We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic. Highly recommend.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Casa Lila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Casa Lila
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Highly recommend.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything was really good. We would definitely return.
We were upgraded free of charge, given a welcome tea.
It is very close to everything, and they went through the map and wrote were everything was.
Beautiful rooms, helpful, friendly staff.
Best breakfast, very accommodating of my food allergies.
Had a free drinks and nibbles night with the owners one night.
Didn't want to leave actually!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    50
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
135
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Casa Lila is amazing! It felt like a real treat. They upgraded us to a bigger room at no charge, and the Rose suite was phenomenal! I loved the bright colors and the design of Casa Lila, and how it felt both old/antique and new/modern at the same time. In the room was the most amazing bath, part of the old Hammam, we were told. The room was spacious and so very comfortable. Breakfast on the roof was a treat too. The staff was super friendly and helpful, booking us a last minute hammam and massage a few minutes away that was excellent. We stayed at a lot of Riads, and this place is really one of our favorites!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to the Rose room, which had that heavenly bath and tons of space!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djwendella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

In summary, we would happily return and love FF and her team!

PROS
1. Rooms - quirky, cool and impeccably designed!
2. Location - 5 minutes from bus station, 5 minutes from beach, in the heart of the cool Medina (where you want to be)
3. Breakfast - more than adequate, although on 2 occassions, my requests for more fruit were rejected
4. Terrace - sunny and lovely!
5. Courtyard - well-decorated and welcoming!
6. Management - they go out of their way to help you, solve problems and treat you to a fab holiday!

CONS
1. Spa - small, and manned by one very unhappy girl. But, they do have a wide menu of treatments and perhaps I was just unlucky...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agoodley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Casa Lila is exactly how I had imagined a riad to be. Right in the centre of the medina, but completely sheltered from the chaos in the streets outside. The furnishings are beautiful, shabby chic, with creative (subdued) lighting, plants, and rose petals strewn on the towels and beds each evening. Each room has a different colour theme - we were in ivory and rose petal. Both were lovely in different ways, although ivory did have a very small bath in the middle of the room. Breakfasts were served on the roof terrace, weather permitting, and were fresh and delicious. There is a beauty salon where I had the best massage I have ever had! What really made Casa Lila special was the staff, however - they were without exception charming, helpful and friendly. There were some irregularities in the plumbing (a leaking sink) but this in no way detracted from a great experience. I would thoroughly recommend Casa Lila and would love to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in two twin bedded rooms. Both were quiet, placed round a lovely central courtyard cover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essaouira, Morocco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

À vey Nice Riad in The center of Essaouira. The staf makes you veel very welcome. Our room (The green room) was à very sweet and romantic place. The breakfast served on the roof of Casa Lila is prepared fresh every day. À special recommandation for Hyat, she has her own beauty salon in Casa Lila. We tried several massages, all very well and professional.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankdeBakker D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Casa Lila is amazing, like a beautiful palace full of lanterns and beautiful artefacts. The pink powder room is really special and even better than the photos.
The roof terrace for delicious breakfast was perfect. The staff all made us feel at home and welcome.
It is well situated as it is close to the gate to the port and sea.
We stayed for three nights and I'd definitely stay there again. I was sad the leave.
I loved the rose petals too!
Thank you making our stay so special.

Room Tip: The rose powder room is amazing. It has a bath AND hot water and towels with rose petals. The bed is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
212 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our stay in Riad Casa Lila was excellent. We really enjoyed the level of service of the hotel staff, the beautifull views during breakfast and the clean comfortable rooms. It's possible to get massages in the Riad and I could highly recommend those.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#22 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#10 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
0.1 mi away
Essaouira Wind Palace
Essaouira Wind Palace
#32 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#13 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#8 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 749 reviews
0.3 mi away
La maison des artistes
La maison des artistes
#25 of 78 in Essaouira
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Casa Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Casa Lila

Property: Riad Casa Lila
Address: 94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#9 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#21 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Casa Lila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Casa Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Casa Lila Essaouira
Riad Casa Lila Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing