We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome place, terrible breakfast”
Review of Riad Lunetoile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Lunetoile
Ranked #22 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It might have been that the owner was on vacation and that my experience is different from those staying here while management was around, but my stay here was not as good as what I expected it to be like based on the online reviews. It was basically a deserted place with nobody around. Maybe I was spoiled by the delicious breakfasts I enjoyed in other riads, but here in the morning I got dry stale bread and cold coffee, all prepared the night before by one of the maids. I just expected better I think. The room was beautiful and comfortable, the food just didn't meet the basic standards of what you'd expect. I like my coffee hot and fresh, not made the night before.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Aad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you for this puzzling and rather hurtful, comment. I was indeed away, but, I am happy to say, Riad Lunetoile goes on as normal, as though I was there. We have staff on the premises 12 hours per day, from 8am til 8pm, plus, you were never, ever, the only guest as we had 2 other rooms booked at the same time. Very odd, that you found it deserted? As for the dry stale bead and coffee made the day before? What can I say? Simply not possible! Piping hot fresh coffee/tea/hot Chocolate prepared every morning at 8am, and served together with freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly made yoghurt (made the day before, as it takes a couple of hours to prepare and then set!), croissants and baguettes served with butter and a choice of jams.

Sad to read such comments, and one wonders why? But thank you, nevertheless...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 269 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

If your looking for loverly people, clean room, nice atmosphere and a relaxed stay - heres the place. Essaouira was very windy when we were down but we still braved the wind on the terrace to do some sunbathing! Sue is great to get you settled in the town and gives great advise about places to eat, see ect..
Would go back, would recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TashBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Manager at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Thank you so much for the great write-up, which is also most informative for future guests. Many thanks, and do come back soon..from all of us - at Lunetoile...Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A lovely Riad in Essaouira. Owner Sue takes the time to meet each of her guests and is full of tips for all budgets - she clearly loves the town and she wants you to too - thanks to her help we ate well, we didn't get lost, and she organised a very reasonably priced hammam for us both too. Little touches like welcoming biscuits, dates and almonds in the room and bowls of oranges really completed the experience. The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast on the roof Terrace was great. Whole heartedly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teadixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Manager at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

So glad that you loved Lunetoile and Essaouira...and that you may come back again? Always welcome. Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely, complimentary report...from all of us at Lunetoile...Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I'm two years tardy in writing this review, but some friends are about to embark on a trip to Morocco, and their travels conjured all sorts of great memories. Lunetoile is in a great residential location near the city walls, meaning that's it's nice and quiet and has amazing views of the ocean. The version of Lonely Planet that we had says something about Lunetoile being in a sketchy neighborhood, but that's totally false. Great staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank RiskeBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Manager at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Hiii...thanks soo much for the Recommendations...it's never too late! And Thank you for taking the time to write a review..much appreciated...and you will be very welcome to return....Sue and all of the girls at Lunetoile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

2 girlfriends and I recently stayed at Riad Lunetoile for 1 night on the recommendation of a friend and we were thoroughly impressed. The service was very personal- we were picked up from the bus station by one of the women who works there; our beautiful room was complete with complimentary fruit, nuts, biscuits and a bottle of water; the owner Sue met with us once we were settled in and talked us through the map, what to do and where to eat over a cup of mint tea.
The property itself was beautiful, clean and well-kept. The decor was very Moroccan and the rooms were all stunning (we stayed in the double en suite with an extra bed). The breakfast was delicious and we ate it on the roof terrace, which has gorgeous views of the whole town and of the ocean.
Very much enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time, to write such a glowing report! We are very flattered, and happy, to have content guests, who are "chilled", and love every moment. Thanks, Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Those beautiful old houses with meter thick walls are difficult to warm up during daytime despite the sun was shining all the time, but we were offered an electrical heater to keep the room cosy in the evenings. Kabira was a kind and helpfull host (Sue was on holiday) and she even helped me celebrate my wife's birthday with pie and flowers. Sue was very communicative and helpful in the planning phase. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Room 4 is very spacy and beautifully decorated - no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liebach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

So happy to hear that all went well, with "our birthday arrangements" and that you had a great holiday. We, too believe, that we give great value for money. Thank you so much for writing...Sue, Kabira, Latifa and the girls..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom for some days in Feb 2013 and experienced the best price-performance ratio in any tourist accommodation I've come across in my entire life. The rooms are tastefully furnished and very comfy; far beyond just "a place to sleep". The housekeepers were super friendly, too, and contributed a lot to making our stay at Lunétoile wonderful. As it can get chilly in Feb, they even provided electric heaters in the room and enough blankets and pillows to cuddle up at night. Another nice feature was the roof terrace, which has a closed and an open part and thus offers a spot where you can relax no matter how windy it is. The breakfast was fresh and varied. I totally recommend this Riad and would come back anytime.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank menoli_ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

"The Best Price-Performance ratio in Your Life"!! Wow!! This IS AMAZING praise, indeed.
We offer excellent prices all year round, but exceptionally good in Jan/Feb, with our less 30% discounts! And it is very rewarding to read such appreciation and praise!

Many many thanks for this brilliant review...Sue, Kabira and Latifa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
511 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#1 of 180 in Essaouira
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
RIad Dar El Paco
RIad Dar El Paco
#8 of 180 in Essaouira
271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Inna
Riad Inna
#12 of 180 in Essaouira
183 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Kaouki
Hotel Blue Kaouki
#17 of 180 in Essaouira
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lunetoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lunetoile

Address: 191 Rue Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdullah | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: $38 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Lunetoile 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lunetoile, situated in the heart of the Medina, with sea-views from the top terrace and from apartment 5, is the ideal relaxing, comfortable, holiday home / guest-house / B&B, to rent, in Essaouira. Ideal for surfers, individuals, couples or families... our Moroccan hospitality will enthrall you.....so, Submit yourself to a gentle introduction to true Moroccan hospitality, mixed with a little European comfort, and spiced up with a few Indian accessories. Enjoy all, that the Orient, has to offer, whilst still being in Africa!Savour our home-made BISUITS and sip mint tea from our sea-facing, rooftop terrace and listen to the waves of the Atlantic Ocean, crashing onto the rocks, whilst you let yourself drift into the mysteries of this far-away, Arabic, land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Lunetoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing