We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“See you again!”
Review of Riad Dar Afram

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Afram
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012

What a fantastic place - we wanted to stay for one night just stay for four in total. Maroccan food for dinner, a song from Afram on the guitar and the best hosts with Abdul & Taz. Book if you can, Philipp

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kjell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 150 reviews

Reviewed December 12, 2012

Absolutely top notch!!
I was planning to stay in Essaouira for a few days, and initially booked another Riad online for the first couple of nights.
I met Taz and Abdul at the local tea house, and asked them for pointers in the town.
Fortunately they pointed me to their wonderful Dar Afram. I visited them that evening and was treated to a fabulous show of live music, entertaining chat and a delicious home cooked meal.
I decided to move in the next day, and ended up staying for the best part of 3 weeks.
Abdul and Taz made me feel right at home, and almost one of the family.
I cant wait to return for another few weeks of R&R, creative vibes and fantastic live music every evening!!
One of the best places I've EVER stayed, and I am very well traveled.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jonmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We got off the bus in Essaouira having no place to stay. Luckily for us Taz from Riad Dar Afram was there to save the day and brought us to his beautiful Riad. We stayed there for four days soaking up the sun on the roof top gazing out at the sea view. The rooms are tastefully furnished and very clean. The decor throughout the riad is really lovely. The food was great, fresh and nutritious and the company fantastic. Every night the guitar came out and the singing went on into the small hours. If you want a home from home with two wonderful hosts Taz and Abe don't miss the Dar Afram experience. Thanks guys :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I absolutely loved my stay at Dar Afram - great hospitality, nice people, very good breakfast (especially when you carry your tray all the way up to the roof terrace!) and the music never seems to stop at this place!
Although Essaouira is anyways not big and distances are close from almost all places, the neighbourhood is really nice and definitely another plus.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelLin1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We had a week here in late september and we really enjoyed it. Lovely musical vibes, really nice social dinners with great hosts, a sweet roof terrace and soon to be roof bar/bbq experience. I would most definitely return! Abdul's & Taz's hospitality was second to none and they really like to have a jam on the guitars, inviting everyone to get involved! Loved it! Tnx guys.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhythmPest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Slept here for 5 days during our stay in Essaouira. We were doing a fairly low-budget trip and slept in hostels and cheap hotels and this was surely one of the best value for money I've ever had! This is not the most important thing though because its a great place to stay without looking at the price. The young australian/maroccan guy running it is an extremely chilled and friendly guy that is willing to help you with anything you ask. In the evening there is the option to eat in the common room together with any other guests that have decided to try the exquisite cooking of two lovely ladies, and exquisite it was! The roof-terrace is also great; breakfast in the morning sun and a drink overlooking the sunset. We were in a different place the first couple of nights in Essaouira and I'd recommend anyone going to Essaouira to check out Dar Afram!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bart s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

A friend and I stayed here in December 2011 for 3 nights. Good spacious rooms, shared bathroom (but was never a problem). Pretty basic accommodation but a very cool rooftop terrace where we could eat breakfast (included and homemade) and enjoy the sunshine. The owners are laid-back and very helpful. You can also get dinner here for an extra charge. The location is hard to find (you'd need a guide most likely) but it's in a good location and close to a very good hammam and spa called The Sahara (highly recommended for massages!). Water was hot but rooms were a little cold at this time of year (no heating in rooms). All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianInKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 75 in Essaouira
511 reviews
8 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#11 of 75 in Essaouira
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#35 of 75 in Essaouira
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,140 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#10 of 75 in Essaouira
704 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Afram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Afram

Address: 10 Rue Sidi Magdoul, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Essaouira
Price Range: $39 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Afram is famous for music, a funky vibe and a special, unique atmosphere. A beautiful traditional riad run by friendly aussie-moroccans.There are 6 high standard spotless bedrooms like apartments with private bathroom and showers, sleeping 2 to 4 people. There is also a single and shared rooms available.You can enjoy a fantastic 360 degrees view of the sea and see far accross the roofs of the medina.Breakfast is included and is usually served on the terrace. Sunset barbeques is another feature of this wonderful terrace.Communal evening meals are organised everynight with some of the towns finest chefs and live music follows. Musicians and artists from all over the world visit dar afram. We even have an online you tube channel that captures some of the talent flowing through. Check out Dar Afram TV for some of the live perfomances.As written in our trip advisor and lonely planet reviews, Dar Afram is the pefect place to meet people and make new friends.A house of charm, inspiration and good feeling which is beautifully decorated with various art and antiques.Our guests often stay longer than expected and truly feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Dar Afram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing