We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest place I have ever stayed in”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
Ranked #18 of 177 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2011

For of all, this riad is not a 5* hotel. It is a riad in Essauoira and in being so it is a cosy small place to stay without aircon and flat-screen tv:s. Instead of the modern amenities this place comes equipped with the two most friendly people I have ever met. The couple that runs this riad will not only serve you the best mint-tea in Morocco, they will also walk you to the pharmacy in the middle of the night if you feel sick and need medicin. They care about you and they do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The breakfast on the rooftop is perfect and the night before they'll even ask you what time you'd like to have it and then they'll make it for you at that time.

I would certainly stay here again if I went to Morocco. Both the town and especially this riad is a must stop on any journey to this country.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 248 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

We picked this after good reviews in the Lonely Planet and we were certainly not disappointed. We stayed here for 4 nights (originally it was supposed to be 2) - lovely breakfast in the mornings, great roof top terrace to escape the bustle of the city downstairs and a good service. You would be well advised to stay here - we stayed in many five star hotels and luxury riads during our trip, but this remained our favourite.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TL12337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We arrived at Marrakesch and took a direct Bus to Essaouira. The owner of the Riad gave us a short route describtion via mail, we decided to walk from the bus station outsude the medina to the riad and followed Jean-Pauls directions. They were clear, simple and easily we found the riad. First we had a warm welcome with tea and biscuits, great - we felt comfy overall from the beginning. And, we were much too early, but the staff don't mind. And goes on preparing dinner. :-) So, a relaxed welcome. And it goes on in this way for the 4 days of our stay.
The staff knows the city and gave us a good tip for a restaurant which is not full of tourists. ;-)
We like to say thank you for our pleasant stay. Lovely greetings...
Claudia and Marc

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trashview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Booked a night's stay after reading generally positive reviews and seeing attractive photos of the riad. The reality was nowhere close to what was depicted in the pictures. Though we had two cloudless, sunny days, the rooms, terrace and common areas looked nothing like the hotel photos. Everything was much darker than conveyed by the photos. Some reviewers rave about the terrace and view from the rooftop. Unless I was in the wrong riad, my view from the top comprised the rooftops of surrounding buildings, laundry hanging on makeshift lines, antennas, garbage and spare tires. Between two nearby buildings, I was able to catch a glimpse of the beach.

The staff were courteous and friendly; the continental breakfast ( coffee or tea, bread, jams, a bowl of chopped bananas and apples) was okay. The location is good and easy to find from the Supratours bus station. No wifi; was able to use a PC located in the "office" for a few minutes.

For sure, I don't think it's the worst place to stay but I suspect there are better places for the money - I simply didn't have time to compare.

Essaouira itself is a pleasant town - worth at least two or perhaps three days, depending on one's preferences and constraints.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank blackbuddha24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bretagne44, Propriétaire at Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2011

Hello,
I am surprised that you can say that photos do not correspond to the reality: you are the first person to say to me it for 4 years.
You were in Riad: it is the building which is made to avoid that the heat returns inside. Consequently, the sun cannot light rooms around the patio or around the passageway. It is thus different from a building modern as you were able to see in the new districts of Marrakesh. In a Medina, you are for the contact of the local population, with its typical lifestyle. The charm of Riad in a old Medina cannot be appreciated if you look for a modern town planning.
Cordially.
Jean-Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Extremely well-situated in the middle of town, the Riad far exceeded our expectations. The communal areas are extremely light and well-decorated in the charming traditional style and the room itself was large and very comfortable. The roof terrace is simply wonderful and a perfect place to look out across the vistas whilst soaking up the sun. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming and made us feel right at home immediately upon arrival.

A beautiful Riad and thoroughly enjoyed our stay - look forward to returning again in the future!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pritchy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

This was a delightful stay in Essauouria - fantastic white washed riad in the heart of the riad - welcomed by Lachern the manager - with professional manner, happy to help with all our needs - arranged horse riding on the beach, camel expedition and much more.

When we needed to phone home urgently he helped getting credit for the phone, telephone numbers etc. nothing was too much trouble and Lachern is a great asset for the riad owner.
We ate one evening meal at the riad - and it was of the highest possible quality - fantastic seafood cocktail, tagine and fruit salad - all beautifully prepared and served at candlelit table.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherinehenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We stayed for three nights at the Riad l'Ayel and couldn't have wished for better. The manager Lahcen and staff saw to our every need, were thoroughly professional yet friendly, and served excellent breakfasts on the roof terrace. The riad is perfectly located just off the main street, but is peaceful. The only intusion from the outside world was the occasional smell of baking bread from across the way. We stayed in the Berber suite which was tastefully furnished in Berber style and very clean. In reference to a previous complaint, we stayed in five riads on our Moroccan trip and they are all dark; that is the architectural style: small windows, facing inwards to the courtyard. The riad also represents incredible value for money, being by far the cheapest we stayed in all trip.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PasPaschali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#25 of 74 in Essaouira
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kafila
Riad Kafila
#4 of 177 in Essaouira
87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Inna
Riad Inna
#12 of 177 in Essaouira
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Lunetoile
Riad Lunetoile
#19 of 177 in Essaouira
263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Nafoura
Riad Dar Nafoura
#50 of 177 in Essaouira
192 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Maison du Cinema
La Maison du Cinema
#20 of 177 in Essaouira
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira

Address: 28 Rue Mallek Ben El Morahhal, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range: $47 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On a peaceful street in the heart of the Medina of Essaouira, Riad Ayel invites you to take advantage of the serenity of this ancient house souiri completely restored according to the purest Moroccan traditions with all the necessary comforts. It is 5 min from the port, the beach and also the souks and the excitement of the medina, while taking advantage of the peace of the street which shelters it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad l'Ayel d'Essaouira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad l`Ayel d`Essaouira Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing