We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest staff in most beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Mimouna

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Mimouna to your Saves list
Riad Mimouna
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   62, Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 178 Essaouira B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Nicest staff in most beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at the hotel Mimouna for two nights while traveling through Morocco and could not have been happier. Our room was amazing with sliding glass doors that opened out onto the Ocean. We slept with fresh ocean air and the waves crashing each night against the rocks below. We awoke each morning to glistening views of the ocean and walls of the city.

In addition to this the hotel staff was amazing. Our luggage was lost by Iberia and we were traveling with nothing more than the clothes on our backs and our carry-ons. The staff assisted us in making calls to the airline and also washed and folded the clothes we did have to ensure we at least had something fresh.

Only downside I can see with this hotel is the lackof an ice machine, but the nearby reastuarants were able to provide ice when needed.

Overall a truly amazing and comfortable place to stay that I would recommend to anyone traveling to Essaouira.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chip1805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    126
    37
    12
    12
See reviews for
47
202
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We stayed at Riad Mimouna with a small group of women travelers. The riad is splendid and opulent inside, but the best part is if you can get a room with an ocean view. The oceanside rooms are literally right above the city walls so waves are pounding right outside your room (and the wind is fierce). The decorations were lovely and the rooms were clean, thou the water is quite salty in the showers. I loved the upstairs restaurant, even if the windows were a bit blurry from the salt. The staff was friendly and helpful. There is no elevator so you'll have to not only schlep your stuff across the medina to get there, but you may be schlepping your stuff up the stairs too.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Travel_Femme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

We got upgraded to a seaview room which I defenitly suggest to take. The view was exceptional and the seagulls literally fly in front of your window. The staff were very helpful and speak good English. The B'fast was excellent, served on the inside as it was very windy, but they have large glass windows were agin you will have the seagulls flying by. You have to hire a man with the trolley at the gate to take you to the Riad but it is worth it. The rooms are not of the latest design but well equiped with heaters which you might need.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natashaciancio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

This is a well run hotel with about forty rooms The spacious rooms are a bit dark and cold in the winter, but they provide a space heater that works well. They upgraded me to a room overlooking the Atlantic ocean and I could hear the waves crashing up the hotel walls. My TV did not work at all. The room had an electronic safe. They served a blah breakfast on their roof terrace restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rlgm007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2011

I am not usually one to write reviews but I feel i must add a few words about this absolutely fantastic place. The first thing is the location – beautiful, quite possible the best location in Morocco if not the whole world – it literally took my breath away. The Riad is actually built into the seawall so although the sound of crashing waves may not be everyone’s cup of tea we found it very therapeutic. The views are another thing that must be mentioned, if possible ask for the rooms with the best views, I cant remember the numbers but I’m sure the staff will enlighten you if the rooms are available. We got the best price by booking with Moroccan specialists luxury-riads.com, they really know their stuff and are able to secure the best prices for accommodation and also the airport transfer. This place is absolutely superb and we have already contacted the guys at luxury-riads.com to make our reservation here for 2011!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie_me28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Beautiful palatial Riad, staff are friendly, rooms are large and comfy. The food on the rooftop restaurant is excellent and moderately priced. The rooftop view is worth staying in this Riad for.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gnewey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

You couldn't look for a better location - the sea views were fantastic! The hotel was clean and friendly and I thoroughly recommend it

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solotraveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Palais des Remparts
Palais des Remparts
#23 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Maya
Dar Maya
#5 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Madada Mogador
Madada Mogador
#21 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#10 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 636 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#11 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Mimouna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Mimouna

Property: Riad Mimouna
Address: 62, Rue d'Oujda | Sandillon, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 178 B&Bs / Inns in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Mimouna 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Mimouna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Mimouna Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing