We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Comfortable and Peaceful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Casa Lila

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Casa Lila to your Saves list
Riad Casa Lila
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 78 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Peaceful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in Casa Lila for 2 nights and had entire place to ourselves. Beautifully kept and maintained. The riad was peaceful and felt like home. The French couple were so lovely and warm and friendly. They helped us with dinner suggestions and were very attentive to our breakfast each morning.

We were upgraded to any room in the house, we choose the big room on the terrace level. Altho very nice we were surprised by how much noise you could hear from the sea gulls early morning. Otherwise, a lovely stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aslondon33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    47
    13
    5
    5
See reviews for
25
132
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Riad Casa Lila is such a lovely place to stay in Essaouira. It is run by a wonderful and very helpful french couple. We stayed in the Saffron room on the second floor and it was spacious, exotic, airy, romantic, clean and comfortable. It looked just like the picture on the website.

The riad is well appointed in authentic moroccan decor. It is conveniently located within a 5 minute walk of the car park in the heart of the medina. The rooms are quiet.

Breakfast is served on the roof terrace with beautiful city views. We had such a relaxing stay and would love to return again some day.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cleokelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We had a two bedroom apartment in February for a very decent price. It is placed in one of the busy streets two minutes walk from the gate Bab Marrakech. But is a quiet sanctuary with it's own spa. I got a lovely massage one of the days. If you want a hammam there is one just on the opposite side if the street that we got recommended from the Riad. My wife went there and was satisfied. Every day they had spread rose leafs on the beds.
We had a large apartment but there was also very nice common areas where we sometimes spent time reading and planing our next day.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Havspappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Last week my girlfriend and I spent 2 wonderful evenings at the casa Lila. Located near one of the main entrances to the walled city which helped us on arrival from the bus terminal. Casa lila is owned by a delightful french couple who really go out of thier way to make you feel welcome from start to finish. The rooms are beautifully decorated with fresh rose petals layed out each morning, lovely breakfasts from the roof terrace. We both recommend that you stay at Casa Lila as it will not dissapoint just like the town.

Room Tip: Ask if you can have the private roof terrace room that is located on its own at the very top of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnDz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

The riad is on one of the main pedestrian streets (cars are banned inside the city walls). As one walks through a door from reception into the main courtyard, it's a transformation, going from the hubbub of the town, to a calm sanctuary.

Each of the rooms has an individual colour theme - feels like someone has put great thought into furnishing the place. The rose petals scattered over the bed made my fiancee rather happy. In the courtyard, there's also a big comfy sofa and a bunch of chairs around a table, as well as plenty of other seats next to a fireplace and a mini library. Breakfast is on the terrace, overlooking the rest of the city - great in the sunshine.
Yes, some of the other reviewers have a thing about the purple colour theme, but I think they are just being petty, trying too hard to find something that they didn't like. Reception staff are very kind and gentle with guests.

The couple who own the place are very hands on - they really want their guests to have a good time while in Essaouira, and give good advice about what's fun to do and attractive to see.

The only bad thing I can possibly say, is it would be nice if wifi were available in the courtyard as well as just reception so you can surf on your phone. Otherwise, extremely difficult to fault this place - can only suggest you try it yourself.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Casa Lila is an authentic and clean Riad inside the Medina. It is run by a sweet french couple and with a kind helpful staff. Every room is different and charming in its own way. Breakfast on the terrace in the morning inclusive and I suggest a nice warm oil massage in the evening. Note - It can be chilly during winter at night even in the rooms but there are heaters and extra blankets to make up for it. If you are going to Essaouira this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were very impressed already by Essaouira, but we were even more by this wonderful riad.
It is very well located, on the main street of Essaouira. The staff and the owners of this riad are very helpful and enthousiastic.
The riad has 9 beautiful rooms, a very big terasse on the roof, nice wellness area (massages). A real delight!

Room Tip: Rooms on the roof have the most light and you are the nearest to the terrasse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 389amelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Zahia
Riad Al Zahia
#22 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Malaika
Riad Malaika
#8 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Baladin
Riad Baladin
#9 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 78 in Essaouira
5.0 of 5 stars 433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Garance
Villa Garance
#13 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Zahra
Riad Zahra
#10 of 78 in Essaouira
4.5 of 5 stars 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Casa Lila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Casa Lila

Property: Riad Casa Lila
Address: 94 Rue Mohamel El Qorry, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#10 Spa Hotel in Essaouira
#17 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
#21 Family Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Casa Lila 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Casa Lila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Casa Lila Essaouira
Riad Casa Lila Hotel Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing