We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, No Basics”
Review of Riad Dar L'Oussia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar L'Oussia
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Essaouira
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Essaouira is a small town in itself, and Riad Dar L'Oussia is located at the best location. Walking distance to the Souk (5mins), beach front (5mins) and harbor (5mins).

We had room 31 on the 4th floor, room was airy and bright, but no view. I guess since the Riad is located in the middle of the alley, we could not ask for much. after peeking into the other rooms, i think that Rooms 31 and 32 would be the best.

Cons would be that the room had no centralized heating. all that was given was a small heater which wasn't even enough to heat up anything. we were thankful that the temp was a cool 16-18 degrees in the middle of winter. also, we there were no hooks in the bathroom to hang anything. no door too, just a partition.

breakfast was located at the rooftop. this is the best part of the hotel. the views were fantastic every morning. they could improve on the breakfast offerings though. No eggs?

Room Tip: Rooms 31 or 32
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bong360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Riad Dar L'Oussia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 393 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

I'm annoyed with this beautiful and well located Riad as it could be wonderful but for a few basics. The rooms were freezing, really freezing at night. heating was sparse and inadequate. The beds were not comfortable - hard and back-breaking. Cleanliness and maid service was second to none - and highly commended. Reception staff were lovely. Breakfast was adequate - well dull and unimaginative - but it was really hard to order coffee or hot water.

But, what was really appalling was the electric shock that the shower delivered. After complaining I was told that it was fixed. Next shower - shock! I got a bit more stroppy and was told it was fixed. Third time : SHOCK!! Now, electric shocks in the shower are not my idea of a good hotel. It was explained to me that it was the neighbours, they had fixed it by removing the fuse but the apartment was let out and the people wanted their electricity! No surprise there. Resolution was hard to come by, it seemed that they weren't customer focused with inadequate options until I got really grumpy. Shame really, and electric shocks in the shower should be taken seriously but it wasn't. I don't think my concern was understood.

Room Tip: Don't have room 27 - it's a death trap.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chavvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Dar L’Oussia during a mini trip in November.

The hotel is in a great location, within the old city walls, close to the beach and old harbour, yet slightly out of the busy centre.

The room was the best we had in Morocco and breakfast was served every morning on the sunny roof top terrace with views overlooking the harbour and beach.

We highly recommend staying here

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank 30Before30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed at Riad Dar L'Ouissa for 2 nights on a recent trip to Morocco and loved it. The hotel is in a great spot within the medina, close to the beach and the main port. It's a beautifully decorated riad with lovely rooms and a wonderful roof top terrace where we enjoyed breakfast each morning, overlooking the ocean. We had dinner downstairs at the main restaurant whilst there too and the food was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the free wifi was great, and we had our laundry done there promptly and for a reasonable price. Our room was comfortable, clean and warm and overall we really enjoyed our stay at the Riad Dar L'Ouissa.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ShaneAndRobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Located just inside the old city walls, a five minute stroll for the souk and the working harbour.
Also minutes from the north end of Essaouira's sweeping beach. Can't imagine a better location.

About thirty rooms are arranged around the pretty courtyard on three floors. Reasonably spacious, very atmospheric but with all facilities.

The dining room is stunning, although the food is plentiful but a bit 'samey' . The roof are is a beautiful place for breakfast, but sadly the fare was very sparse with litlle choice- one of the poorest breakfast buffets (if you can call it that) we've ever experienced.
The only other downsides are the absence of a lift, so you need to be reasonably fit to use the step stairs, and very poor wi-fi reception.

Would have been excellent were it not for the lamentable breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We spent a fabulous week in this lovely riad having learned about it via Groupon. It is spacious, elegant, comfortable, & has all the services you need including 50Mb/s WiFi & a house PC all inclusive. It is ideally located just inside the old city walls & close to the beach & harbour with superb views from the rooftop terrace where breakfast is served most days. The staff are superb, words like charming, gracious, helpful, sincere & so many more in this vein come to mind. They are the best possible ambassadors for Essaouira & Morocco. There are so many restaurants to choose from nearby but you must try the Dar L'Oussia fine dining at least once - you will not be disappointed. If you do the cookery class you will also get to help prepare your meal! Hammam & massage are also highly recommended.

Room Tip: They are all good
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UmbwaKali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

I booked this hotel via Groupon as it was such an amazing deal and read reviews on this site, so I knew it would be fine. However, when I got to Dar L'Oussia, it really was breath taking beyond belief! The rooftop where you have breakfast is spectacular and an amazing way to start the day. You can see the beach, Mogador Island and the rooftops of the town. The room we had, number 12 was huge, with beautiful furnishings. The courtyard stunning, wonderful food and restaurant. We had a hammam and cookery course included in our package and it was well worth it. The staff are caring and fun, it feels as if it is run by a family, not sure if it actually is one family. The sense you have on arrival is that you are being welcomed into a big family home. I loved it so much, I have rebooked for next year!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OxfordTravelLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Essaouira hotels
7.9 mi away
Essaouira Lodge
Essaouira Lodge
#13 of 74 in Essaouira
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Medina Essaouira Hotel Thalassa Sea & Spa - MGallery by Sofitel-
2.9 mi away
Sofitel Essaouira Mogador Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure Bleue Palais
L'Heure Bleue Palais
#11 of 74 in Essaouira
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Watier
Riad Watier
#3 of 74 in Essaouira
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Maroc
Villa Maroc
#10 of 74 in Essaouira
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar L'Oussia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar L'Oussia

Address: 04 Rue Mohamed Ben Messaoud - Bab Sbaa | Medina, Essaouira 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Essaouira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Essaouira
#8 Luxury Hotel in Essaouira
#14 Family Hotel in Essaouira
#15 Romantic Hotel in Essaouira
Price Range: $75 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar L'Oussia 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Dar L'Oussia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar l`Oussia Hotel Essaouira
Riad Dar l Oussia Essaouira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing