We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best riad for value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Asmitou

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Asmitou
Ranked #36 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Best riad for value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Wonderfull place, it honestly has everything needed for a confortable stay especially at that price. God bed, heating, nice shower's, wifi, nice terrace for breakfast, good service... I definitly recommand it for tourists. Thank you Asmaa and Aziz for making the stay really nice.

Room Tip: Get the room with the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abderrahmane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleH R, Gérant at Riad Asmitou, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear,

It's a lovely message for our team.
Thanks for them.
It'll be a pleasure to see you again.
Best regards
Carole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    54
    18
    3
    2
See reviews for
32
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

My daughter and I visited here recently for 5 nights. It was a nice experience for us. They have an excellent male manager who is helpful and brought us our breakfast every morning either on the roof top terrace or in the cozy dining room. The rooms, dining room have an artistic design with beautiful lighting. The breafasts are very nice. You can get to the shopping areas and beach very easily through the alleyway which is a real authentic experience (Alleyway can be noisy at night). Alleyway if full of tailors and tiny businesses and is kind of dirty but very interesting. The hotel is budget friendly but is pretty. We went on a wonderful 2 hour camel ride at the other end of the beach for a very reasonable price. Lots of folks were riding horses, too. Some surfers. The beach is beautiful here and gets better and you hike away from the town!!! Get a cart man from the bus stop to help you with your luggage!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caroleH R, Gérant at Riad Asmitou, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Hi
Thanks for Adelatitf , it's pround to made as well possible it's work during night.

See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

I just recently come back from Morocco and would like to recommend Riad Asmitou to all of you who looks for unique place to stay in Essaouira. Recently renovated makes a magnificent impression! Very friendly and professional staff members makes you feel very welcome and helps with anything you need. Standard of the rooms and hotel's facilities is very good. If you also look for something to do in Essaouira, you are in the right place as Riad Asmitou through Camel Agency can organize lots of different activities to make your time in Morocco special; I personally recommend camel ride or, if you want to see a real Morocco, visit to a local market called Had Dra. Riad is in a prefect location and also serves very good food.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor give you good opportunity to enjoy a panoramic view over medina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrycja B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

Traveling with college aged daughter and had one night in beautiful Essaouria so chose this riad based on recommendation from owner of riad we were staying at in Marrakesh. Booked beginning of October through booking.com and when I emailed riad week before trip to confirm, both email addresses for this place were either not found or inbox was full.

When we checked in Christmas day at noon the clerk served us mint tea while looking into our arrangements. She soon told us that a family was coming in that evening and needed that room, but she would take us to another riad they worked with down the street who had a larger room for the same price and then we could make our choice. After viewing the room at the Asmitou (only room on top floor by sun terrace- looked very nice and well kept and had 2 beds- that is why I booked it specifically), we were led to another riad a few minutes away to see what they had to offer. The room was larger, but the rooftop terrace area not as nice and it being a beautiful day I wanted to enjoy some Christmas warmth. We told the clerk thank you , but we would like to say at Asmitou as originally planned .Apparently we really did not have a choice as she earlier stated and she again explained that a family was coming in. We'd wasted enough time of our one day over this so we said fine we'd stay at the other riad (which ended up being a great choice on our part).

After she left , the clerk at the new riad said that this was atypical and not a a very nice think to do to travelers.We felt like we had been "dumped". However, we did realize the clerk at Asmitou was only carrying out what she was instructed to do by the owner so I really can't fault her for this.She handled it the best she knew how.

Someone at Asmitou should have communicated this last minute change in plans to us prior to our arrival.For the way this whole situation was handled, I can't recommend booking here.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Denneryboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Riad Asmitou is a nicely renovated riad in the middle of the Medina in Essaouira. The service was exceptional and breakfast good (typical Moroccan, but also with yugurt and fresh orange juice). The decoration is stylish, with each room different from the others. The location could not be better, just 1-2 minutes walk from the main street of the Medina.
The location also means that there is no parking possibility. You have to leave the car outside the city walls of the medina (guarded parking costs about 10 Dhs / nights).
The main drawback of the riad is the bed, which are very uncomfortable. It is difficult to have a good sleep.
Another drawback was the lack of hot water. For some reason they turned off the hot water for the night (to save on electricity?) so that we had to ask them several time to turn it back again, but unfortunately the person in the morning did not know how to do it.
Because of these problems, the riad is quite expensive, despite the considerable investment in the decoration and furniture. I regret to say that because of the sleep quality, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travellel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed here for one night arriving later in the evening. There was confusion about our booking, we had booked a family room for 4 and on arrival we were told they did not have any family rooms! Unfortunately the night porter spoke no english and even the day staff had trouble explaining the situation. Good location but many stairs and by our experiences over a two week visit nothing outstanding in either facilities or service.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guidedbythelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Just inside the medina walls, this riad is in a fairly good location and the directions on te website are fabulous.
The rooms are clean, although there was a few ants in the bathroom.
The breakfast was huge and quite lovely.
The Internet was a bit sporadic, but it seems to be the norm throughout Morocco.
My only complaint is that the room had a bit of a sewage odour and was a bit musky. The Riad was full so we couldn't change rooms, but they gave us a few candles to try and mask the smell.
The staff were quite friendly.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beachbumandbumette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
#17 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#4 of 74 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#34 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Asmitou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Asmitou

Property: Riad Asmitou
Address: 32 Rue Bagdad | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Asmitou 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Asmitou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Asmitou Essaouira
Riad Asmitou Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing