We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Peaceful retreat with excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Soleil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Soleil
Ranked #47 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful retreat with excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Earlier this year my husband and I embarked on a two week trip of Morocco. Most of our time was spent between the cities of Marrakech an Agadir but we managed to squeeze a two day visit to Essaouira before we came back to London.
However, thanks to last minute booking and a great deal of rushing through information we didn't realise that Sidi Kaouki was at least a 30 min drive from Essaouira( I know, stupid, right?)! After some negotiation we found a reasonably priced taxi fare. We hoped on a that cab crossing fingers and hoping everything turned not to be a huge mistake and apparently our prayers were answered.
There's no sightseeing, no special attraction in the area_thankfully! After all the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, Sidi Kaouki proved to be a very welcomed change of pace. We were actually able to relax for the first time on our entire trip. The hotel was also the best we stayed at in Morocco. It's a pretty white washed villa, located in a green spot close to beach. The dinner is delicious and the breakfast quite filling. The best part has to be the service, both welcoming and non intrusive. And here goes a tip: do yourself a favour and carry some cash as the closest cashpoint is in Essaouira. The hotel owner was really kind and gave us a ride to a bank in the city, but next time we will know better.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frocknroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    19
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
19
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

If you are going to Essaouira you have to stay in Sidi Kaouki for at least a night or two. It has the laid back beachy atmosphere that you daydream about when you are stuck in traffic on a rainy day in February.
We stayed in a range of places and in Marrakech and Esaouira from cheap riads to the most expensive. Hotel Villa Soliel was a highlight and should not be missed. What really made it stand out was the hospitality and the quality of food. The hotel owner Jean Marc really wants you to have a great experience when you stay here. There was a choice for breakfast but we had fresh eggs and bread every morning with really good coffee... always beautifully presented. There was a good atmosphere at dinner which was eagerly awaited on the patio at sunset. We had melt in the mouth steak cooked to perfection on the barbecue, fresh sardines and one of the best tagines we had in Morrocco.
Hotel Villa Soliel is definately value for money and Jean Marc's attention to detail and generosity made a lasting impression. Danielle and Sean (from Ireland)

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scallywaglondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2009

We really enjoyed our relaxing week in Villa Soleil. It is absolutely the right place for a downtime of the daily routine! The whole staffs of the hotel are very friendly and pleasant. Every other day I enjoyed one hour massage. Manicure and pedicure is offered as well.
The whole hotel is equipped and styled in a very appealing way and we understood that lot of passion is behind it. Each room has an individual décor and the bathroom is pretty appointed as well.
A special highlight are the relaxing outside areas, the patio with single and queen-size beds :-) and the terrace with basket-chair where we had breakfast and dinner, which both have been most delicious. The beach – only a few steps away – is a suitably place for spirit and soul too. If you are looking for a regenerative time-out I can really recommend Hotel Villa Soleil. Sidi Kaouki is also a popular place for surfing and a visit to Essaouiras should not be missed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cintel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Hotel Villa Soleil is a great way to escape the hiustle and bustle of the cities of Morocco. Located a ston'es throw away from the beach the hotel is extremely comfortable and the extremely affable French host conjures up delicious dinners each night in the whitewashed surroundings of the moonlit restaurant. the room itself was similarly minimalist and chic with a more than competent bathroom adn there is a very nice lounging area that can be nice to escape the strong winds on the beach. The town itself is very small with a couple of nice restaurants and the beach is great for long walks and exploring, far emptier than the similar one at Essaouira. i would highly recomend Hotel Villa Soleil for a great few days.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hughandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We stayed at this hotel with friends and young children.

The rooms were simple but tastefully decorated. The pressure in the shower was really low, barely a trickle, but that didn't bother us particularly.

We noticed a lot of cockroaches in the room at night. We killed at least ten and my husband was woken up by one crawling across his chest. When we told the owner about it, he denied it was a problem.

We ate one meal in the hotel. The fresh fish and vegetables were very good. Unfortunately something was really wrong with the desert and all of us agreed it tasted badly off. When we pointed this out to the manager she just denied there was anything wrong, without tasting it to check or aknowledging there might be a problem.

All the other reviews on this site are positive (one of the reasons we came here) so maybe we just caught everyone on a bad day. Despite denying the problem, hopefully the owner will do something about the cockroaches though.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We were looking for an alternative to Essaouira where we could relax on the beach without the crowds and the little town of Sidi Kaouki fit the bill. The rooms are fairly spartan and simple but very clean with plenty of hot water, a comfortable bed, and a soothing peaceful vibe. We also ate dinner there one night and it was excellent. Our wonderful host Jean Marc kept the beer flowing which is a big deal in an otherwise tiny Moroccan village! Good breakfast too -nice to have eggs again after getting carbo-loaded at the Fez and Marakech riads. The long, sandy beach is a short walk down the dirt road. It's windy on the coast but the water while we were there was good for swimming with tiny waves. We definitely recommend it. FYI: It's easy to find a taxi or bus from Essaoira to Sidi Kaouki but it was a bit harder to get one back - be prepared to share a Grand Taxi (an old Mercedes - the Moroccan equivalent of a mini-van) with a few locals heading into town.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank budhabellies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

As owner of travel agency I stay very often at 5 star hotels. None of them offered the same hospitality as Jean-Marc and his team did. It is just stunning. You did not even mention your wish it is already fulfilled. With every coffee or tea a surprise will come along (fresh cake, crepe or fruits). The breakfast in the morning is very tasty and the diner in the evening something you shouldn't miss (french- maroccan fusion).
The rooms are big and stylish as the patio with the daybeds. Upstairs is a room with a private terrasse. You may watch the sunset over the ocean or the million stars. The beach is pretty and not crowded at all. After a short stroll at the beach you find a tiny rustic fishing village with a lovely restaurant.
Sidi Kaouiki and especially Villa Soleil are a must for a romantic trip. Thanks Jean-Marc.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnyMunich_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
10.1 mi away
Al Jasira Hotel
Al Jasira Hotel
#44 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
11.0 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#36 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 165 reviews
10.9 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#37 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel Ryad Mogador Essaouira
Hotel Ryad Mogador Essaouira
#74 of 78 in Essaouira
3.0 of 5 stars 185 reviews
14.2 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#25 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
10.9 mi away
Hotel Emeraude
Hotel Emeraude
#42 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Soleil

Property: Hotel Villa Soleil
Address: Plage de Sidi Kaouki | Sidi Kaouki / Essaouira, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Soleil is the brainchild of a Belgian couple who had five bungalows build in the grounds of a villa, to create a total of nine hotel rooms. Every room has its own patio, shower, washbasin and toilet. The hotel is conceived as an Arab medina with little alleyways, stone arches and antique wooden gateways and doorways. There is a spacious courtyard with palm trees and a few smaller courts where breakfast is served and which are delightful spots for a peaceful sojourn. The first floor of the villa has a penthouse comprising a Moroccan lounge, two bedrooms with double bed, a bathroom with bad and shower and a spacious balcony overlooking the sea. Plage de Sidi Kaouki Essaouira, one of the best surfing spots in the world. Plage de Sidi Kaouki is on the Atlantic ocean about 20 km south of Essaouira. (160 km from Agadir, 150 km from Marrakech) It has miles of sandy beach and is encircled by extensive woodland. It is a rural area where you will have the opportunity to meet the barbers and see their way of live. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soleil Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing