We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful lilac house with lovely stylish rooms.”
Review of Riad Casa Lila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Casa Lila
Ranked #23 of 75 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This beautiful Riad is right at the main gate of the Medina, good locations for food, shops & transportation links. The staff were extremely attentive & welcoming; always willing to help & to assist you with any query. The rooms were beautifully decorated & with individual motives; very clean & charming. Would definitely suit any type of traveller: couples & friends. Very quiet to sleep, good comfy beds & nice soft bed linen. Breakfast was good; we had croissants, freshly squeezed orange juice, 2 fruit compotes, honey, coffees & teas, morrocan pancakes, bread, yoghurt & fresh fruit. All deliciously served at the roof terrace. Sun bathing did not happen due to high wind speed at this time of the year, but there would be not much space anyway. We felt really safe. We were greeted by the owner a few times...just a lovely cosy guest house. I am not a fan of Riads myself but this one deserves a good 4 stars rating. Certainly will recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChutneyHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 253 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We were looking so forward to having a bath when we arrived in Essaouira given that we had felt chilled during our entire time in Morocco . . . chilled but so blessed to be experiencing such an amazing country. Our room here in Casa Lila had a bathtub and it was made of beautiful glazed concrete (I believe). Our room was so romantic and beautiful.

Every attention to detail is taken care of here at this Riad. There is also a spa but we just didn't have time to experience the luxury there. The decor here is so beautiful. When you walk in the front doors, walk through the property, and enter your room it's very hard to believe the low cost of staying in this accommodation.

There is a complimentary hammam if you would like to take that in here.

The riad is located right in the heart of the medina and it was close to walk to anywhere we wanted to go. Fanfan told us about hiring the porters to bring our luggage to the riad when we arrived by bus from Marrakech.

They have covers for all the drains in the rooms to keep out the smell that seeps in from the medina.

The breakfast consisted of Moroccan crepes, eggs, fresh fruit, coffee and yogurt.

We only had one short night and day in this lovely place and we look forward to another time to experience it the right way (Inshaallah).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GenevieveRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Casa Lila!
Every single staff member we met was friendly and accommodating!! Even the other guests were happy!!
We met many guests who come back yearly to visit the Riad!

The owners are a delightful couple who have re-done the house.
The rooms are cute and well polished. We arrived to a room with 1 bed but we needed two. The staff did not stop apologizing and quickly moved things around to find us another bed. We were so impressed with their hospitality.
Thank you for a great stay! :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed at Casa Lila for 3 nights nights and it was simply perfect! I was traveling with my mom and we rented the apartment which was so charming and big enough for us to have separate space with a fantastic room in the middle. Not only is Essaouira a must if in Morocco but if you're going to go, stay here. We travel a lot and used to very nice accommodations. The owners and staff our pleasant, helpful and make you feel right at home! The property is clean and well run. The pictures online are accurate but the property is more impressive in person. The location couldn't be much better. A quick couple blocks to the beach but still in the heart of the Medina around all the action. This was a great experience and value and it was nice to be in such a welcoming and well kept property. The spa was also nicer than the two others we visited while in town. I want to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Great Riad in the centre of Essaouira . Very warm welcome from the staff with very original and comfortable rooms . Essaouira is much more quieter than Marrakesh and the people are friendlier and more relaxed . We shall certainly be returning . The surf was good and caters for all levels of experince . Seafood very good.The spa treatments were good.

Room Tip: The higher up the building the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Essaouira has a bustling charming medina, and casa lila is the perfect place to explore it from. As soon as you enter, everything is calm and quiet. the staff are so lovely, and helpful. Loved every minute.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor - which is quite open, but it does mean that you can use the lounge area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This Riad is beauifully designed, you are welcomed with the warmest biggest smile. The owners Michelle and Fonfon welcome you at breakfast each morning with a genuine enthusiasm for each of their guests and the knowledge they can share on sight seeing in and around Essaouira is invaluable. Our room was on the ground floor and very beautiful with fresh petals strewn across our bed and the bathroom daily, it made for a very romantic feel.I slept like a baby here, I felt very safe and I would thoroughly recommend Casa Lila to anyone visiting Essaouira. The breakfasts are fantastic which they change slightly every day and there were so accommodating when we woke up late!!! Rashid was fantastic at recommending restaurants and the best places to get Moroccan sweets etc.. The Riad was cleaned daily from top to bottom, they are very thorough. The location is fantastic as you're right at the hub of everything yet once in the Riad it is so quiet. I won't book anywhere else when I return to Essaouira.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#14 of 75 in Essaouira
825 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fontaine Bleue
Fontaine Bleue
#27 of 75 in Essaouira
111 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#16 of 75 in Essaouira
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#7 of 75 in Essaouira
1,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#9 of 75 in Essaouira
753 reviews
1 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#8 of 75 in Essaouira
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Casa Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Casa Lila

Address: 94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#21 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $69 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Casa Lila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Casa Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Casa Lila Essaouira
Riad Casa Lila Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing