We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Sidi Kouki” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Soleil to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Soleil
Plage de Sidi Kaouki | Sidi Kaouki / Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Santander
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best hotel in Sidi Kouki”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel was perfect to stay one week at Sidi Kaouki. It is clean, the rooms are beautiful painted all in white and blue. The bed was excelent. And the bathroom also perfect. I was staying with a friend doing surf there in the atic where there are two rooms, one for a couple and another with two beds. The best thing is the little terrace where we passed the nights looking at the stars. Super views of the sky.
It is next to the beach. In the middle of the turistic beach and the fisher beach. Very well located.
Finally, the breakfast was perfect, with a french air, bread, mermelade, coffee or tea, crepe... really nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eli I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Love this place. Beautifully decorated, clean rooms, sunny weather, right next to a quiet beach. Very lovely staff that run the villa and a good breakfast included in the stay. Wifi access is available although quite slow. The beach and village itself are absolutely lovely minus the fact that on some days, the wind is quite extreme and can make sitting out on the beach unattractive. However, on those days you can retreat to the hotel where the high walls block out the wind and you can lay in a hammock or sit in a chair on your sun porch. Inexpensive restaurants serving fresh fish right by the water. The only drawbacks for us were first that we didn't know the hotel was cash only and there is no ATM or bank in Sidi Kaouki so one person went with us back to Essaouira so we could pay them. Also, it was Ramadan so the hotel was not serving any dinner but a couple of other places do serve dinner (although options are limited). Only wish we could have stayed longer. A very relaxing place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlamNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We took a fifty pence bus ride from Essaouira - which leaves from just outside the North gate every hour and a quarter. We had booked two nights' stay in advance by email and were greeted warmly. The room (in a series of bungalows) was airy and clean and pleasantly decorated in a modern style. The garden was delightful and we enjoyed the hammocks. Breakfast was good, taken on the beautiful front terrace and the extra cost was very reasonable. Belgian owner Marie is charming and extremely helpful. We recommend taking a torch if you are planning to eat out as the riad is off the road, down a short but stony unlit track and the road itself is also unlit. The beach was never busy and we had it to ourselves when we went for an early morning swim - accompanied by the resident pack of amazingly friendly, and playful semi-feral dogs - we were glad that we'd had the foresight to tie our bag of towels and keys etc to the lifeguard perch. The large wooden fronted German-run surf school/bar/restaurant served excellent burgers, Vietnamese food and cold beer. We really enjoyed sardines and fresh bread from the snack kiosk nearest the beach too.
All in all a beautiful, friendly place to stay, in a wonderful location. We can't recommend it highly enough, and hope to be back soon. Thank you Marie!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkandKath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Earlier this year my husband and I embarked on a two week trip of Morocco. Most of our time was spent between the cities of Marrakech an Agadir but we managed to squeeze a two day visit to Essaouira before we came back to London.
However, thanks to last minute booking and a great deal of rushing through information we didn't realise that Sidi Kaouki was at least a 30 min drive from Essaouira( I know, stupid, right?)! After some negotiation we found a reasonably priced taxi fare. We hoped on a that cab crossing fingers and hoping everything turned not to be a huge mistake and apparently our prayers were answered.
There's no sightseeing, no special attraction in the area_thankfully! After all the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, Sidi Kaouki proved to be a very welcomed change of pace. We were actually able to relax for the first time on our entire trip. The hotel was also the best we stayed at in Morocco. It's a pretty white washed villa, located in a green spot close to beach. The dinner is delicious and the breakfast quite filling. The best part has to be the service, both welcoming and non intrusive. And here goes a tip: do yourself a favour and carry some cash as the closest cashpoint is in Essaouira. The hotel owner was really kind and gave us a ride to a bank in the city, but next time we will know better.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frocknroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

If you are going to Essaouira you have to stay in Sidi Kaouki for at least a night or two. It has the laid back beachy atmosphere that you daydream about when you are stuck in traffic on a rainy day in February.
We stayed in a range of places and in Marrakech and Esaouira from cheap riads to the most expensive. Hotel Villa Soliel was a highlight and should not be missed. What really made it stand out was the hospitality and the quality of food. The hotel owner Jean Marc really wants you to have a great experience when you stay here. There was a choice for breakfast but we had fresh eggs and bread every morning with really good coffee... always beautifully presented. There was a good atmosphere at dinner which was eagerly awaited on the patio at sunset. We had melt in the mouth steak cooked to perfection on the barbecue, fresh sardines and one of the best tagines we had in Morrocco.
Hotel Villa Soliel is definately value for money and Jean Marc's attention to detail and generosity made a lasting impression. Danielle and Sean (from Ireland)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scallywaglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We really enjoyed our relaxing week in Villa Soleil. It is absolutely the right place for a downtime of the daily routine! The whole staffs of the hotel are very friendly and pleasant. Every other day I enjoyed one hour massage. Manicure and pedicure is offered as well.
The whole hotel is equipped and styled in a very appealing way and we understood that lot of passion is behind it. Each room has an individual décor and the bathroom is pretty appointed as well.
A special highlight are the relaxing outside areas, the patio with single and queen-size beds :-) and the terrace with basket-chair where we had breakfast and dinner, which both have been most delicious. The beach – only a few steps away – is a suitably place for spirit and soul too. If you are looking for a regenerative time-out I can really recommend Hotel Villa Soleil. Sidi Kaouki is also a popular place for surfing and a visit to Essaouiras should not be missed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cintel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Hotel Villa Soleil is a great way to escape the hiustle and bustle of the cities of Morocco. Located a ston'es throw away from the beach the hotel is extremely comfortable and the extremely affable French host conjures up delicious dinners each night in the whitewashed surroundings of the moonlit restaurant. the room itself was similarly minimalist and chic with a more than competent bathroom adn there is a very nice lounging area that can be nice to escape the strong winds on the beach. The town itself is very small with a couple of nice restaurants and the beach is great for long walks and exploring, far emptier than the similar one at Essaouira. i would highly recomend Hotel Villa Soleil for a great few days.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hughandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
6.0 mi away
Villa Gonatouki
Villa Gonatouki
#1 of 2 in Ghazoua
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
10.6 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery Collection
10.1 mi away
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
Atlas Essaouira & Spa
#42 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Ryad Mogador Essaouira
Hotel Ryad Mogador Essaouira
#63 of 78 in Essaouira
3.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
10.0 mi away
Riad Zahra Mogador
Riad Zahra Mogador
#13 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soleil

Address: Plage de Sidi Kaouki | Sidi Kaouki / Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Soleil is the brainchild of a Belgian couple who had five bungalows build in the grounds of a villa, to create a total of nine hotel rooms. Every room has its own patio, shower, washbasin and toilet. The hotel is conceived as an Arab medina with little alleyways, stone arches and antique wooden gateways and doorways. There is a spacious courtyard with palm trees and a few smaller courts where breakfast is served and which are delightful spots for a peaceful sojourn. The first floor of the villa has a penthouse comprising a Moroccan lounge, two bedrooms with double bed, a bathroom with bad and shower and a spacious balcony overlooking the sea. Plage de Sidi Kaouki Essaouira, one of the best surfing spots in the world. Plage de Sidi Kaouki is on the Atlantic ocean about 20 km south of Essaouira. (160 km from Agadir, 150 km from Marrakech) It has miles of sandy beach and is encircled by extensive woodland. It is a rural area where you will have the opportunity to meet the barbers and see their way of live. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleil Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing