We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and comfortable”
Review of La Maison Du Vent

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Maison Du Vent
Ranked #29 of 175 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Simple and comfortable”
Reviewed October 1, 2008

We stayed here for 3 nights while on our honeymoon which was mainly based in Marrakech. It's simple, clean and very spacious (we were in room no 7 which is a suite, so it had an extra room). The decor is a bit dated, but the bathroom's nicer. The hotel is in a very quiet part of the Medina, mainly residential, and we found it silent and peaceful. Although it may look out of the way on the map, it's only a 5 minute walk away from anything in the centre, the medina is actually pretty small. The terrace is really gorgeous, (perhaps the nicest thing about the hotel!) but it was never used at all which seemed a pity as the space is great and the weather was perfect. In all, it's a pretty basic room, don't expect anything spectacular, but for the price (we paid about 65 euro a night) it was also good value. We found it very difficult to get a hold of the manager to ask him about things, but it turned out we did all right by ourselves. Essaouira is a really gorgeous place that I would love to come back to but I would probably look into another place to stay.

  • Liked — the terrace
  • Disliked — the room and lack of hospitality on the part of the owner
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank hapagirl_italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    50
    12
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
66
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 9, 2008

I have booked La maison du vent after seeing the beautiful photos on their web site.
This riad is full of charme, Alberto and Serafina are nice host , the staff is friendly, all of them made us feel home during the 3 days we were there. Our room on the second floor, was spacious and nicely decorated, as the rest of the Riad. Serafina gave us the address of a local Hammam outside Essaouira, it was perfect! Not fancy, no turist, only local women, the real hammam. We have followed also her advise for a typical marroccan Restaurant in Essaouira, we have tryied both of them and they were excellent!
If one day I'll go back to Essaouira, I will not hesitate to go again to La maison du Vent.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Vania14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2008

A nice stay overall if you can cope with the hard bed and the open sewage problems in the alleys of the old Medina. Lovely decor in the lobby, helpful owner, hot shower and nice breakfast, what more could you want!

  • Liked — no noise at night
  • Disliked — smelly alleys en route
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kinobe24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights at this extremely CLEAN and beautifully restored Riad. Wonderful bathrooms and reliable plumbing, a rarity in Morocco in this price range.

Alberto and his wife were welcoming and made efforts to communicate in English. Staff is great. Did laundry overnight.

Place is a find. 800 DH for two persons for 2 nights a bargain. Just a little over $50 per night including a good continental breakfast.

Location was good for us. Close to main streets in the medina and close to main portals that take you outside the medina where we were able to park our car.

  • Liked — Size & quality of room and bathroom, quality & beauty of furnishings.
  • Disliked — Using a padlock on the door a bit cumbersome. The fact that there is no elevator did not bother us, but might bother others.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Force 1 Intrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2007

We had a really great time (4 nights) in this little riad in the medina of Essaouira.
Well-decorated, the house was beautiful. We had a room on the first floor (the cheapest - 40€/night) and it was really nice, quiet (as quiet as it can be, since it is in the medina) and spacious. And so was the bathroom (with really hot water). The breakfast was OK and it was really nice to enjoy the sun on the terrasse even though the seats were a bit old/broken. I definetely recommend this ryad.

  • Liked — very nice - few rooms - great terrasse
  • Disliked — hard to find
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tomy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2007

I can't seem to find the Maison du Vent hotel on the list. It is a small riad run by an Italian couple. Nice, clean rooms with plenty of hot water, good continental breakfast included. It is in the medina but not centrally located. I highly recommend it.
The stairs are a bit steep so this might be a problem for people with limited mobility.

Helpful?
1 Thank sneffles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2007

Maison Du Vent provided a good base from which to visit Essaouria, the rooms are pleasant and service ok. BUT, a watch was stolen from bags in our room which was padlocked and only accessible by staff. In addition, what appeared to be a theft by someone working there did not concern the manager when we reported it, he seemed more shocked that we expected him to even look into it! This hasn't been reported before on Tripadvisor so hopefully was a one off but extra vigilance would be advised.

  • Disliked — Theft by staff!!!!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbbyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#26 of 74 in Essaouira
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#28 of 74 in Essaouira
101 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#20 of 74 in Essaouira
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Hotel Emeraude
Riad Hotel Emeraude
#38 of 74 in Essaouira
138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#37 of 74 in Essaouira
263 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#7 of 74 in Essaouira
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Du Vent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Du Vent

Property: La Maison Du Vent
Address: 25 Rue Mourabitine, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Maison Du Vent 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Maison Du Vent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing