We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Fantastic place you must stay here!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Adul

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Adul
Ranked #42 of 177 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic place you must stay here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We had four nights here and the staff were great, the owner very helpful, the rooms superb and the location fantastic. The owner has recently opened a restaurant and that is well worth eating at also. Best four nights we have had anywhere for a long time!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simorjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    31
    6
    7
    2
See reviews for
25
67
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

The riad is beautifully decorated and very inspiring. We felt at home from the moment we walked in. Didier and his team provided a first class service and couldn't be more helpful. We had such a comfortable stay, we did not want to leave!! The Roof terrace is the perfect place to watch sunsets. The food is delicious. I highly recommend Dar Adul! Thank you Didier and your team!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_and_Gwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Dar Adul last week for 2 nights and 2 days and really loved this riad. The welcome could not be friendlier or more sincere and the true sincerity and friendliness of the owner and staff continued throughout our stay, The decoration is very lively but not over the top and is def. very fun. There is a certain whimsy in the decor which lends to the overall relaxed nature of Dar Adul. It is by no means stuffy or pretentious and yet it is a really nice place. The location is fantastic too. We loved our room which had amazing decorative pieces evidencing the attention to detail of the owner. We also loved sitting on the roof top terrace overlooking the ocean at sunset while enjoying mint tea and pastries - what a luxury! We really enjoyed our stay at Dar Adul and were sad that we could not stay longer to have more time to enjoy all that the riad has to offer. The owner, Didier, is lovely and seemed to truly want to share his love of Essaouira with us. Definitely a great place and a great find.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank absmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights in the upstairs room which is next to the terrasse. The rooms are beautifully decorated with African artifacts and deep colours. Our bed was very comfortable, there is a portable heater in the bedroom, and a heater in the large bathroom, which has lots of hot water and good pressure in the shower. Best of all, this room has its own private terrasse with sun loungers. The main terrasse has a view of the sea. There is also a nice living room downstairs with music, books and games, and a fireplace which is lit on cold evenings. It is possible to buy drinks and snacks as well. The staff is friendly and helpful.
The only small complaint would be that the terrasse furniture was not wiped off so it could be enjoyed when the sun came out. Hopefully it is better taken care of during the warmer months. Someone did come to wipe off the loungers on our private terrasse upon our request.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2009

We entered the house and the first thing I noticed was a pair of shoes in the kitchen where a woman was preparing something in a dirty room...Rooms smell humidity alot.
Don't reserve the rooms in the patio cause you ll not have privacy at all.
Sorry to talk only negative but I don't see what positive can be there.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
168 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

We originally only booked for three nights, but after arriving in this gorgeous home, we decided to extend our stay to five nights!

The House is gorgeous, beautiful and vibrantly decorated throughout with very individualized rooms that are all different and special in their own way! This place is a superb retreat, that has a good location within the medina (the most beautiful part of the town), the staff are great and make you feel very welcome and part of there family! Our room was superb, with its own little roof terrace, just next to the main terrace that was gorgeous and positioned right on the sea front, with great views and sunsets directly across the ocean front!

Great stay at a great price for such a lovely place, highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank culz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2009

.....I really thought that i would arrived in a warm and welcoming house: wrong....
I thought that being decorated by an artist, it would be tastefull....wrong again....
The rooms were really damp.....I was expecting another souvenir from such a lovely and quaint little town....but jI will never go back to that House!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.1 mi away
Dar Al Bahar
Dar Al Bahar
#34 of 76 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 76 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.0 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#24 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
Hotel Les Matins Bleus
#18 of 76 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad O Gre du Vent
Riad O Gre du Vent
#7 of 177 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jack's Apartments & Spa
Jack's Apartments & Spa
#22 of 177 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Adul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Adul

Property: Dar Adul
Address: 63 Rue Touahen, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Adul 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the old Medina, close to shops, 10 minutes from the port and the beach, two minutes from the walls, you will be received as friends in this old notary house. The charm of Dar Adul will seduce you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Adul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Adul Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing