We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just perfect!”
other travelers have booked this property
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Elevated Bed/Ocean View/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Lounge ensuite Bath/ Ocean Suite/ level 3
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
3rd Level Ocean Suite/Elevated Bed/Ocean View/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Lounge
ensuite Bath/ Ocean Suite/ level 3
3rd Level Ocean Suite/ensuite Bath/ocean view/elevated bed/fireplace
1st level luxury suite/ensuite bathroom
1st Level Ensuite Bath
Lounge/Cinema Room/Film and Music Library/Fireplace
Cinema Room/Film and Music Library/ Iounge /Fireplace
Restaurant Style Kitchen and Bar/Fireplace / seats 6 at the Bar and 6 at the Table
Restaurant Style Kitchen/Bar seats 6 at the bar/6 at the table/Fireplace/Terrace
Fresh Squeezed Orange Juice/Dar Evening Star
kitchen looking towards Ramparts ocean terrace
From the Third Level Ocean Terrace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/ensuite bath/Fireplace/Terrace
4th Level Ocean Suite/Ocean View/Elevated Bed/Ensuite Bath/Fireplace/Terrace
4th Level Ensuite Bathroom/ Bathtub/shower/Fireplace/Ocean Terrace
Spiral Leading to the Ocean Terrace
Ocean Terrace for Sunbathing /Breakfast/Lunch/Dinner
Rampart Ocean Terrace  from The High Ocean Terrace w The Ocean crashing below
Hammam Dar Evening Star
View from the Ocean Terraces
From the Photo Collection
sculpture @ Dar Evening Star
Ocean View from The Kitchen Ramparts Terrace
Stairway in Black Tadelekht leading toward 4th level Ocean Suite
Essaouira
Essaouira
Sea and Beach from The Ramparts Terrace
Dining  and relaxation from one of our Ocean terraces.
Ocean Views from every floor.
Spiral Stairs connecting terraces.
Barbecuing on our ramparts terrace.
Dining and sunbathing from our high Ocean Terrace
our ancient ramparts terrace.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Essaouira, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
adc12
perth
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From the initial enquiry to the waving of goodbyes, it was perfect through and through. The property is absolutely stunning with the most beautiful decor and artefacts throughout. Lying in bed with the most amazing views is such a treat for someone who just loves the sea. Everything you needed was there including a lovely welcome table of treats on arrival. The property was always clean with a regular change of towels and sheets.

The hosts John and Chip....... couldn't have been kinder, more attentive (without being intrusive) or helpful. They welcomed us on arrival with a cart to guide us through the medina and again at the end they took us to our transport which they had arranged to take us to the airport. John took us on a tour of the the medina which was so helpful because there is a great choice of restaurants, souks, market stalls etc so it was great to have the recommendations. He also met us to take us to the wine shop which is located just outside the medina walls. Mohammed was always on hand for anything with a smile and was delightful.

The whole visit to Dar Evening Star and Essaouira was the most chilled out, laid back, stress free holiday I think I have had (until we got to Marrakech airport!) due to the hosts' hospitality and the laid back atmosphere and the people of Essaouria who are incredibly friendly and who don't hassle you over sales (unlike Marrakech). As far as activities and eating out are concerned, John and Chip had a list of recommendations which we followed. Absolutely brilliant every one! Highly recommend Caravan Cafe, Dar Caravan and horse riding at Ranch Diabat. Surfing at Sidi Kaouki beach was a highlight too.

Thank you John and Chip for an amazing holiday. Would highly recommend to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the villa and the customer service
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 1, 2015
I've always wondered why the homeowner has never been afforded the opportunity to write a review about the guest! If Andrea, you see us and Dar Evening Star as 5 Star,we see you, Will,Julia,Emma and Harry as 10 Star! What a kind, loving ,family you are, so enjoying one another's company after all these years and so respectful and gracious to us and to the Moroccan people,you made us very proud to be resident foreigners in a town that sees many tourists. Please return to us soon..we would be very very happy to see you again..Thank you..John and Chip
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IanAndrew...
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Seriously Good”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful week we had staying at John & Chip's place in the Medina. It's hard to overstate how fantastic the house is, beautifully decorated and stuffed with every last amenity and piece of kit you could wish for. In itself what a fabulous result from a holiday rental.

Add into the mix the wonderful care and attention you receive from John including: ensuring every last detail of your travel to and from the house is arranged and as easy as possible; making restaurant bookings on your behalf; taking you on a tour of the great places to shop and buy wine; arranging for a tour out in the countryside with Claudia from Berberlands and even accompanying me on my first trip to the Carrefour on the edge of town. John is the single best host we've ever had on our travels - and we've been lucky to have some great hosts.

I would not hesitate to recommend this place and honestly I can't wait to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The House Is Fabulous
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Dear Ian,Penni,Charlie and Lucas,
What a wonderful family you are! and how you have such great chemistry with eac other. You are intrepid travellers while at the same time,kind and geneous people. It has been our absolute good fortune and pleasure to meet you and to host you at Dar Evening Star..We are grateful that you chose us and are even happier that you were happy at home at Dar Evening Star
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Ann...
Neptune, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magicial”
Reviewed April 15, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent several days in this home and thought it was one of the most beautiful places in Morocco - right on the ocean with views from the many large windows. The sound of the ocean was so peaceful. We were given locations, shops, and restaurants to make our stay most enjoyable. The local cuisine is wonderful. The surrounding colors in the medina enhanced our senses of Morocco. The people are most helpful and kind.

We would definitely recommend this place and will most certainly return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and owners
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 21, 2015
Dear Old Friends,
So grateful that you chose us and were happy at Dar Evening Star.The rythmn of the sea as well as the constant sounds of the gulls and the waves are a magical remedy for tired travellers. We so look forward to your return visit! J/C
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RaffaSuss...
Sussex
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A stunning house overlooking the sea but within the town walls”
Reviewed April 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2014

This house has been rebuilt and restored with huge flair and attention to detail. It is beautifully furnished and decorated and the kitchen is fitted with everything you could possibly need. There is even an orange juicer which is fantastic as the oranges in the market are so cheap and plentiful. The beds are comfortable and the bathrooms are stunning. The house is situated in the medina so the streets outside are narrow and busy but the house is utterly quiet with only the occasional sound of the waves lapping against the stone walls. The owners are helpful, welcoming and more than happy to give a tour of the town and market. As newcomers to Essaouira this was fantastic for us. Through their help we managed to avoid the touristy parts of the town and find the treasures that the locals use. We had a wonderful holiday in an amazing town and beautiful house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Discovering Essaouira from such a lovely base
Liked least: No negative feedback at all
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 9, 2015
Dear Jo and Charles,
We had such a wonderful time with you in Essaouira. Thank you for staying at Dar Evening Star. You are kind and gracious people. We eagerly await your return to Essaouira. Thank you for all! John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doris1605...
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A Magical Place with wonderful hosts.”
Reviewed March 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for a week in February and had the holiday of a lifetime. We took four teenagers and they just loved being in the hustle and bustle of the ancient medina which is literally just outside the door of the property. After a few days the children found their feet and would go to the market stalls and barter the prices down on the things they wanted to buy and come back with huge bags of oranges to squeeze which became our favourite drink. John, Charles and Henry were true gentlemen and showed us amazing places that we wouldn't have known about without them. They also showed us the most fantastic restaurants and we shared a wonderful night out at the Caravane café with them, which was magical with flame thrower and the most amazing conjuror.
This property is outstanding, with the sea being visible from most rooms, it became my morning routine to stand on the balcony of the top floor and breathe in the sea air and marvel at how beautiful this place truly is.
Essaouira holds a very special place in all of our hearts, the beautiful people, the beautiful weather, the fine sand to ride your horse along the beach, the endless shopping, just perfection. Thank you so much John, Charles and Henry.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 26, 2015
Dear Friends,
Thank you for staying with us at Dar Evening Star and for your wonderful review. You are a lovely family. Sometimes owners learn a great deal from guests,this was our case with your visit! Please return to us soon..John/Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gregory C
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Return Visit to Wonderful Dar Evening Star and Relaxing Essaouira!”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were so in awe of Dar Evening Star that we had to return and this time we stayed for two weeks. We had a wonderful stay. We love this beautiful Moroccan villa over-looking the ocean. It has absolutely everything, including an abundance of Moroccan style. It is very comfortable. Located on the ramparts within a minutes' walk of the centre of the medina and its many fine restaurants and cafes and small traders who were exceptionally friendly and taught us a few Arabic words! The owners are a pleasure to deal with and are very helpful with great recommendations, prompt response to all our inquiries and processing the return of our security deposit within days of our returning home. We have every intention of returning to Dar Evening Star soon and highly recommend this fantastic villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Style and comfort; Ocean view from bed!
Liked least: Nothing - All Good!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 8, 2015
Dear Friends,
We can't thank you enough for your wonderful review and most of all for staying with us at Dar Evening Star!! Please return soon! John and Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
84rener
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredibly Spectacular Amazing Beautiful Comfortable -- Loved It!”
Reviewed February 7, 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our first time in Essaouira but won't be our last! This house has all the comforts of home plus beautiful ocean views. The hosts bend over backwards to make you feel welcome and comfortable. The decor and amenities are all first rate. What a relaxing place -- centrally located to all the wonders the city has to offer. We will return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts!
Liked least: Stay too short!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 15, 2015
Dear Friends,
We await your next visit..Thank you for your kind review..especially your mentioning our unique pisition on the ocean high above the ramparts on the seawall in the Old City! You were wonderful and fun visitors! John and Zcharles...Dar Evening Star
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing