We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accommodations and views”
Review of Riad Lunetoile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Lunetoile
Ranked #18 of 174 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accommodations and views”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I'm two years tardy in writing this review, but some friends are about to embark on a trip to Morocco, and their travels conjured all sorts of great memories. Lunetoile is in a great residential location near the city walls, meaning that's it's nice and quiet and has amazing views of the ocean. The version of Lonely Planet that we had says something about Lunetoile being in a sketchy neighborhood, but that's totally false. Great staff. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RiskeBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Manager at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Hiii...thanks soo much for the Recommendations...it's never too late! And Thank you for taking the time to write a review..much appreciated...and you will be very welcome to return....Sue and all of the girls at Lunetoile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    53
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
47
121
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2013

2 girlfriends and I recently stayed at Riad Lunetoile for 1 night on the recommendation of a friend and we were thoroughly impressed. The service was very personal- we were picked up from the bus station by one of the women who works there; our beautiful room was complete with complimentary fruit, nuts, biscuits and a bottle of water; the owner Sue met with us once we were settled in and talked us through the map, what to do and where to eat over a cup of mint tea.
The property itself was beautiful, clean and well-kept. The decor was very Moroccan and the rooms were all stunning (we stayed in the double en suite with an extra bed). The breakfast was delicious and we ate it on the roof terrace, which has gorgeous views of the whole town and of the ocean.
Very much enjoyed our stay and would go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time, to write such a glowing report! We are very flattered, and happy, to have content guests, who are "chilled", and love every moment. Thanks, Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Those beautiful old houses with meter thick walls are difficult to warm up during daytime despite the sun was shining all the time, but we were offered an electrical heater to keep the room cosy in the evenings. Kabira was a kind and helpfull host (Sue was on holiday) and she even helped me celebrate my wife's birthday with pie and flowers. Sue was very communicative and helpful in the planning phase. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Room 4 is very spacy and beautifully decorated - no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liebach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
So happy to hear that all went well, with "our birthday arrangements" and that you had a great holiday. We, too believe, that we give great value for money. Thank you so much for writing...Sue, Kabira, Latifa and the girls..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in a double room with shared bathroom for some days in Feb 2013 and experienced the best price-performance ratio in any tourist accommodation I've come across in my entire life. The rooms are tastefully furnished and very comfy; far beyond just "a place to sleep". The housekeepers were super friendly, too, and contributed a lot to making our stay at Lunétoile wonderful. As it can get chilly in Feb, they even provided electric heaters in the room and enough blankets and pillows to cuddle up at night. Another nice feature was the roof terrace, which has a closed and an open part and thus offers a spot where you can relax no matter how windy it is. The breakfast was fresh and varied. I totally recommend this Riad and would come back anytime.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank menoli_ke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
"The Best Price-Performance ratio in Your Life"!! Wow!! This IS AMAZING praise, indeed.
We offer excellent prices all year round, but exceptionally good in Jan/Feb, with our less 30% discounts! And it is very rewarding to read such appreciation and praise!

Many many thanks for this brilliant review...Sue, Kabira and Latifa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Very cosy riad. We stayed in room 4 which was a little bit more expensive but worth it with en suite and 2 lovely chill out spots-1bay window seat and another corner sofa. Breakfast was included in the price and we enjoyed reading on the roof terrace. Someone met us at the bus stop and everything was smooth and organised. Secure your booking on the website with cc then pay in cash with EUROS. Really worth a visit to this lovely seaside escape and this riad is perfect!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iannathanpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
"Cosy Riad. Smoothe and Organised. This Riad is Perfect"

Well, thank you! And thank you for taking the time to write such a welcome review...from all of us at Lunetoile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Me and my friend stayed here during our visit to Essaouira December 2012 and we love it! Not only we amazed with its cleanliness and beautiful decorations with flowers everywhere (yes, this is a riad with romantic ambiance!), the helpful owner Sue and the lovely staff Kabira were definitely the huge factors that made us love this riad so much! Our staying there was very relaxing and we spent morning time enjoying our loong breakfast time with nice view from the rooftop (a nice thing to do after exhausted with desert tour and the busy Marrakech!) The local hamam was shocking though, but definitely a life time experience that we will never forget! :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
"Clean, Beautiful, Romantic - filled with Love"

Beautiful words fantastic review!

Thank you from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
160 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I came to be at Riad Lunetoile off the back of the reviews on here and I have to say that the hype is justified.

It's located on one of the two main streets running through the medina and would have been easy to find. However I did not need to as one of the local ladies working there came to meet me at the bus stop.

I was originally booked into one of the ground floor rooms with shared bathroom. However, on arrival I was offered a room on the 1st floor (number 3) at a lower rate as the ground floor room was double booked. I decided to take it.

The room spanned the front of the riad. It was nicely decorated and had a wardrobe, corner couch/seat and lots of shelving. I was given local snacks, oranges and a bottle of water which I thought were nice touches. This being January the room got quite cold at night but with the heater provided I survived without much of a problem. A slight annoyance was the pool hall/amusement arcade just down the street. The local youth made a lot of noise. The screaming and shouting continued until at least 00.30 when I put my earplugs in.

The private bathroom was pleasant. A heated towel rail, decent supply of toilet paper. More nice touches like petals spread on the floor towel next to the shower and soap provided. The only negative was an occasional unpleasant odour. This must have come from the pipes rather than being down to any cleanliness issue.

There's a kitchen at your disposal but with so many restaurants to try I didn't go near it. A laptop is provided for internet access for those who do not have their own device. The wifi itself was not the best. The connection was not very strong and worked about 80% of the time. I feel bad mentioning it as I did not come to Morocco to check f.b but this could be an issue for anyone planning to work online during their stay. The roof terrace was a nice place to relax (there's also an indoor section for those particularly windy days.) Although the wifi signal did not reach it.

A basic breakfast was included in the price - a croissant, baguette, jam, butter, yoghurt, hot drink and juice. You could eat downstairs, in your room or on the roof terrace (you might have to share with the seagulls if the choose the latter option.)

The best thing about this hotel in my opinion was the local ladies working there - Kabira and Latifa. They were so friendly and made my stay a pleasure. Not a lot of English was spoken but this pushed me to practice my limited French. Latifa could also speak some basic Spanish.

If I was to return to Essaouira I would definitely come back to Riad Lunetoile.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supadappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
"The HYPE IS justified"! What an amazing, in depth review....thank you soo much for taking the time to write a review...it is very very much appreciated!

This is not just HYPE a this is the REAL DEAL.

Thank you from us all at Lunetoile
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
489 reviews
7.8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#19 of 74 in Essaouira
188 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
503 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 74 in Essaouira
1,110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lunetoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lunetoile

Property: Riad Lunetoile
Address: 191 Rue Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdullah | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 174 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Lunetoile 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lunetoile, situated in the heart of the Medina, with sea-views from the top terrace and from apartment 5, is the ideal relaxing, comfortable, holiday home / guest-house / B&B, to rent, in Essaouira. Ideal for surfers, individuals, couples or families... our Moroccan hospitality will enthrall you.....so, Submit yourself to a gentle introduction to true Moroccan hospitality, mixed with a little European comfort, and spiced up with a few Indian accessories. Enjoy all, that the Orient, has to offer, whilst still being in Africa!Savour our home-made BISUITS and sip mint tea from our sea-facing, rooftop terrace and listen to the waves of the Atlantic Ocean, crashing onto the rocks, whilst you let yourself drift into the mysteries of this far-away, Arabic, land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Riad Lunetoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing