We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre tourist hotel on wLking distance of tge centre of Essaouira.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau Plage Essaouira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Plage Essaouira
Ranked #75 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Wolvega Netherlands
Level Contributor
196 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Mediocre tourist hotel on wLking distance of tge centre of Essaouira.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Magically designed rooms containing double bed, tv without international channels, toilet, shower and sink. Hygine is mediocre as is the state of msintainsnce. Staff is both watching TV and Websurfing and has little time to spare for the guests. Breakfast is okay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Otter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    2
    3
    4
    7
See reviews for
3
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag, Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Not a good hotel; rooms are rather small, miss storageroom, showers are tiny and run-down. Distance from the charming town of Essaouira is close to half an hour walk, distance to the beach is 5 minutes, or 10 minutes if you want a chair from one of the better hotels.
Breakfast is standard french: coffee/tea, pain and pain au chocolat, marmelade, boiled egg. Best point of the hotel is the roof terrace (with unfortunately one large building between the hotel and the sea).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene_Jakobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Essaouira hotels

London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2010

We were travelling around Morocco with Explore Tour, and we spent two nights in this hotel.

Initially, they gave us a room that was so small that we cannot put are luggage in: the room was just few centimetres bigger than the beds. The bathroom layout was just crazy: it was a narrow and smelly, with the shower between the basin and the wc: this means that if you take a shower, you need to share the space with the wc! After complaining, we were moved into a so-called suite. The space was better, the bathroom with a better layout, and not so-smelly. The rooms in the ground floor are really noisy (we have been told) as the guy at the reception was listening to the TV all the night.

The hotel is in a dodgy and narrow street, and it is far away from the centre: there are plenty of other hotel in Essaouira, thus I don't know why you should choose this one.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

never have been in such a small room - couldn't pass eachother !
black coffee in the lounge 20 DH ! in the village on a nice terrace 7 DH !
In spite of seasight we had view on the backyard with rubbish
ofcourse sanitair didn't function well

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank villadorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Al Jasira Hotel
Al Jasira Hotel
#46 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#36 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ryad Mogador Essaouira
Hotel Ryad Mogador Essaouira
#73 of 78 in Essaouira
3.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#32 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Emeraude
Hotel Emeraude
#40 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad El Mess
Riad El Mess
#67 of 78 in Essaouira
3.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Plage Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Plage Essaouira

Property: Chateau Plage Essaouira
Address: 18 Rue Princesse Lalla Hasna | Quartier des Dunes, Essaouira 44000, Morocco (Formerly Hotel Chateau Mogador)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Chateau Plage Essaouira 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Chateau Plage Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing