We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfect budget riad” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riad Nakhla

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Riad Nakhla
Ranked #44 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect budget riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We really enjoyed out stay here, from the warm welcome from Rachid (the manager) to the delightful breakfast on the rooftop overlooking the sea. This is a "budget" hotel and really does fulfil every travellers needs. The rooms are clean, if you need anything extra, Rachid is more than willing to help you out. Yes, there is a mosque next to it...this "is" a Muslim country, it's all part of the Moroccan "experience"! : D
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmacasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    21
    10
    13
See reviews for
12
62
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Dear all,

I would like to recommend the Riad Nakhla as a very nice place to stay in Essaouira. Staff was very nice and breakfest at the rooftop is just breathtaking.

But I would also like to warn you about the car rental company right next to the entrance of the Riad. The Riad and the guy from the car rental were usually cooperating in the past, but we made a very bad experience with this guy. He promised AirConditioning in the car and there wasn't and we had to fix a puncture and had to pay it all alone although he promised an "all risk insurance" in case something happens...

Nevertheless, just take another car rental company and you will have a wonderfull time in Essaouira.

Kind regards,
Mirco

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FanclubMirco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

This riad is promoted as simple and cheap. Simple it is, but in this price range there are much better riads to finds in the old medina of Essaouira. We do not understand why Lonely Planet promotes this riad.

The rooms are simply furnished but a little smelly. The rooms with window only have a very narrow window close to a roof were cats kept us awake all night.

---

General note: Rooms with windows facing outside still have my preference because of ventilation, but it can be a disadvantage in Morocco. All mosques in Morocco have a 5am call. It does not matter at what place you stay: if you have a room with windows facing outside you will definitely notice it. If you don't want to be woken up by the imam at night, it's worth considering a room with windows facing the innercourt.





  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PukvandePetteflet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The title of this review says it all - while recently staying in the hotel we confronted what is every travellers nightmare - to pull back the sheets and discover several large, full grown bed bugs running around! This was after spending some nights already in the room, the hotels suite, room number 15, which we were only given as the room we specifically reserved had been given to someone else. On the first and second mornings in the hotel, I assumed the bites were eczyma as I was suffering from an outbreak at the time in the same area, making it difficult to identify them. However, one night we arrived back to the room to find the bed stinking of insectacide. No one seemed to know what was going on an tried to pass off the smell as air freshener. This is very worrying indeed as sleeping in a bed that has been treated can be fatal. The response of the staff was denial, followed by incompetance when we showed them the bed bugs we had kept in a glass with some water in it. We were given another room, a stinking double bed with a mouldy bathroom and no window, in which we found a long dead bedbug on our intitial inspection of the room. While other rooms with windows were availible, and remained empty these were not offered to us. They did not even close the room with the bedbugs, and simply let it out again the following night. Neither did they change the matress. In addition, when we asked for some tea during the day during our stay we could hear the maid mocking us for our requirements when she thought she was out of earshot.

I was left to rent a freezer to treat our bags at my own expense, while the hotel made a feable attempt to launder our clothes, sending them off and returning them in the same black back as they were sent in, which could have been contaminated with eggs or bedbugs, rendering this action totally pointless. When my wife pointed this out to the receptionist he became irate and tipped our clothes out of the bag and onto the reception floor, making a comment to me about how women worry too much as my wife walked away in disgust. The hotel is also located on a dangerous street, next to a problem house inhabited by vagrents as we were informed by locals as a place to avoid. This also resulted in the hotel being attacked and the windows on the ground floor smashed by a drunk teenager while we stayed there.

However, on a stay two years ago things passed without a major problem. The Riad is also very pretty to look at and has wonderfull views of the sea, some polite staff and serves a nice breakfast. However, the problems we experienced on this visit mean i will never go back there as the management and staff cannot be trusted. Also, there are far better, and cheeper hotels in the city, so why bother with a place that cannot be honest with its guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinoudelondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Essaouira hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Excellent, cheap and very charming place to stay in Essaouira. Breakfast is served on the rooftop and the people working here is very kind. Rooms are clean and tidy and well located just in the medina!!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arnausabate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Hotel Riad Nakhla is truly the gem of Essaouria. It is easily reached by following the large street just before the Bab Marrakesh doorway to the town, and is a very short walk from the Supratours Bus depot as well as the fabulous beach. Highly accomodating and impecccably ever-present for any traveller's needs, Rachid (the manager) has lived in Essaouria all of his life. After escaping the extreme temperatures (50.5 celsius) and grime of Marrakech in July 2012, this hotel provided a much needed homey feel to my travels as a single woman. I immediately felt relieved to learn that there was a hotel safe (with access to documents anytime), highly recommended Hamman if desired through Rachid, fabulous cleaning staff and an Internet Cafe just around the corner. A superb breakfast and view is served every morning on the roof overlooking this quaint walled town. Although July, August and September is their 'busy" time, I was able to get a single room for the equivalent of about $23 Canadian.
For women travelling alone and during Ramadan, I was fascinated with the kind and gentle, democratic way this town treats disenfranchised women, from hiring widowed women to work at the Hotel Nakhla to the many Artisan women's associations throughout the town.
When asked what makes Essaouria special, Rachid replied; it is peaceful, quiet, full of kind people and clean (no pollution). After staying 7 rather than my planned 2 days, I would wholeheartedly agree!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
237 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Lonely Planet is correct that this place is a little intimidating from the outside, but we found the inside courtyard, roof deck and room 15 to be beautiful. We moved to Nakhla after an expensive night at Lalla Mira, and the value was apparent immediately. The stairs are no joke though.. Serious workout, but worth it for our view of the beach. Arrive early, during the week so you get your pick of a room.

Rashid (and the others on the staff) were super nice and accomodating (even gave us a little deal on the room). Great suggestions on restaurants. Ask them where to get the best mint tea!

Room Tip: #15 is up the stairs, but has great water pressure and a lovely view. Wifi is strongest closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gremily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Emeraude
Hotel Emeraude
#42 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#19 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sidi Magdoul
Riad Sidi Magdoul
#29 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#36 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Le Grand Large
Riad Le Grand Large
#40 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.0 mi away
Al Jasira Hotel
Al Jasira Hotel
#45 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riad Nakhla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riad Nakhla

Property: Hotel Riad Nakhla
Address: 12 Rue d'Agadir, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Riad Nakhla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Nakhla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing