We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, delightful riad, wonderful staff - best riad we stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
Ranked #22 of 173 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“clean, delightful riad, wonderful staff - best riad we stayed in”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

This was a delightful stay in Essauouria - fantastic white washed riad in the heart of the riad - welcomed by Lachern the manager - with professional manner, happy to help with all our needs - arranged horse riding on the beach, camel expedition and much more.

When we needed to phone home urgently he helped getting credit for the phone, telephone numbers etc. nothing was too much trouble and Lachern is a great asset for the riad owner.
We ate one evening meal at the riad - and it was of the highest possible quality - fantastic seafood cocktail, tagine and fruit salad - all beautifully prepared and served at candlelit table.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catherinehenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    54
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
93
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the Riad l'Ayel and couldn't have wished for better. The manager Lahcen and staff saw to our every need, were thoroughly professional yet friendly, and served excellent breakfasts on the roof terrace. The riad is perfectly located just off the main street, but is peaceful. The only intusion from the outside world was the occasional smell of baking bread from across the way. We stayed in the Berber suite which was tastefully furnished in Berber style and very clean. In reference to a previous complaint, we stayed in five riads on our Moroccan trip and they are all dark; that is the architectural style: small windows, facing inwards to the courtyard. The riad also represents incredible value for money, being by far the cheapest we stayed in all trip.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PasPaschali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2010

The ladies made us extremely welcome. The room was large and spacious and the windows opened into a small passage where the local bakery was located. The Riad was positioned just off the centre of the medina, and was a great base from which to explore Essaouira. Food was fantastic, including chocolate cake for Breakfast. Ask them to arrange for you to visit the public hammam. An experience not to be missed. Both camels and "special" cakes available on the beach!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C0ffee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2010

Our family, 6 adults and 4 children, stayed at the Riad l'Ayel for 10 days. We could not be happier with our stay. We occupied the whole riad. The rooms are nicely decorated, Moroccan style, without unneccessary froufrous. Nice bathrooms, lovely tile work and ceramics. One bathtub is positively luxurious. There is a lovely terrace on the top floor.

The location of the riad is ideal, on a quiet alley on the edge of the medina, from which you can easily reach the port or the beach. There is a little bakery just across the alley, and the smell of baking bread is a treat.

The staff could not have been nicer. Lahcem, the manager, greeted us at the taxi at the door of the medina. He was always there to help, making arrangements for excursions and answering questions. We learned a lot from him. One day he took us to his favorite spice shop near the fish market, and showed us around. (Lahcem is a new manager this year, not to be confused with a previous Lahcem -- same name, different person).
Nisrine, warm and friendly, with Ferdaous' help, produced wonderful meals for us. We chose to have dinner "at home" almost every night, choosing from a varied menu, and never disappointed. Nisrine was a gem in helping with our 3-year old grandson, charming him into eating his meals.

The owner, a friendly Parisian, answered all our questions before the trip and was in touch by phone, making sure everything went smoothly.

We recommend this riad highly.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mans7208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MLT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2010

we stayed in this lovely riad for just one night. but it was just perfect! very central and after booking the hotel we receive an sms stating that they had sent us directions to find the riad via mail. and i thought this was very professional. infact in helped us a lot and it. the riad is clean and beautifully decorated, reflecting the essaouira colours. staff was very helpful, breakfast was very good too. highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maltaMlt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

Have just spent a week at this lovely little Riad right in the middle of the souks - perfect for a tourist seeing the sights!

Our room was on the small side but great value and just what we needed given we weren't in it for much of the day!
Breakfast every morning on the roof terrace was lovely, a great mix of fresh orange, fruit, pancakes and bread - and all the staff were incredibly helpful. They didn't speak a lot of English but we didn't speak much French or Arabic!

Mint tea every day either downstairs or on the roof terrace was a lovely addition and made for a very relaxing stay - would definitely head back!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rizlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2009

Overall the room was good, a little on the dark side, but plenty big enough for the two of us. Right in the centre of Essaouira and very quiet, this riad was is a litle more expensive than some, but would suit somone looking for a small, clean riad - (Would suit French speakers as the owner and the other guests while we were there were all French).

We were however extremely dissapointed regarding our treatment when we arrived. We'd just come from the Atlas mountains where we'd been involved in a car crash and had to spend the previous night in hispital in Marrakech (this was due to be our first night in Riad l'Ayel). The owners were sympathetic with us, but insisted we pay the full rate for the night we missed through being in hospital. We managed to negotiate down to half price for the night we missed, but it did put us off the place from the start.

I had also tried to ring them to let them know we weren't going to make it, but following a 'parlez vous anglais' from myslef, I was hung up on...

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
Les Terrasses d'Essaouira
#34 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#33 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#24 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Al Madina
Riad Al Madina
#28 of 74 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
Ryad Lyon-Mogador
#17 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.0 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#31 of 74 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

Property: Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
Address: 28 Rue Mallek Ben El Morahhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful street in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira, Riad Ayel invites you to take advantage of the serenity of this ancient house souiri completely restored according to the purest Moroccan traditions with all the necessary comforts. It is 5 min from the port, the beach and also the souks and the excitement of the medina, while taking advantage of the peace of the street which shelters it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad l`Ayel d`Essaouira Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing