We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely relaxed place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Lalla Mogador

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Lalla Mogador to your Saves list
Riad Lalla Mogador
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   12, Rue de l'Iraq, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Conwy, Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2010

We booked Riad Lalla from Marrakech for two nights intending to then continue travelling through Morocco. We ended up staying for six nights! The Riad is in a great location if a little hard to find at first - look out for the helpful signs at alley junctions. Our first room was spacious and comfortable with a large bedroom and separate sitting area & shower room. At breakfast we took a look at the balcony above the main terrace & realised there was a 'penthouse' room up there. We changed rooms to that one (a little more expensive but well worth it). It is a wonderful room, all very beautifully decorated & furnished, large sleeping area, shower room, lounge area with fireplace where we had a cosy night in with a fire one evening, private terrace with great view of the sea where we had our breakfast each morning. Siham and the waiting and night staff are all very friendly and helpful, but not intrusive - you have your own front door key. You are able to use the pool and facilities at Riad Zahra about 20 minutes walk along the beach - we did this several days and had our lunch poolside - great food and service, very relaxing days. The owners & staff are all very helpful and friendly. No problem here with swimwear & I would suggest doing this as on the beach you wouldn't feel comfortable 'uncovering' yourself.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yerominas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    10
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
6
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Cute enough, not really that special. VERY LOUD! VERY CENTRAL. Did not really get a feel from the staff that they could be bothered to be nice or help out. They seemed very put out by doing pretty much anything. The only time I saw the owner was when she showed up for her payment. Other than that she was pretty much invisible. Anyway good value for the price but I would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allygallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bahia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2009

This Riad was a lovely surprise, it is simple and comfortable without any pretensions at being anything else. I stayed there with a friend and we had a very pleasant room with sleeping areas that provided privacy and intimacy at the same time. The staff was very very helpful and very kind. Muhamed who works in the evening especially went out of his way to help us and was a great source of information about the city and it's peoples.

The breakfast space on the roof terrace is lovely and every day we would hate to leave that little piece of paradise...and would often return in the evenings to soak up the last rays of sunshine. Beautiful

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markandrew419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

After deciding to try out Morocco with a friend that had been once before (to Marrakesh) I was pleasantly surprised when I got through the door of the Riad Lalla and saw the courtyard setting of place I would call home for the next six nights. We were greeted and shown to our room which was a quaint traditional Moroccan room with stone shower and sink which made a great change.
The room was clean, the maid came each day to tidy and make our bed, which being two 28 year old girls was a great!! The receptionist and owners were extremely helpful for our entire stay and even organised a trip to one of Lalla's sister Riads a few miles away, where we had lunch and used the pool, it was a very tranquil. We also used the Riad Zahara's pool (about a 20 minute walk/5 min taxi ride) which was lovely and we were made to feel really welcome. Riad Lalla is in a great location within the Medina and the beach is only about a five minute walk away.
Our Stay in Essouria was a fun one, the weather was amazing and there are a lot of characters in the town. If you are wanting to escape the typical tourist spots of Agadir and the likes this is definitely a good place to come. There were some great places to eat ('After Five' has amazing food and chilled atmosphere) and lots of shops/stalls to walk round. The only thing I would say is bring your bargaining powers as you have to barter for practically everything, however we also found this on our four night stay in Marrakesh so its just the norm!!!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaysareheaven29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

We were very dissapointed with this riad. The location is very good but that is the only good comment. I saw a few rooms and they all looked scruffy. We ended up cancelling and ended up going to the Ibis hotel, where we were very happy. It was finally quite and clean. I am sure you can find better in Essaouira. The owners need to renovate it to higher standards. Beds were not comfortably either, with a dip in the middle. (unless you like banana shaped beds). Bathroom ceiling had plaster coming off. 2 inch gap under the balcony door, where insects get it.
I tried not to be too fussy, but this was just not good. had to leave.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cannelleMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2008

Nice relaxed atmosphere, friendly, personal & helpful service. Highly recomended. Thank you very much...

  • Liked — the friendly people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sarah057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano, italia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

We stayed one night at the Riad Lalla with my wife and three children. We read the reviews and we had some expectations. Well, first of all we were "welcomed" by a workman who was scraping off the walls and after that by a maid who led us to our room (the number 5). The overall impression was of a place left alone: there was nobody at the reception, the hall was a mess, work in progress and fresh paintings everywhere....basically: no service, no warmth, no welcome, no "home away from home" feeling. Finally at the reception desk I saw a small note "This riad is for sale. If you are interested contact....etc. etc." So if you're interested in buying, go there. Otherwise at the moment there are many more attractive choices in Essaouira....

  • Liked — the setting and the terrace
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tronko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#10 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vent des Dunes
Hotel Vent des Dunes
#31 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Al Jasira Hotel
Al Jasira Hotel
#42 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Louzani
Residence Louzani
#1 of 50 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Lalla Mogador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Lalla Mogador

Property: Riad Lalla Mogador
Address: 12, Rue de l'Iraq, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riad Lalla Mogador 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing