We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Dar Afram
Nearby Hotels
Riad Chbanate(Essaouira)
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Madada Mogador(Essaouira)
$119
$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palais des Remparts(Essaouira)(Great Value!)
$57
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Riad Baladin(Essaouira)
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Watier(Essaouira)
$96
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$215
$202
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Quieta(Essaouira)
$215
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Perle d'Eau(Essaouira)
$86
$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$348
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveler rating
119
16
13
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
16
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroof terracethe ownercommon roomplace to staymemorable staystayed for two nightswelcoming placehot waterthe room was nicecouple of nightsnice breakfastocean viewnice stayhome away from homethe location is perfectfirst floorguitar
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 152 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

A friend and I stayed here in December 2011 for 3 nights. Good spacious rooms, shared bathroom (but was never a problem). Pretty basic accommodation but a very cool rooftop terrace where we could eat breakfast (included and homemade) and enjoy the sunshine. The owners are laid-back and very helpful. You can also get dinner here for an extra charge. The location is hard to find (you'd need a guide most likely) but it's in a good location and close to a very good hammam and spa called The Sahara (highly recommended for massages!). Water was hot but rooms were a little cold at this time of year (no heating in rooms). All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianInKiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is a really nice hostel/small hotel for travelers in Essaouira.

Taz is a brilliant host and so are the kind and generous ladies serving breakfast, which, by the way, is quite good for the price.

I would love to return and experience the amazing "vibes" and sense of community that so many others have praised Dar Afram for online, and in its guest books. Trust me, this is a great place for both young and fun-minded older travelers to stay and enjoy.

Location is stellar, too. Plenty of hot water in the spotless bathrooms.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwiz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

i love this riad - authentic moroccan in every way with beautiful design, great food and wonderful music - the bar area is great and reasonably priced - the food is superb and beautifully prepared by moroccan women in the kitchen and the owner Taz - makes everyone feel so welcome

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

The fact that we were not the only ones we know who have extended their stay in Dar Afram says a lot about how warm and welcoming the place is. Obviously Essaouira is a great place to relax for a few days, but if we had not had such a great time in Dar Afram we would have spent the extra days somewhere else.

All rooms are clean and spacious, set around the internal courtyard of an old, restored riad. The riad itself is tucked away in a quiet corner of the medina, seconds away from one of the main streets and a couple of minutes walk from where most of the shops are. There is also a rooftop terrace with chairs and sofas, with views to the sea over the medina walls. It is an ideal place to have breakfast or just relax, read books or play one of the guitars laying around the place.

The breakfast included is generous, and the manager organises dinner in the evening for whoever wants to join. They are delicious, reasonably priced and a great opportunity to meet other travellers and exchange tales. Most importantly, there is beer and wine available.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JorgeBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I originally went to Essaouira for three nights, and ended up staying in Dar Afram for nearly two weeks. I extended my trip in Morocco whilst here and this place was the main reason I did so. I even returned here for a few more nights later on in my trip.

My praise is due to a wide variety of reasons, but first and foremost must be the company. It is the perfect environment for meeting other people, and most nights consisted of sitting around in the lovely 'living room', roof terrace, or just about any of the beautifully decorated rooms, with lots of cool people, chatting, playing music and just generally enjoying myself.
The food is fantastic (thanks Malika!) if a little pricy, but well worth every penny, especially as dinner-time provides another opportunity for socialising. The availability of red wine (and other drinks) another plus....
The only problem I can see is if you really need your early nights, as although people were respectful, and rooms seem very separate from the communal areas, you probably won't be able to drag yourself away until late.
In terms of facilities and cleanliness etc it's great; internet generally available (not that you'll want to spend too much time online anyway), bathrooms well stocked and always spotless, and the dorm room I was sleeping in was always immaculate too, despite my best efforts otherwise! It is right in the centre of town, and very close to the main square and most shops, as well as feeling right on the sea, particularly from the roof.
Special mention must go out to the owners, who were always ready to help, but most importantly just available to have a chat, entertain, make people feel at home and generally create a good atmosphere. Thanks Taz, I will be back!

Anyway, stop reading my comments, and just go there!

Room Tip: The dorm room is the cheapest, and feels like a private.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cemblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews