swear the receptionist said No. After I insisted, he said in a bad tone: We'll get back to you at night.
I went to the Office of the Touristic delegation which happens to be behind them. After that we had to go literally to the police since the owner or a higher Manager interfered and wanted us to pay 1200 Mad/ night + 90 Mad/ person + taxes since the negotiated price was not valid anymore. I explained that they never mentioned this at the beginning and now they were inventing more rules.
We went to the Police, we ended up paying the second night although we were afraid to stay and we checked out before that. We've got our 3rd night back!
The "Delegation touristique" were very helpful during the whole process and they informed me that this Hotel has received a letter of downgrade. They asked me to file a complaint. The Hotel receives many complaints anyway.

Ifrane is a wonderful town especially during sky time. It's a shame there are not many good Hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The list price for a room (120 Dhs/night) is way overpriced. You will easily get a 50 % discount, but even this may be too much. The rooms are comfortable, but the service is poor. The main drawback of the rooms was that the towels were really old and worn. For breakfast we had to ask for everything separately. It was more important for the restaurant staff to bring food to the hotel management than to serve the customers.
There is parking in front of the hotel. Wifi in the lobby (occasionally in the rooms, but the signal is weak). There is a swimming pool.
The comfortable rooms are the main plus of the hotel, but do not justify the 60 Dhs they charge (don't forget to ask for the reduced price, otherwise you pay 120 Dhs).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2011

We arrived at the Grand Hotel quite late and were fairly tired after a day of walking. The Middle Atlas, around Ifrane, is spectacular and startling if you arrive from the South (green, forests of cedar and oak, mountain lakes). Unfortunately, the accomodation options in the Middle Atlas are a bit limited. We opted for the Grand because of the Rought Guide recommendation (it must be out of date) but I am sure any of the other options would have been better. The hotel is defintely past its prime, the staff were surly, the cleanliness was unsatisfactory and the food was poor.

I think that the hotel makes most of its money from a rather unpleasant bar. Most bars in Morocco seem awful - men only, women definitely unwelcome, lots of smoke and very drunk patrons. But this bar had the added unpleasantness of the afore mentioned patrons leering at some exotic dancers (I wondered about the their status).

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ejohnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2011

I stayed at the hotel the first weekend of may and it was terrible. The room, the bath, the bedsheets, the TV... nothing rises above the motel level. Even worst, at around 1 am, the hotel's discotheque started its weekend trance and dance session and that was what drove us( my wife and I ) crazy!! It's a shame that such a nice town as Ifran and such an old building has been put in bad hands!

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank moss1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We knew that the Grand Hotel would look better from the outside than the in, but we found our rooms certainly adquate. The hotel had heat in the rooms and hot water for showers, and the rooms were quite large. Beds weren't very comfortable - covered in plastic I think, so you couldn't help but sweat a bit. It was very cold and rainy during our stay in Ifrane, but the hotel was perfectly comfortable as long as you weren't expecting luxury. Service was a bit unusual, as most didn't seem to care if they had guests staying with them or not. But there were two folks who were very gracious. One was a man who helped us replace a few burnt out light bulbs in our room. The other was the waiter for breakfast who certainly seemed to care about the guests. Only difficulty was there was no heat and it was around 0 c when we were there! There was a great little restaurant nearby that did have heat and good food.

In order to see the Atlas Mtns in this area, this is not a bad alternative.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peacecorpparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ifrane
0.5 mi away
Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ifrane Palace
Ifrane Palace
#6 of 9 in Ifrane
22 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel Relais Ras el Maa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Le Palais des Cerisiers
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Ifrane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Ifrane

Address: Avenue de La Marche Verte, Ifrane 53000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Ifrane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Ifrane
Price Range: $64 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 313
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Grand Hotel Ifrane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing