We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“INCREDIBLE SEA VILLA/INCREDIBLE SERVICE”
other travelers have booked this property
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Elevated Bed/Ocean View/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Lounge ensuite Bath/ Ocean Suite/ level 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Elevated Bed/Ocean View/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Lounge
ensuite Bath/ Ocean Suite/ level 3
3rd Level Ocean Suite/ensuite Bath/ocean view/elevated bed/fireplace
1st level luxury suite/ensuite bathroom
1st Level Ensuite Bath
Lounge/Cinema Room/Film and Music Library/Fireplace
Cinema Room/Film and Music Library/ Iounge /Fireplace
Restaurant Style Kitchen and Bar/Fireplace / seats 6 at the Bar and 6 at the Table
Restaurant Style Kitchen/Bar seats 6 at the bar/6 at the table/Fireplace/Terrace
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice/Dar Evening Star
kitchen looking towards Ramparts ocean terrace
From the Third Level Ocean Terrace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/ensuite bath/Fireplace/Terrace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Terrace
4th Level Ensuite Bathroom/ Bathtub/shower/Fireplace/Ocean Terrace
Spiral Leading to the Ocean Terrace
Ocean Terrace for Sunbathing /Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner
Rampart Ocean Terrace  from The High Ocean Terrace w The Ocean crashing below
Hammam Dar Evening Star
View from the Ocean Terraces
From the Photo Collection
sculpture @ Dar Evening Star
Ocean View from The Kitchen Ramparts Terrace
Stairway in Black Tadelekht leading toward 4th level Ocean Suite
Essaouira
Essaouira
Sea and Beach from The Ramparts Terrace
Dining  and relaxation from one of our Ocean terraces.
Ocean Views from every floor.
Spiral Stairs connecting terraces.
Barbecuing on our ramparts terrace.
Dining and sunbathing from our high Ocean Terrace
our ancient ramparts terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Deborah M
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“INCREDIBLE SEA VILLA/INCREDIBLE SERVICE”
Reviewed March 12, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I've just completed a 10 stay at Dar Evening Star and have to say that it was one of the most memorable experiences of a lifetime of travel. The house: the photographs pictured on the website do not come close to doing it justice. The clear ocean views, as seen from the house's very large windows, are breathtaking. The three sea view terraces and best of all the roof terrace give you the feeling that you are in a ship..out to sea. Inside, the house contains every amenity imaginable, restaurant style, open kitchen, large dining bar as well as a beautiful dining table...a full modern laundry, a cinema room with hundreds of the latest DVD's, music on each floor, fluffy towels and bathrobes, plus elevated beds to optimize the sea views. Full housekeeping as little or often as you'd like...all of this with only the sounds of the gulls and sea..in a great location and 5 minutes walking distance to everywhere.
The service: John and Charles, the owners, were dedicated to whatever I needed to make my stay memorable. Beginning with arranging my car to/from Marrakech Airport greeting me at the entrance to town, walking me to the house, and when I arrived, a table set with fresh fruit, bread and French pastries. The house was fully stocked with water plus everything that I needed. The next day they offered me a mini tour, in order that I understood Essaouira and its details..
Essaouira, safe, clean, charming..the beauty only surpassed by the warmth and hospitality of the Moroccans. Please don't hesitate to reserve Dar Evening Star..before the secret is out!!

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire experience was absolutely fabulous
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2016
Dear Friend,
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review,what a pleasure it was to have you at Dar Evening Star.We really so look forward to your return here and your Morocco part 2 trip.we are especially grateful for your taking notice of so many details...the seaview,the house and our hospitality which came easily with such a gracious guest as you are.Please come,again..we are waiting for you!
John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2016
Thank you so much, Helen, you have a wonderful family..kind and generous and what a pleasure it was meeting you. We are so happy that you enjoyed our House on the sea, Essaouira, and meeting us! We eagerly await your return. Please visit us again! John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JosephB44...
Malaga, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“As Good As it Gets!”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

I've rented dozens of properties on three continents in the last twenty years and I can easily say that Dar Star is the best ever. It checks off every item on the list and more. Roomy. Beautifully decorated. Functional. Clean. With the kind of ocean views you need to see to believe.
The vacation started with pastries, bread and cheese awaiting our arrival in the giant chefs kitchen. John and Chip made us familiar with the house and it's amenities - which included a TV room with comfy chairs and a huge selection of films. They helped us with the layout of the neighborhood. And provided us with invaluable information about the best shops and stalls which saved us hours of time when we went shopping. And their restaurant recommendations were spot on. For a couple - or two couples - or a family - I could not recommend the house - or the hosts - any more highly. If only everyone did it so well!

Date of stay: January 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2016
Dear Joe,
You are, indeed, a world travelere. We are s grateful for your review and the information that you were very happy with Dar Evening Star,Essaouira and your time with us. We eagerly await your next visit where we can unfold new mysteries and surprises for you!! Please return to us..you are always welcome! John & Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philandca...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Your Essaouira luxury holiday starts now”
Reviewed January 15, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

When you read previous reviews in regards to this apartment you wonder if it really can be that good. Well the answer is that it exceeds all that can be written about it. Firstly when you make contact with the owners, Chip and John you will receive a prompt answer from people's no liv in the town, they know the best sites, tours, restaurants and shopping opportunities and gladly share their knowledge saving you a whole heap of time. They organised our transfers to and from Marrakech and kept us informed of what was happening, even contacting the places where we were staying prior to our visit to coordinate pick up times and locations. They met us at the entrance to the medina, showed us around the apartment and then took us on a tour of the town, all in their own time. They were incredible hosts who took the entire stay from excellent to above outstanding.
The apartment itself is four levels; base floor cinema room, laundry, hamman and a bedroom (although this room does not have a view) The chill kind of space. The next floor is the kitchen, dining, living space. The top two floors are bedrooms complete ŵith their own ensuite bathroom and the most incredible ocean views you could ever hope to find. Above all that is then a rooftop terrace. You get it all with your booking even a supply of microwave popcorn should you want to watch one of the many hundred DVDs that they have available.
The location - this is prime location. You watch the ocean as it cascades into the wall of your building and then you step out of the front door right into the medina, The fruit and vegetable market is nearby (although the apartment was stocked with fruit when we arrived), spice market only a couple of minutes walk away and then there are the many restaurants that are all within easy reach. The most magnificent sunsets can be viewed from near the port or the ramparts themselves.
The people - The people in to town, starting with Chip and John are some do the friendliest you will find in your travels. There's a gentle hearted request to engage in a sale when shopping but this is not followed by the pushiness that you mind find in some other medinas. The restauranters, tour operators etc. all do their best to provide whatever you need and make a huge effort to speak English if that is required (French and Arabic being the main languages). Never do you feel unsafe, hassled or intimidated.
The town - this is a town where you can relax, participate in action sports, enjoy a good meal, shop or even lie on the beach. What you choose to do here is more about what you want to do rather than what the town enables you to do. You can be as busy or as relaxed as you would like.

My recommendations
1. Don't come here for a day or two. Stay at this apartment for as long as you can manage. It is incredible reasonably priced and you'll just be getting to feel like a local and then you'll have to leave. If you're tossing us between here and another day in Marrakech, it's not even a close decision in our book.
2. Absolutely book this place - don't look any further. You will not regret any part of it and if there does happen to be an issue John and Chip will do their best to sort it out for you
3. Let John and Chip know what you'd like to do. We did quad biking and a cooking school and they were both great.
4. Any season seems to be ok. We were there in January and had fabulous weather despite it being Winter.
The only thing to consider is that there are stairs to each floor (as was our experience in all Riads and apartments in Morroco). There are also steps up to the two main beds that enable you to have an incredible ocean view whilst lying in bed. This was not a problem at all and we considered it to be an easy trade but it may be something that some people need to consider.

Overall though this is an apartment that could be so much more expensive than it is. You will be blown away the minute you step through the doors and feel confident about the entire booking from the minute it is made, if you are going to Morrocc, Essaouria must be on your places to visit and this apartment should be your first (and only in our mind) option.

Date of stay: January 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of hosts and overall standard and location of apartment
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 16, 2016
Dear Carolyn,Phillip and Clare,
Now for our 5 star review of you! You are a kind and generous Australian family who has travelled the world and yet have a deep respect and generosity with all of those you engage and encounter.We noticed it,Our Moroccan friends noticed it and all of the metchants and vendors remarked about your kind dealings with them.We are especially grateful for your enthusiasm and love of our house,Dar Evening Star..we hope that you will return to us soon and this time we will surprise you with even more luxury and surprises with both Dar Evening Star and Essaouira!!'we eagerly await your return! Grateful affection..Charles and John
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1605...
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfection, with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed December 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This was my second visit to Dar Evening Star and I can only say it was even better than the first time, which was a very difficult holiday to beat. The house is perfectly situated for an amazing stay and for carting all of your wonderful purchases back from the Medina. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble for the most amazing hosts and they have become wonderful friends. I would also like to say that each time I leave the UK for Morocco people at home think that I am mad wanting to visit a Muslim country in these turbulent times, but each time, I leave Morocco with a greater understanding of a wonderful religion and it's humble and kind people. Nothing thrills me more now than to hear the call to prayer at dawn, and enjoy an ancient civilisation which is now only safe in a very small part of the world, namely wonderful Morocco. Thank you John and Chip for another chance to share a little piece of heaven.

Date of stay: October 2015
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2015
Dear Debbie,
At Dar Evening Star we are fortunate to host many people from every corner of the world. Thank you for your wonderful review and for a real understanding of Morocco and it's lovely and sweet people..after nearly 20 years here we have been blessed with Moroccan friendships that often leave us in awe of their generosity. You are an exceptional wife, mother and friend, your visits are a real treat for us. Your intelligence and petspective re Morocco and its safety and culture are such a reassurance for not just us but to all of the Moroccans who live here..They smile when they see you coming!! Anxiously awaiting your next visit and again, Thank you for your words!! Xx John and Chip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYCjamd
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“EVEN MORE SPECTACULAR THE SECOND TIME!”
Reviewed October 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

When we decided to return to Essaouira for the second time we, once again, reserved Dar Evening Star. I had almost forgotten, the beauty of this house, it’s breathtaking views of the ocean from every floor and it’s wonderful terraces and it’s prime location in the heart of the old Medina. The house itself is fully outfitted on every level for every need. I am a chef and I was amazed at the kitchen and bar setup which included every detail and modern appliance. The service that John and Charles provide are simply nothing short of concierge services at a 5 star hotel in New York! They sent a car for us to pick us up in Marrakech, met us upon arrival in Essaouira, transported our luggage, showed us all of the details of the house, followed by a mini-tour of Essaouira, rented a car for us, made restaurant reservations, on and on…Dar Evening Star is now the destination for us…thank you John and Charles! We’ll be back.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That we found a gem that we can return to again and again
Liked least: That we had to return to New York
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
Dear Friends,
So grateful that you took the time to write such a great review for Dar Evening Star..you are wonderful clients! Maybe we will see you for a third time? More surprises await you! Thank you so much..John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cat N
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“A luxurious waterfront Moroccan experience”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Dar Evening Star for 7 nights and had a truly lovely stay. The house is simply speculator and you can clearly see how much thought, love and consideration John and Chip have put into it. Aside from ensuring every creature comfort was provided for, there was an impressive touch of luxury and artistry from beautiful home accessories to quality appliances. We didn't get to meet John on this trip but Chip went out of his way to make us comfortable, provide us with every possible essential (and non essential - bottled water for the whole stay, fresh guacamole, fresh bread, wine, beer, French pastries), familiarise us with local shops/restaurants, and help us with whatever we needed - without being too intrusive.
The location and surroundings were equally impressive - we really had the best of both worlds: a picturesque/relaxing beach holidays (private, uninterrupted views of the ocean), but also a short walk away from a bustling and colourful Moroccan town (amazing restaurants, lively market, exotic fish port etc). We really couldn't have asked for more.
We would very much welcome the opportunity to stay there again, knowing with confidence it would be a holiday destination and welcome that hits all the right spots.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2015
Dear Cat,
You were wonderful,kind,classey and most of all perfect guests at Dar Evening Star. You, yourself, are in customer service and know what gratitude means to an owner who tries to provide good service. Your kind words help us to really push on to provide even better service.We were very happy that you understood the unique ocean setting of the house and that you made note of it! Please come back to us and next time we will have surprises for you that hopefully exceed what you've experienced here. Our best to you and Demis!! X John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing