We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally fresh feeling”
Review of Riad Lunetoile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Lunetoile
Ranked #19 of 180 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2011

First escape from the hussle and bustle of Marrakech! My first step into my room was simply awesome. It gave me a feeling of living in a Moroccan home.Even the door of my room is memorable. The welcome drinks was really what we need after the tiring 3 hours bus journey. Sue, the owner of this Riad is very helpful, and she is very knowledgeable about Essouira. My 2 days stay seems like a very short stay. Nice hospitality!!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ateera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

"SImply Awesome..Like Living in a Moroccan Home".... Thank you...we, too, think that the first impressions are amazing...and lasting! Thank you for taking the time to write, and so glad that you loved the experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 269 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2011

I think the tittle represent all my opinion about the Riad. It's really homey and we really relaxed alot. The city or I would rather say the Essaouira village itself is not pretty big, therefore a perfect place to recuperate after a very long journey. The owner lady Sue is very very friendly and very nice, too bad we could only meet her only shortly. One thing that I would like to emphasize is that this riad employed Women from the village, so by staying there you also contribute economically and socially to the village.
Most of the service lady if not all can only speak french and arab (or morroccan? pardon my ignorance) sadly (for us), but they were still very friendly and still tried their best to communicate with us and give us direction and tips (it's unimagineable but one of them successfully informed us about the whereabout of a pharmacy since some of us caught cold, with lots of drawings, but hey it worked)
I definitely recommend this Riad if you visit essaouira, it's located strategically, yet it was quiet, you got ocean view and city view from the rooftop, nice breakfast, nice and friendly service and we could really relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tenjoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

heheh...LOVE the 'Lady Sue'....think I will adopt this tag!
LOVE even more, that you have noticed that we have ladies working for us, who would perhaps have been otherwise unemployed...well spotted...and they are wonderful! Considering my number 1 lady had never been to school...it is remarkable what one can learn in so short a time...with the correct attitude from both my side and their's...they even all now send me emails, when I am travelling! How amazing is that? And, as noted in a previous comment, you also were able to communicate very successfully with them. KUDOS to both of you! And thanks for the wonderful review....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

My mum and I stayed in LUNETOILE and it was fantastic!
Unfortunately we could only stay in Essaouira for a few days but while we were there, Sue (the lovely owner) took us on a foodies dream tour. Its a gorgeous village perfect to take advantage of Sues' local knowledge, definitely listen to where she recommends for dinner and snacks. The room and staff were great too, the Riad has an excellent location with rooftop access on which you can take breakfast while watching the sea. This was one of our best stays in Morocco.
I will go back, I recommend it to anyone heading in that direction!
Thanks Sue xx.

Room Tip: Ask to see any room before committing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaya O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

'EXCELLENT LOCATION'
One of our 'BEST STAYS' in Morocco
Thank you so very very much...,.Mum and daughter Food Frenzy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Wonderful palce, beautifully decorated. In the middle of medina, with the ocean view form the roof tarasse. I definatelly recommend the place and would come back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mstylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Short, sweet, and complimentary!!! Many many thanks...and do come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Beautifully decorated riad run by friendly Zim woman who, together with great staff, will make you feel welcomed to this small coastal town. We stayed on the first floor in one of two rooms without private bath. The bathroom was on the same floor and as the other room was empty we had it to ourselves. Breakfast was small but satisfying with tea, juice, croissant, marmelades and home-made yoghurt. Owner Sue speaks English, French and some Arabic. Rest of staff speak French and Arabic. the riad is conveniently located at the end of the main tourist street lined with shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebergcrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

GREAT RIAD in GOOD LOCATION.... thank you..certainly it is, very well placed, at the top end of the main street in Essaouira...no need to go down any small alleys....
Thank you so much for this lovely review...Love the 'small' breakfast!!! heheheh...we serve a Continental breakfast, which, I always believe to be very very adequate....most people indeed do leave some of the baguette/bread... Fresh orange juice, home-made yoghurt, fresh warm, croissant and butter and assortment of jams, baguette/bread and butter and jam, followed by tea/coffee/hot choc/mint tea of your choice....I'd say..Bon Appetit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2011

Charming and authentic old riad in the middle of town. It's not overdone and really feels like Morocco, The top floor suite that we used with our family was lovely with small private terrace to relax. Beds were a bit hard The owner Sue is very welcoming to her guests and will give a lot of good tips. Essaouira is a very worthwile destination.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Thanks so much for this lovely review....CHARMING and AUTHENTIC... Yes, some people find the beds hard, some say they sleep beautifully. The mattresses are new and sorry that you found them a little on the hard side...this is such an individual thing. We do buy what we feel to be the best quality of mattress for the riad, and, thankfully, in the main...most people sleep very well.
Thanks so much for visiting Lunetoile, and for taking the time to write your caring review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Fantastic hospitality (especial thanks to Kabira), very clean and comfortable room, good breakfast, central location, fresh rose petals in the bathroom each morning... what more could you ask for?

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Ute S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunetoile, Owner at Riad Lunetoile, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2011

Thank you very much for your complimentary report, which we really do appreciate...thank you from all of us at Lunetoile, and I will certainly pass on your praise to Kabira...thanks, Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
849 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#1 of 180 in Essaouira
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Hotel Blue Kaouki
Hotel Blue Kaouki
#15 of 180 in Essaouira
122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jack's Apartments & suites
Jack's Apartments & suites
#27 of 180 in Essaouira
134 reviews
0.2 mi away
RIad Dar El Paco
RIad Dar El Paco
#10 of 180 in Essaouira
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lunetoile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lunetoile

Address: 191 Rue Sidi Mohamed Ben Abdullah | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: $38 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Lunetoile 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Lunetoile, situated in the heart of the Medina, with sea-views from the top terrace and from apartment 5, is the ideal relaxing, comfortable, holiday home / guest-house / B&B, to rent, in Essaouira. Ideal for surfers, individuals, couples or families... our Moroccan hospitality will enthrall you.....so, Submit yourself to a gentle introduction to true Moroccan hospitality, mixed with a little European comfort, and spiced up with a few Indian accessories. Enjoy all, that the Orient, has to offer, whilst still being in Africa!Savour our home-made BISUITS and sip mint tea from our sea-facing, rooftop terrace and listen to the waves of the Atlantic Ocean, crashing onto the rocks, whilst you let yourself drift into the mysteries of this far-away, Arabic, land. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Lunetoile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing